We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chateau Saint John

Save Saved
You added Chateau Saint John to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chateau Saint John
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   369 Rockland Road, Saint John, New Brunswick E2K 3W3, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #1 of 20 hotels in Saint John
Vancouver
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Excellent service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2010

We moved a large group into this hotel from another on very short notice and the staff at the chateau were very helpful for our entire stay of nine days. They printed up direction for restaurants take out menus locations etc. We found all the staff from the barkeeps to the housekeeping very professional and helpful. The hotel was very busy but they always found time for any question or request we had.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    204
    63
    5
    3
    0
See reviews for
85
107
11
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2010

My wife and I were pleasantly surprised with the Chateau Saint John. Another reviewed mentioned feeling like you were in a luxery hotel for only a mid-range hotel price, which we very much agree with. Rooms were impecable, the breakfast in the morning was very good, and most importanly, the service was great from all employees that we encountered.

We were very impressed with one gentleman in particular. We had an issue with our toilet plugging (oops!) and called the front desk to see if they could help us. They sent up a gentleman with a plunger, who was more than courteous in this somewhat embarrasing situation. We got to talking, and we had mentioned that we were going to be going to the Hopewell Rocks the next day. He had asked if we knew how to get there, and if we knew when the tides were coming in. We said we weren't going to check it out until later. He then left (and fixed the toilet) and then we left to walk around downtown. (The hotel is close enough to do that) When we returned, a couple of hours later, we found some papers under our door that he had printed off the Internet with directions to the Hopewell Rocks, the tide times, and a page or two about the attraction. We were so impressed that he took the initative to do this without us asking! I wish I could remember his name, but he had just moved in from Calgary, where he used to work the Delta Bow Valley hotel. (I hope the mgmt of the hotel read this and can recoginze him based on that!)

Overall, a great hotel stay. The only downside is that it is not downtown, and while you can walk downtown, it is a bit of a hike. If that doesn't matter to you, then I definately recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2010

Great experience. . Very spacious room, the bathroom is very big, the whole room is very well decorated. We really liked the light on top of the flush. Partner can get up go to the bathroom without waking the other one, doesn 't light up the whole bedroom.
Continental breakfast very nice. (lots to eat)
Staff is great they went out of there way to help, from registration desk to Manager, very appreciated! Best place to stay in Saint John. Easy access to highway.

will go again!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint John, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2010

Stayed at this hotel, it is new and the room was very, very nice. There was a fridge to use, and a large flat screen tv, the bathroom was very nice, very luxurious. The room was a good size.

Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moncton
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2010

We had a great stay at Chateau Saint John. Very new hotel. Rooms and service were great. Lots of parking. Close to downtown (walking distance). The continential breakfast was a great start to the day. Staff go out of their way to heal you. Great place.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2010

I was really impressed by this hotel. The lobby, the rooms, everything is decorated so elegantly. You really think you're at a $300 a night hotel, while paying $100 (rate when I stayed). The rooms are very large, and the furniture is very high end, they even have granite topping the desks and night tables! I doubt there's a nicer hotel in Saint John.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Chateau Saint John? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Saint John

Address: 369 Rockland Road, Saint John, New Brunswick E2K 3W3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > New Brunswick > Saint John
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Saint John
#1 Business Hotel in Saint John
#1 Romantic Hotel in Saint John
#2 Best Value Hotel in Saint John
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chateau Saint John 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you're travelling for business or pleasure, we are confident you'll agree that Chateau Saint John - Hotel & Suites exceeds the standard of excellence in Atlantic Canada. We are conveniently located downtown Saint John, N.B. (Exit 123) and across from the Harbour Station arena. Designed with travellers in mind, Chateau Saint John - Hotel & Suites has raised the bar on quality, service and comfort. Situated only minutes from the famous Reversing Falls and City Market, the hotel pays tribute to Saint John's long and illustrious history (oldest incorporated city in Canada), through its unique decor. Combining the essence of yesterday with the technology of today. Chateau Saint John delivers an unforgettable experience and ambiance. Chateau Saint John - Hotel & Suites wants every guest to feel like he or she is our most important guest. No effort will be spared by our friendly and helpful staff to ensure all your needs and expectations are exceeded. Make your next visit to Saint John unforgettable! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Chateau Saint John reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Saint John Hotel Saint John
Chateau Saint John New Brunswick

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chateau Saint John, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.