We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anniversary Get-Away” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rodd Moncton Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Rodd Moncton Hotel to your Saves list
Rodd Moncton Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   434 Main Street, Moncton, New Brunswick E1C 1B9, Canada (Formerly Rodd Parkhouse Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 28 Hotels in Moncton
Miramichi, Canada
1 review
“Anniversary Get-Away”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

Friendly staff,clean room,close to shopping,dining,Only concerns the outdoor pool ...Brr and the traffic noise.Still I would stay again as we took advantage of a special that the hotel was running and got a complimentary ( good) bottle of wine and sweets along with a gift certificate to the Keg .
Great Time.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoddMoncton, General Manager at Rodd Moncton Hotel, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Happy Anniversary !! We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our friendly guest service, clean rooms and Romance Package during your getaway. Although our location is convent for walking to all the downtown restaurants and shops, at times it can offer challenges with street noise for some room types. We are now offering white noise machines in these rooms for your comfort.

Our outdoor pool & patio will be warmed up for the first of June through to September. We hope that you get a chance to return during this time and consider a river view or poolside room!

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience!

Tammy Ryder
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    104
    42
    17
    13
See reviews for
68
87
12
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

This hotel looks like it is a small newer hotel attached to an old roadside motel. It was very poor in my opinion. The room was in poor condition with cracks all across the ceiling that had been repeatedly repaired. Rusty fire suppression fittings (prob because the bathroom that was shower only had no tub and no fan.) The room was in one of the smallest I have ever seen. The wood structure was very noisy. You can hear everything from adjoining rooms. Seems popular with sports teams the parties went on until 2am. If you can find another place, take it.

Room Tip: if u r not in the new section...leave.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoddMoncton, General Manager at Rodd Moncton Hotel, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
I am very sorry to hear that your stay was not satisfactory. I welcome the opportunity to speak with you further regarding your experience.

Warm Regards,

Tammy Ryder
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottetown, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

Our family of 3 stayed at this hotel on March break this year and loved it! The facility was great - the people were lovely - and nothing could beat the bunk beds my daughter slept in! She was over the moon to have her own TV as well. Great view of the Tidal Bore as well. Much recommended!

Room Tip: We had one of the suites with bunk beds for kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoddMoncton, General Manager at Rodd Moncton Hotel, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Thank you for the excellent review. It is very rewarding to hear that you had such a wonderful visit in our Family room during March Break. We recently added these rooms with our renovation in 2012.
We are very proud of the level of service we provide for all of our guests, and I appreciate you taking the time to share this experience with us & fellow travellers.

We look forward to seeing you and your family again soon!

Cheers,
Tammy Ryder
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

We were part of a party in Moncton for 2 1/2 days. The organizer had reserved a block for us because the accommodation was the closest to our event. Weather uncertainty and the timing of the possible cancellation of the event after the rigidly adhered to hotel check out time of 11:00 a.m. left us no option but to pack, check out, attend rehearsals, find that the event would proceed regardless of the weather, frantically try to rebook our rooms during short rehearsal breaks, and have to unpack once again. The front desk was confused over our re-booking efforts (long story), but we were eventually able to worry our way back to our former rooms. Firstly, the beds were VERY comfortable. The photos showing the room hinted that because there was light on both sides of the bed, there would be a table on both sides. Wrong! Only one tiny, tiny table top between the beds with massive head boards which would have been better put to use as larger bedside tables on BOTH sides of the beds. The room was clean. Nice bath towels and wash cloths. We slept well in the corner room away from the elevator and opposite the linen closet. The closet was wholly occupied by ironing board and luggage rack. There was no room for clothes and outer winter wear. It was one or the other. The hangers were 8 in all for two people with costume changes to make. There were no towel racks in the bath . . . no surprise there. No place to hang a wet washcloth and one of those ridiculous raised wash basins which splash water, are miserable to clean on the outside and take up space on the scant counter. Breakfast was quite adequate and served in a cheery functional dining area with no intrusive "music." The t.v. was sensibly tuned, at low level (one could still carry on a conversation without having to raise one's voice) to the weather. Only 3 stars due to the lack of towel racks, closet space, hangers, bedside tables and bedside reading lamps too low to accommodate readers on the high mattress. Grab bars in the tub would be a nice touch.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoddMoncton, General Manager at Rodd Moncton Hotel, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Thank you very much for sharing your feedback with fellow travellers after your recent stay at the Rodd Moncton. I am pleased to hear that you found our rooms quiet and clean with comfortable beds. We are very proud of our renovated breakfast area overlooking Main Street and the Tidal Bore park and pleased you enjoyed this atmosphere for breakfast.
I am very sorry to hear that there was confusion during your re-booking. Thank you for your in room suggestions, this is valuable information and we will be certain to review them.

