We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get there early to get a good seat..great uptown deli!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Urban Deli

Urban Deli
68 King St., Saint John, New Brunswick, Canada
1-506-652-.3354
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 209 Restaurants in Saint John
Cuisines: Delicatessen, Italian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery
New Brunswick
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Get there early to get a good seat..great uptown deli!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

I've eaten at Urban Deli a few times and have never been disappointed, although it is such a popular place it's hard to get seating if you are going at normal lunch hour times, so plan ahead. If you happen to miss the daytime lunch schedule, don't worry, they open up again at night for Italian by Night..such a hidden little gem, but well worth the wait!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    35
    14
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fav lunch spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014 via mobile

I am a huge fan of the deli!! I have been coming here with my parents and sister pretty much since it opened, and can honestly say that I've never been disappointed once! My sister and I usually share two sandwiches and their vegetarian pesto pasta, which is one of the best things I have ever eaten. The sandwiches are always so full of flavour as well as the fries. The staff are so kind and helpful as well. We always leave extremely full and satisfied.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint John, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Always above and beyond”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

Love lunch at Urban Deli with their unique menu items. Once had red pepper soup there I fell love with and constantly trying to get there to have it again but have not seen it on the menu since. My biggest experience with Urban Deli is on the catering side for business meetings and events and I have to say Elizabeth Rowe and her staff are top notch on this front. Highly recommend visiting this spot in SJ whether you are visiting the city or you live here.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint John, Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Deli-cious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

Love this place. Excellent food each and everytime. I really enjoy their breakfast and lunch menu. The eggs benny amazing, you can't go wrong. I've tried 3 of the 4 choices (Ham, Veggie and Pulled Pork) and all were fantastic! Really good home fries served with them as well. I love their sandwiches, and dessert - lemon sour cream pie! If you have room after, you must try this! YUM! One of my favorite places to eat.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, Virginia
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“A very nice lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

We ate here in September, 2013 and enjoyed our lunch very much. The staff was very friendly and accomodating and the food was upscale and tasty.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Urban Deli also viewed

Saint John, New Brunswick
Saint John, New Brunswick
 
Saint John, New Brunswick
Saint John, New Brunswick
 

Been to Urban Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Urban Deli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.