We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, Nicely situated” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   400 Main Street | at Chesley Drive, Saint John, New Brunswick E2K 4N5, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
SAVE 15%! Book Today!
Ranked #4 of 20 hotels in Saint John
Kingston, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, Nicely situated”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Our stay here was completely enjoyable. Our room was large, comfy and clean with all the amenities we desired. The staff bent over backwards to ensure that our visit was great. The construction outside was quite striking, but as others have said, once you navigated your way to the parking lot and the front desk, everything was top notch. Check in was quick and was accompanied by bottled water, always a nice perk. We are great walkers and so were totally taken by the Harbour Passage. We walked downtown one day and took in the sites. Downtown St. John has become a very tourist friendly area. The market and the boardwalk were our favourite places. We also went the other way to the Reversing Falls which was a definite hike, even for us. It was, however, a lovely hike with lots of grand scenery, including playful seals. Breakfast had a wide variety of tasty choices served in a nice atmosphere. Our only negative was that we did wish there were restaurants to our liking closer by. We would recommend this hotel to travellers for sure.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrianL894, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
"Completely Enjoyable" ------- We love to hear that!
Our staff aim to please and I'm so glad you noticed.

Thanks for staying with us and come back soon!

Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    62
    81
    14
    3
    2
See reviews for
48
54
11
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
alabama
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

This hotel was super. The room was large clean, and comfortable. Great breakfast with lots of choices and even soup on week day evenings. Most important the staff were so helpful. The young lady that worked the night desk help me find the hotel as I drove in. She also helped me find the Hopewell Rocks and gave me a tide schedule. She went above and beyond to help me in everyway. The staff were also considerate and friendly especially since we were from another country and way down south.

Room Tip: The only problem we had was trying to find a way to get in the hotel and find a parking place. Our...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrianL894, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Thanks for commenting on your recent stay! I've just posted your comments for all of our team to see. Certainly makes everyones day as we strive to make all of our guests experience a positive one!

We just started our complimentary "Soup Nights" a few weeks ago and they certainly have been a hit. It is a fall promotion...however we are looking to extend it since it has been so popular.

Thanks for staying with us! We hope you enjoyed all of your trip to Canada.

Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrbridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

We stayed here for four nights while attending a wedding. We found the staff very helpful, room spacious & very clean with microwave & fridge and a terrific breakfast . The laundry room (complimentary soap powder) complimentary papers, bottled water & location were all very much apreciated. Although check in/out was marred slightly by the fact you had to enter/ leave the hoel from the lower level due to the carpark being being under construction it did not deter hubby & I from recommending to friends (family too) at the wedding we were attending.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrianL894, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
So glad to hear you were able to take advantage of all of our facilities/amenities during your four day stay with us. Thanks for your terrific comments and for recommending us to your friends and family attending the wedding!

Thanks for staying with us!

Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

This hotel had four great features. First, the rooms are large and very comfortable. Second, the staff were quite helpful in providing advice and directions for the St. John area. Third, a very good breakfast is provided, beginning at 6:30 a.m. And fourth, the hotel is located within easy walking distance of the downtown area, via a very nice pedestrian path. The place is a bit on the expensive side, but reasonable considering the location and amenities.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrianL894, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Thank you for your great comments!
We're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. "Relaxing and Convenient" is certainly a great description and the experience we strive to provide for all of out guests,

Thanks for staying at our Hotel! We know you have many choices and we appreciate your choosing us.

Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Our first thoughts arriving here (besides where the heck do we park) were that the hotel looked like it hadn't been updated in decades. The rooms are comfortable and clean though. The pool area and children's play area (!) are very nice as well. The location is a little tricky to find the first time but it is close to the city center (a stretch at walking distance but a very short drive).
The only concern would be that as of our visit (end of September 2012) the parking lot is being re-constructed and the temporary lot is shared with an office park. During business hours parking can be very hard to come by as the hotel has only a few reserved spots. In the evenings/weekends it's fine.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrianL894, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Thank you for your recent comments and for staying with us!
Glad to hear you enjoyed your room and the pool. The renovations to our Front parking area are wrapping up and we will be so pleased to offer complimentary enclosed parking as well as registration parking on our new deck.

