We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, pleasant staff and good retail area.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Saint John Hotel & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Saint John Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Saint John Hotel & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   55 Majors Brook Dr, Saint John, New Brunswick E2J 0B2, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Saint John
Brisbane
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
98 hotel reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
“Good hotel, pleasant staff and good retail area.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Fast, efficient check-in by very pleasant young lady as were all staff. The big hotel quite new, modern and attractive with large, free car park, elevators, indoor pool. Our 2nd floor room was beautifully furnished and spotlessly clean. Surrounding area included numerous commercial/retail/food venues. A KFC and an Old Navy store. A good hotel for an overnight stop.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWPLUSsaintjohn, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Saint John Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
We are so pleased to read your review for our property and I want to thank you for your kind words about us. I know that all of our staff work very, very hard to deliver great customer service, cleanliness, maintenance & breakfast to please our guests. This will certainly be very rewarding for them to know that they are making you happy. Thank you again for the encouragement and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    88
    19
    5
    3
See reviews for
48
64
24
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

A few miles from downtown but near the freeway & bypass. Located on East side of city, not far from airport. Great shopping in walking distance.
We would stay there again for sure!
Great breakfast & they follow up with you to ensure you had a pleasant stay.
Unlike the so called "full service" properties , they offer free wi Fi & parking.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWPLUSsaintjohn, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Saint John Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thank you for writing and we are so pleased that you would stay with us again. We would definitely love to have you back for sure! Hopefully we will see you again soon. Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Was at this location last night with gf, was great. The service was very good. The people t he reception was awesome.
Location: well located
Service: very good
Room: nice room on the 4th floor.
Breakfast: very good
Will return
G

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWPLUSsaintjohn, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Saint John Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Thank you very much for the kind review of our property. We are so pleased to hear that we were able to offer you great service & that you enjoyed your stay with us. We would love to have you back soon! Have a wonderful day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver area
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights on our trip through the Maritimes. Hands down it was the best place we stayed in during the visit.

The bed was extremely comfortable with good quality sheets. It was very quiet as it is not right beside any of the major roads. Good value as well.

The staff was very friendly and helpful.

Though it isn't right in Saint John it still suited us perfectly. It is close enough to the major roads that you can quickly drive to Saint John if you want. We wanted to drive to Saint Andrews the next day so it was really convenient for our travel plans.

Breakfast was good. It was your standard BW breakfast but the hot food was pretty good and there was a nice selection of other items as well.

Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWPLUSsaintjohn, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Saint John Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Thank you very much for your valuable feedback. It is so rewarding to discover that our hard work has paid off when we hear that our guests enjoyed their stay. All of us work very hard to achieve high cleanliness standards and superior customer service and we love our guests!! But now we will have to work even harder to always maintain this so that you can always enjoy coming back to stay with us! Thank you for choosing the Best Western PLUS. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Despite taking a wrong turn and driving many kilometers in the opposite direction of the hotel, we were pleased to find it so lovely and comfortable after a long day on the road. The staff was friendly and really wanted to make our short stay pleasant. The room was spacious and clean, and the breakfast was adequate.

If you are not familiar with the Saint John area, be sure to get good directions to the hotel. There are confusing street signs, and it is easy to choose the wrong way. In fact, when we had traveled a number of kilometers in the opposite direction,made a call back to the hotel for clarification, and were told to continue on the way we were driving, we stopped at a small store for help. It was a highlight of the day, though, thanks to the friendly proprietors and customers. The store owner told us he has had many people stop and ask for directions to the Best Westeren, including truck drivers who are used to the area. One of the customers told us to follow him, and he led us all the way back to the hotel.

I would highly recommend the Boston Pizza which is right by the hotel and delivers free of charge. It was delicious!

All in all, it is an excellent place to stay.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWPLUSsaintjohn, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Saint John Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to give us a detailed review and letting us know about what happened! We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us but I am also going to take this opportunity to improve on directing the customers our way. This is a very insightful feedback, and we're going to make it a project to improve this and you will see results within a few months. I liked hearing that the locals were helpful and friendly as well, giving you a great impression of the Saint John hospitality. Great hospitality is definitely what we strive for here at the Best Western PLUS Saint John. All of our staff here will work very hard to make your stay enjoyable. Thank you for your encouragement and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

After a really busy few days, resting at this location was amazing. The beds were comfortable, the room was clean and there was AC as the days were hot. I was impressed. The room we were in had no fridge so there is no where to store left over food to cool drinks. Breakfast in the morning was good and there were lots of visitors from different locations. Although this hotel is not downtown Saint John, it shouldn't be overlooked. Apparently there is a pool but we never used it and there are lots of restuarants nearby and a short drive into town.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWPLUSsaintjohn, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Saint John Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Thank you for your feedback! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, but I am so sad to read that you did not get to use our fridge. It is probably our fault because it is kind of hidden away from plain sight. All of our rooms do have a mini-fridge, but it is placed inside the cabinet below the TV. We will try to do better in letting our guests know where it is when they check in, as it is something we would love for you to use. We would love to see you again, and for you to use our fridge! Thank you for your feedback once again. It helps us to see our rooms from a guest's point-of-view.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Very pleasant and helpful Front Desk staff. Accommodations clean; bath linens replenished daily. Full breakfast was the same each day - would've been nice if the meat item was different everyday instead of the daily sausage. But it was great to have the assortment of bagels, cereal, yogurt, fruits, and to have a waffle maker. The hotel is walking distance to lots of stores and restaurants. It was good as a 'homebase' for visiting other parts of New Brunswick, as well as a visit to Halifax, Nova Scotia. The hotel allows pets, e.g., dogs of different sizes, but thankfully we did not sense any unpleasant smell in the common areas. Lots of big trucks park in their lot each night but are gone by early morning; however, the parking area could use more lighting so one can feel safe at night. There are no "rooms with a nice view" as the hotel is only a 4-storey - rooms either look out to their parking lot infront, or a mobile home park on the rear. It was nice to have free WiFi and a refrigerator in the room. Definitely appeared to be a AAA 3-diamond property and we had a good stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWPLUSsaintjohn, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Saint John Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Thank you very much for your detailed feedback. We are always curious to know how we can improve, and you gave us great advice. We definitely want you to feel safe and I do agree that our parking lot could use more light. In any case, it would make the property more attractive also, so it would be a win-win scenario. It is already in talks with upper management so if our budget allows for it this year, we will get this done within one year. Thank you for your feedback and allowing us the opportunity to acommodate you. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Saint John Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Saint John Hotel & Suites

Address: 55 Majors Brook Dr, Saint John, New Brunswick E2J 0B2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > New Brunswick > Saint John
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Saint John
#3 Business Hotel in Saint John
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Saint John Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the BEST WESTERN PLUS Saint John Hotel & Suites! This beautiful, new hotel is within convenient walking distance to shopping, restaurants & a movie theatre, and has 77 rooms to choose from, including whirlpool rooms and suites. Guests will enjoy complimentary hot breakfast, parking and Wi-Fi, as well as a mini-fridge and 42" LED TVs in all rooms. Facilities include an indoor heated pool, fitness centre, a 24hr business centre and 3 meeting rooms. Earn airline miles or points towards free stays by enrolling in BW Rewards for free! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Saint John Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Saint John Hotel And Suites
Best Western Plus Saint John Hotel Saint John
Best Western Saint John
Saint John Best Western
BEST WESTERN PLUS Saint John Hotel & Suites New Brunswick

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Saint John Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.