Thank you for choosing Rodd Moncton !

Tammy Ryder
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yarmouth, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014 via mobile

We were in Moncton for a medical appt and were offered the medical rate that made the hotel an excellent value. The staff at front desk (Ryan) was especially helpful.
The rooms have received a facelift and are clean with comfortable beds.
It is a old hotel, and noise from flushing toilets and showers was an issue.
Breakfast was the typical fare, so,so in quality. Sausage that is microwaved and not very appealing, eggs in a bag that are not hot...
BUT for the price we payed we were satisfied.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoddMoncton, General Manager at Rodd Moncton Hotel, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent experience at Rodd Moncton. We are sorry to hear that some room noise and areas of breakfast were a concern. We value this information as it helps us look at ways to improve in the future.

We are very pleased to hear that our front desk staff were helpful. I will pass along to Ryan and the team!!
We hope that you will visit us again soon!

Warm Regards

Tammy Ryder
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

I stayed here in July, and my first room was in the older section of the "motel," where you could pull your car in front of the room, if there were spaces, which there weren't. That room was full of small flies swarming around, so housekeeping came with some spray, and I got another room, still in the older section, but this was a much larger room, not bad, but my friend's room was in the "hotel" side of the building, and it was actually, quite nice. We both booked on Priceline and both paid the same price, in fact I referred him, only to get the old crappy room. So whatever you do, call in advance and ask for a room in the newer "Hotel" section.
In the middle of the night, there were young kids, who must have been unattended, screaming at the top of their lungs, and this was ongoing. When I went to the front desk (this was a Friday night) the young man behind the desk was almost oblivious. He could have cared less.
Breakfast was just so-so.
Not too bad for the discount price on Priceline, but very hit and miss, could be a 2 star, could be a 3 star, but nothing more than that.

Room Tip: Call ahead and ask for a room in the newer "Hotel" section of the property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoddMoncton, General Manager at Rodd Moncton Hotel, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Thank you for completing a review from your experience this past July. We value the feedback from all of our guests as it gives us an opportunity to review areas we can improve. I apologise that your experience was not to our standard. We hope that you will give us an opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Tammy Ryder
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

We enjoyed another fantastic stay at Rodd Moncton. The room was clean and comfortable. The hotel is central and close to everything we wanted. The complimentary breakfast is always hot and delicious. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoddMoncton, General Manager at Rodd Moncton Hotel, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay, including our free hot breakfast! Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Warm Regards,
Tammy Ryder
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Rodd Moncton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodd Moncton Hotel

Address: 434 Main Street, Moncton, New Brunswick E1C 1B9, Canada (Formerly Rodd Parkhouse Inn)
Location: Canada > New Brunswick > Moncton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Moncton
#4 Family Hotel in Moncton
#11 Romantic Hotel in Moncton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Rodd Moncton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rodd Moncton is a three and a half Star hotel located in the heart of Downtown Moncton. The hotel overlooks the famous Tidal Bore waterfront and sidelines Tidal Bore Park. The hotel is only one of a few within walking distance of the downtown Moncton business district, Champlain Place Mall, and Crystal Palace Amusement Park. Rodd Moncton features 97 tastefully decorated guestrooms complete with the modern amenities you've come to expect. We are the only downtown location offering free hot continental breakfast and free parking. The outdoor patio and heated outdoor pool are always strong selling points for those hot summer days in Moncton, and Rodd Moncton is the only hotel in the downtown core with this feature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Rodd Moncton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodd Parkhouse Hotel
Rodd Moncton Hotel New Brunswick

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rodd Moncton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.