We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel not so nice city...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   400 Main Street | at Chesley Drive, Saint John, New Brunswick E2K 4N5, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
SAVE 15%! Book Today!
Ranked #4 of 20 hotels in Saint John
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
“Great hotel not so nice city...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

I stayed at the HIE in Aug 2011 with a friend of mine we were very happy it was only a pit stop our way back to Ontario. The hotel was great the staff was helpful, the rooms were clean and beds were comfortable. The only thing was we had asked for two beds but only got one which was okay as we just wanted to sleep. The location when you put it in your GPS can be confusing if it is not up to date one minute you can see the hotel the next your like where do I get in? Key the entrance is on Chesley Drive. There is also a lot of construction going on so even if you have a view of the water all you see is the bridge a touch of water and a lot of construction. The pool and hot tub were perfect temperatures and were very nice to relax in.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for a water view room or a corner cause even the street view corner rooms will get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John, responded to this review, September 5, 2011
Thank you for your recent review of our Hotel!

We wish you had more time to visit our city! With unspoiled natural parks, the Bay of Fundy, St. John River, History lined streets full of Maritime charm...we know you would have stayed longer!

Our long term staff are experienced in taking care of all of our guests as though they were in our own homes.
Glad to hear you enjoyed the Hot Tub and Indoor Pool which is the largest Hotel Pool in the city. Also hope you were able to enjoy our complimentary Hot Breakfast Buffet while you were here.

We look forward to welcoming you back if you are out East again.

Thanks for staying with us!

Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    69
    85
    14
    3
    2
See reviews for
53
56
12
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

My wife and I have stayed at this hotel a number of times over the last couple of years, and recommend it as a reliably clean, comfortable and quiet place to stay. It's just off the highway in Saint John, close to downtown, and also on your way through to the US border. They have a very good hot buffet breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John, responded to this review, September 5, 2011
Thanks for your feedback...and for being a regular at our Hotel!

Glad to hear you enjoyed our complimentary breakfast. It certainly has lot of options and the Hot items are rotated daily - scrambled eggs and bacon along with omelets and sausage. Add these with our signature cinnamon buns, fresh fruit, cereals yogurt and much more - including our newly added pancakes...a terrific start to any day!

Thanks again for staying with us!

Hope to meet you on your next visit

Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky Mount, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

the parking lot entry was a challenge given Canada's work on it's imfastructure / roads; especially when you are with bus group. the road right beside hotel was completely closed to be rebuilt. Also The Back bottom door was broken...It Did NOT latch or lock. The interior was nice. The staff was adequate. There was suppose to be a welcoming in lobby with our arrival. It did NOT happen then lady @ desk said "rescheduled for 8pm" it did not happen either. of coarse i donot know if there was badequate communications with our "tour host?". The bed was VERY comortable; and the water pressure for shower was ok.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Top Contributor
217 reviews 217 reviews
206 hotel reviews
Reviews in 161 cities Reviews in 161 cities
410 helpful votes 410 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

No complaints. Hotel in excellent condition & front desk staff very professional, courteous & helpful. Not as close to downtown as the website would hype, but that is always the case with hotel websites. If you do want to walk, it's 10-15 minutes. Other hotels in the direct downtown area, but this is a good option since the hotel offers free parking. We had no trouble finding downtown parking, though it is metered Mon-Fri 8A-6P, but free at night & weekends. With current highway construction it is a little hard to access, so skip the final access directions on the website. The hotel will be on your left as you approach downtown, but the direct exit is closed. Continue into downtown, make a simple u-turn & easily come back to the hotel which will remain within view of downtown. Would stay again without hesitation.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

Nice place! We were here on a family vacation and this hotel made the trip extra special.
The staff was super friendly, the room was clean, and the breakfast was good.
We stayed on the top floor in the "jungle" themed family suite. A great value for the price! Our daughter loved having her own room with a nice view, bunkbeds, plush jungle creatures, and a playstation. We had a nice sized room which was also jungle themed (as was the bathroom, which was pristine).
The pool was ok. Saw some particles floating around and, because the inside of the pool is sort of a brown color instead of white or blue, it probably looked dirtier than it was. The hot tub was large and worked well.
Breakfast was hearty and there was lots of variety... including an easy to use pancake making machine which the kids loved.
There is a max clearance height in the parking lot so if you have a tall truck, like we do, you only have access to the small lot by the entrance. Wasn't a huge problem, but we did have to wait about 5-10 minutes for a spot one night.
I would definitely come back here.

Room Tip: 7th floor rooms are very quiet: nobody above you and great views! Jungle room was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

You sensed something was different about this hotel from the moment you walked into the lobby. The front desk staff was very friendly and quick to welcome you to their hotel. The clean and comfortable room was what is expected of this hotel chain and we were not disappointed. Breakfast was a hit with each morning's offering something being different. You would never know this hotel is a pet friendly, family oriented destination. The management and staff kept all areas of the hotel clean and welcoming to all. The hotel is centrally located to a lot of the sites you would like to see. We would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone traveling in the Saint John area.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

Let's start with the bad: wow, is this building ugly. The buildings in the immediate vicinity don't help, either. The view from your room will not be a postcard.

Indoors is another story. The lobby is nice, the breakfast area is very well done (as is breakfast!), the common room is well finished and my room was well appointed. The place is very clean; I found nothing (inside) to complain about.

As mentioned earlier, the continental breakfast is excellent. The usual fare: cereal, toast, bagels, muffins, yogurt, juice, tea, coffee PLUS eggs (different each day), meat (different each day), buttermilk biscuits and fruit.

Their location is excellent. Uptown Saint John is 2 minutes away by car. The reversing falls and the Moosehead Brewery is 2 minutes away in a different direction. They are beside the main highway. If you are vacationing in Saint John proper, this is a good place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John

Address: 400 Main Street | at Chesley Drive, Saint John, New Brunswick E2K 4N5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > New Brunswick > Saint John
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Saint John
#4 Family Hotel in Saint John
#6 Business Hotel in Saint John
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Award winning Holiday Inn Express & Suites Saint John Harbour Side You're invited to stay at our Saint John hotel, located just minutes from numerous attractions in Saint John, NB. Hotels in the area can't compete with the great amenities and location we offer you. When you stay at our hotel in Saint John, you're near the world-famous Reversing Falls, the Old City Market and the new Harbour Passage Trail, giving you fast access to the shops and attractions of uptown Saint John. Our hotel is also located near historic Fort Howe, an 18th and 19th century British Army fortification. Are you a corporate traveler looking for hotels in Saint John? Our lodgings are adjacent to the Place 400 Business Complex, where the Xerox and IBM Call Centres are located. We are also within a 10-minute drive of the Aliant and Irving head offices. If you're planning an event, you'll find four meeting rooms with rentable equipment at our hotel in Saint John. Your search for Saint John, NB hotels ends with us. Our smoke free hotel features an indoor pool, Fitness Centre and a Business Centre. You can enjoy complimentary high-speed Internet access in all rooms and public areas, and you can wake up each morning to our complimentary Express Start "Hot" breakfast, served exclusively at Holiday Inn Express hotels. Flat screen televisions, Mini fridges and microwaves now in all of our rooms. In Saint John, you can relax in comfort and convenience at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express And Suites - Saint John
Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John Hotel Saint John
Holiday Inn Saint John
Holiday Inn Express Saint John
Saint John Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John New Brunswick

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.