We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always fun!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of McSweeney's Dinner Theatre

McSweeney's Dinner Theatre
700 Main St. | 3rd Floor, Moncton, New Brunswick E1C 1E4, Canada
506-857-9114
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #40 of 228 Restaurants in Moncton
Cuisines: American, English, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions
Description: GONE COUNTRY!Henrietta runs the best honky tonk in town, but these days Henrietta is hurtin' real bad 'cause business ain't so good.Join all Henrietta's friends as they do their darndest to keep the drinks a-flowin' by throwing the wildest hoedown Moncton has ever seen. There'll be more drinkin', gamblin' and fightin' than you can shake a stick at, not to mention all you favorite rock and country chart toppers. Yeehaw!!This show runs May 28th-Sept 4th 2010.Call the box office to reserve 506-857-9114
Moncton, Canada
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Always fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

McSweeneys has been around for years and is always a great time!

The food has come a LONG way and is very good now. If you are expecting a professional Broadway show, you are not in the right place. But if you are after a fun, above average theatrical performance along with decent food and some great laughs, you will love McSweeneys.

I take my kids here often and also friends visiting from out of town. You honestly can't beat the price and if you're up for some live music and drinks after the show, there's lots within a block or two.

My kids love dinner theater and we always try to take in a show whenever we travel. But for the value and caliber of the show, we always compare to McSweeneys and they continue to be the best!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    10
    0
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Moncton, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“entertaining despitethe food and the amateur quality of the show”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

I went to see McSweeny's dinner theatre show in June, their produciton called Help! based onthe music of the beatles. The actors were talented, however the show's production value was lesser than a high school play. A huge sheet and a stage with the actor,s basically wearing their own clothes. I truly felt bad for them, 40$ is pretty cheap, but fankly invest more in the show and i would have paid 75$. This was a bad show, clearly the owners of this place have a simple way of making a buck with young starting performers who put more effort than their director and producer. the food is quite bad and the production value quite insulting to call a dinner theatre. literally a sheet! common guys Monctong deserves a bit more class than that.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“blown away!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

had an amazing experience with my daughter, had no idea it would be so entertaining and fun. my daughter is six and they really made it exciting for her including her in the performance etc. will recommend this to everyone who is from or visiting moncton area, the value is unbelievable.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverview, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fun Night Out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

Went out last night with two other couples to watch "Does your Mother Know?" The cast was in character from the moment we arrived and kept us engaged throughout the evening. Very talented group of players who kept us laughing the entire night. Food was excellent from the entrée to the dessert. A good selection to appeal to any tastes, even vegan. Night ended all too fast, but would definitely recommend it for both the entertainment and the food. Will definitely be back again for future performances.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Show was entertaining but food was ... Meh.....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

We enjoyed the show but found the food was very "basic" and the service was quite slow. It's a fun evening out with friends.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed McSweeney's Dinner Theatre also viewed

Moncton, New Brunswick
Moncton, New Brunswick
 
Moncton, New Brunswick
 

Been to McSweeney's Dinner Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage McSweeney's Dinner Theatre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.