We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Updated Rooms and Friendly Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rodd Moncton Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Rodd Moncton Hotel to your Saves list
Rodd Moncton Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   434 Main Street, Moncton, New Brunswick E1C 1B9, Canada (Formerly Rodd Parkhouse Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 28 Hotels in Moncton
Halifax, Canada
1 review
“Updated Rooms and Friendly Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We stayed at the Rodd in Moncton this past weekend with two young children. It was a great experience! The rate was very affordable and the room was lovely. The rooms have been updated since our last visit and are very modern. The beds were extremely comfortable and there is a great outdoor pool. The staff were friendly (my son thought the front desk staff were wonderful because they allowed him to have apples on the check in and check out!). Breakfast in the morning was also great and the room had an amazing set of windows that overlook a park. The perfect place to enjoy a morning coffee and some food. We will certainly return on our next visit to Moncton.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    105
    42
    17
    13
See reviews for
68
87
12
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

They were under renovations when we visited, and cosmetic critiques aside, we enjoyed our stay overall. Our room was updated, with a king sized bed and giant TV. Most importantly, it was clean. There was lots of choice for breakfasts (cereals, hot foods, fruit, yogurt...) though I wasn't particularly fond of the food itself...

A fire alarm (attributed to the construction) went off in the middle of the night, which made for a less enjoyable stay. I was surprised we didn't get a token 10% discount or something, and when I asked about it, the young staff at reception just looked at me quizzically.

PROS:
-short walk to restaurants & Loblaws
-great spot for checking out the river

CONS:
-very noisy (can hear cars rumbling by, and noisy air conditioning unit)
-small bathroom (for Canadian hotels!)
-under construction
-fire alarm

Overall though, I think this hotel has potential, especially given its location.

Room Tip: Get a room that doesn't face the street. I never thought I would complain about noise, but it re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Very friendly staff. Clean and well maintained. We got a room in the basement which was slightly uncomfortable. In addition, the wifi signal in the room was very weak, making it hard to do important work. The hotel was in a good location but was near a river, resulting in lots of mosquito bites. Overall, however, the rooms were very nice and the hotel very pleasant to stay in.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

The location of the Hotel is perfect we found having the stop lights right at the driveway was great, easy in & out. It was nice because we could see our car from our room in the parking lot. We also could see the river next to the hotel from our room. The beds were super soft and cozy, the room looked newly done. We booked 6 months in advance to this hotel which must have meant you get the old part of the hotel, only 2 floors, no elevators close by. If your tall the 5ft shower will be a challenge. Also our toilet was in a horrible location, no way possible to sit straight on it, unless you wanted your knee's in the wall. We ended up sitting sideways which was even more uncomfortable. Otherwise it was a wonderful hotel, rooms were clean, WiFi, Cable, A very yummy hot breakfast in the morning. So much to choose from between fruit, breads, scrambled eggs, hard boiled eggs, sausage, yogurt, cereal. Probably one of the best continental breakfast we had on our trip . I would stay again just request a different room.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oviedo, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Nice location next to the river. Good place to observe the tidal bore from the park next door. Small room with to much furniture crammed into it. Tiny bathroom but with modern fixtures. Breakfast included in a large, open breakfast room with a good selection of both hot and cold items.

When we arrived, the desk clerk advised us that our room was not ready. No problem. However, when we asked about the location of the restroom near the lobby she told us that they did not have one. Very strange in that this later turned out not to be true.

OK price, good location, good breakfast, very small room, very tiny bathroom.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

I was worried after seeing some older reviews on another site that I had booked a dive BUT I was pleasantly surprised that those reviews did not hold true any longer. The Rodd hotel in Moncton was fresh and clean and our room was modern and very comfortable. The staff welcomed you warmly upon arrival. It was nearby all kind of shopping and restaurants within walking distance. Little details like wine available for purchase (affordable too!) (Chiraz on the table and Pino Grigio chilled in the fridge) in your room or bottled water make a nice impression when you walk in. Bathroom was clean and modern with nice little treats like the beauty kit and shoe cloth for your travels . The keurig maker was another modern touch and our room had both a mini fridge and a microwave . I would recommend this hotel to friends or family and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Great location on the bay of fundy with easy walking access to good restaurants. Also direct access to the fundy walkway.

Our first stay at this chain , we were very impressed with the value for money here. Room is newly renovated with a great bed and spacious couch area. Although check in was a bit slow due to the staff having to deal with some high maintenance guests, staff were very friendly and provided great service.

Room Tip: We stayed on floor 2 - it was quiet and clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Rodd Moncton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodd Moncton Hotel

Address: 434 Main Street, Moncton, New Brunswick E1C 1B9, Canada (Formerly Rodd Parkhouse Inn)
Location: Canada > New Brunswick > Moncton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Moncton
#5 Family Hotel in Moncton
#11 Romantic Hotel in Moncton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Rodd Moncton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rodd Moncton is a three and a half Star hotel located in the heart of Downtown Moncton. The hotel overlooks the famous Tidal Bore waterfront and sidelines Tidal Bore Park. The hotel is only one of a few within walking distance of the downtown Moncton business district, Champlain Place Mall, and Crystal Palace Amusement Park. Rodd Moncton features 97 tastefully decorated guestrooms complete with the modern amenities you've come to expect. We are the only downtown location offering free hot continental breakfast and free parking. The outdoor patio and heated outdoor pool are always strong selling points for those hot summer days in Moncton, and Rodd Moncton is the only hotel in the downtown core with this feature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelClick and Priceline so you can book your Rodd Moncton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodd Parkhouse Hotel
Rodd Moncton Hotel New Brunswick

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rodd Moncton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.