We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another wonderful dining experience.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Urban Deli

Urban Deli
68 King St., Saint John, New Brunswick E2L 1G4, Canada
+1 506-652-3354
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 211 Restaurants in Saint John
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Italian, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Urban Deli lives up to it's tag line of 'old fashioned. Slightly sophisticated'. We love to put a spin on some favourite old fashioned dishes like our popular meatloaf sandwich. We have the deli classics like Montreal Smoked Meat and our popular Reuben Sandwich. Urban Deli was featured on the Canadian Food Network's 'You Gotta Eat Here' featuring our Muffuletta & Uptown Big Beef Bad Boy sandwiches and our famous lemon sour cream pie, which has travelled as far as Alberta & Ontario. We also offer catering for lunch or private functions. If you are craving something other than deli, see Italian by Night for our authentic Tuscan Style Italian menu for dinner.
Canada
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Another wonderful dining experience.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Just had another great meal. The new summer menu is out. Loved the seafood risotto. The lasagna is always great. The ambiance is very nice and the staff are excellent.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    37
    16
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“They know Italian food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Great to experience really good Italian food. (Deli turns to Italian in evenings) This restaurant is one of only a few decent places to eat in Saint John.
A great menu selection. Antipasto were all good, the gnocchi was perfect, tiramisu was authentic.
Staff who knew what they were doing.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
urbandeli, Owner at Urban Deli, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Thank you for visiting Italian by Night and for sharing your experience. We take great pride in developing our menus seasonally. We use a combination of local and imported ingredients. We feel that our main secret ingredient is 'the love' for making our food great food!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great luch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We had a great little lunch here on our quick trip to Saint John. The food and service was excellent. Loved the Diet Coke in a bottle. Will definitely eat here when we return!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
urbandeli, Owner at Urban Deli, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
We love that visitors from 'away' take the time to share their dining experience with us.

When deciding between the Coke or Pepsi supplier, we went with Coke because of the nostalgic feeling that was served with the glass bottle! Hopefully we see you on your next trip to Saint John.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint John, Canada
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Lunch with Stefan”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

I was delighted to be invited to lunch at Urban Deli by my friend Stefan, who has just graduated from university and is leaving for a big trip abroad.

We had a great time, and the service was excellent, and so was the food. I am a creature of habit, and once I had the meatloaf sandwich (yes, really....) on my last visit, I had to have it again. It was as good as I remembered, and just as filling, so I was able to take half of it home.

The sour creme lemon pie is wonderful, and a slice can easily be shared between two people and they were happy to cut it in half for us.

A memorable lunch with a memorable friend....

Bravo Urban Deli and Bravo Stefan!!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumberland, Maine
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Delicious with excellent service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

We breakfasted at the Urban Deli this morning. The coffee was excellent, and we had the Salmon Bennie...it was luscious with wonderful home-made hollandaise sauce, and English muffins. Our server was delightful, and she made the meal more engaging. I plan to visit the Urban Deli every time I come to St. John! Delicious!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
urbandeli, Owner at Urban Deli, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Breakfast at the deli is a Saturday morning ritual for some of our local clients.

We are thrilled that you visited us from Maine. Our eggs benny is a menu item that regulars keep coming back for and we hope on your next visit we'll see you again for lunch or for our Italian by Night authentic Tuscan style dinner. And for a nice place to stay, visit Chipman Hill Suites in our Uptown.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Urban Deli also viewed

Saint John, New Brunswick
Saint John, New Brunswick
 
Saint John, New Brunswick
Saint John, New Brunswick
 

Been to Urban Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Urban Deli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.