Come back and see us soon.

Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yarmouth, Nova Scotia, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

The hotel was beautiful, the staff was very welcoming and informative. The room was beautiful and had a fridge and microwave complementary water and crispers were available. The reason for the poor review was the room had bedbugs. I have to say though the staff was more than understanding and refunded our money and put us up at another hotel, as I just couldn't stay there even if another "clean" room was offered. They did give us money to partially replace our belongings and the manager had phoned me to apologize even though she wasn't working on that weekend. Guess its just a heads up for travellers to double check before you lay your head. No matter how good the hotel these pesky bugs are apearing and are a great nuisance.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear mammamoose3,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a candid review. I assure you bed bugs are not a sanitary issue and IHG takes these concerns seriously. We recommend that our hotels undergo routine preventative procedures to guard against bed bugs. In the event that bed bugs are discovered, we recommend that the hotel's pest control specialists act to ensure that the bugs are eradicated and if necessary, the hotel discards and replaces all affected furniture and linens. Additionally, we recommend the guest room is taken out of service until the hotel is advised that the guest room is pest free.

Thank you again for your review and we hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, New York
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

My wife and I were traveling around the maritime provinces in Canada. During our travel we decided to use reward points for a lot of our stays as we frequently stay in the Intercontinental Hotel group of hotels. The delightful welcome when we arrived was just what we normally expected, but the complimentary upgrade of the room and awaiting hors d'euvre plate in our refrigerator, extra waters and snacks were totally unexpected.
This hotel was in the process of major renovations to their main entrance and still with all the inconviences they deal with daily their pleasantries were high.
Upon check out we thanked the desk clerk for everything they did for us and their professionalism in difficult times. I told them that when we normally use reward points for a complimentary stay a hotel we usually wind up in the guest room that nobody would like to stay in. His response was its a rewards night for you, and as a frequent traveler to our group you deserve a reward for using your points.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrianL894, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
It was wonderful to read your comments on your recent stay with us!

Your experience and the way you felt at check out was one we strive for.
"Rewarded"
I have posted your comments in our staff area for our entire team to read.
Thanks for being Priority Club members...and thanks for staying with us!

Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John

Address: 400 Main Street | at Chesley Drive, Saint John, New Brunswick E2K 4N5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > New Brunswick > Saint John
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Saint John
#4 Romantic Hotel in Saint John
#6 Business Hotel in Saint John
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Award winning Holiday Inn Express & Suites Saint John Harbour Side You're invited to stay at our Saint John hotel, located just minutes from numerous attractions in Saint John, NB. Hotels in the area can't compete with the great amenities and location we offer you. When you stay at our hotel in Saint John, you're near the world-famous Reversing Falls, the Old City Market and the new Harbour Passage Trail, giving you fast access to the shops and attractions of uptown Saint John. Our hotel is also located near historic Fort Howe, an 18th and 19th century British Army fortification. Are you a corporate traveler looking for hotels in Saint John? Our lodgings are adjacent to the Place 400 Business Complex, where the Xerox and IBM Call Centres are located. We are also within a 10-minute drive of the Aliant and Irving head offices. If you're planning an event, you'll find four meeting rooms with rentable equipment at our hotel in Saint John. Your search for Saint John, NB hotels ends with us. Our smoke free hotel features an indoor pool, Fitness Centre and a Business Centre. You can enjoy complimentary high-speed Internet access in all rooms and public areas, and you can wake up each morning to our complimentary Express Start "Hot" breakfast, served exclusively at Holiday Inn Express hotels. Flat screen televisions, Mini fridges and microwaves now in all of our rooms. In Saint John, you can relax in comfort and convenience at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express And Suites - Saint John
Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John Hotel Saint John
Holiday Inn Saint John
Holiday Inn Express Saint John
Saint John Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John New Brunswick

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.