We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great downtown location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rodd Moncton Hotel

Save Saved
You added Rodd Moncton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rodd Moncton Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   434 Main Street, Moncton, New Brunswick E1C 1B9, Canada (Formerly Rodd Parkhouse Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 28 hotels in Moncton
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great downtown location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

You can't beat this hotel for location, right in the downtown. Our room was spacious and clean with a view of the river and the pool. The breakfast is mediocre, but great for grabbing a quick bite before heading out for the day. My only complaint is the bathroom. Why stop the renovations halfway through? The floor is marked, the tub is chipped and the tiles are a throwback from the 70s. It is rather odd next to the granite counter and vessel sink! Overall, a great place to make your Moncton home base just don't eat the sweaty sausages and fake scrambled eggs.

Stayed July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoddMoncton, General Manager at Rodd Moncton Hotel, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
We are delighted that you enjoyed our convenient downtown, riverfront, location! We appreciate your feedback and your time completing a review of your experience, so we can continue to improve our guest experience. We look forward to being your home base in Moncton the next time you are traveling!

Warm Regards,

Tammy Steeves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    67
    72
    34
    11
    11
See reviews for
47
54
9
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Great staff who went out of their way to be helpful. Advertised as fully renovated but fell short as the bathroom was not remodeled and the grout in the tubs looked horrible as it was black in places. Grouting around the tub would go a long way to completing the "fully renovated" claim. Great location where you can easily walk to great restaurants.

Room Tip: If you request a king bed you get a room facing the street; a room with 2 queen beds in the room fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoddMoncton, General Manager at Rodd Moncton Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to complete a review. I apologize for the condition of the grout in your tub and will have maintenance address immediately. I am sorry for this, it is not our standard. We are proud of our dedicated staff and I thank you for recognizing them! I be sure to pass your feedback along.

Warm regards,

Tammy Steeves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Great hotel that is within a short walk to some of the best restaurants in Moncton. The hotel is 30 mins away (driving) from Hopewell Rocks. Breakfast was good and the staff were friendly. It's very worth it to stay here if you get a good deal. Rooms are clean too.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoddMoncton, General Manager at Rodd Moncton Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to complete a review of your stay at our property. We are delighted that you enjoyed our convenient location to Moncton’s unique restaurants and Hopewell Rocks. We look forward to your next visit with us!

Cheers,

Tammy Steeves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We stayed one night in Moncton at the Rodd and we were quite pleased. The rate is reasonable. The room was not particularly big but it was sufficient. The bed was so comfortable. It's in a good location with a short walk to restaurants. Would suggest that you request not to be on the street side as it is a little noisy.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoddMoncton, General Manager at Rodd Moncton Hotel, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience at our property. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our new Simmons Beauty Rest beds, and our convenient downtown location. We understand that being a downtown location, at times, we can be faced with traffic noise challenges on our Main Street side of the building. We are happy to work with you during the reservation process to reserve a riverside room or to ensure we have a white noise machine available for your use. Again thank you for taking the time to complete a review, we look forward to your next visit with us!

Cheers,

Tammy Steeves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yarmouth, Canada
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

From outside it doesnt look like much, but for 109$ it was a great deal. Lobby is nice and bright, very welcoming. Staff were really friendly. We had a nice second floor room with a king bed that was very comfy. Hotel is clean and I would say has had a lot of work done to it. Pool area is nice, private. I would go back to this hotel for sure. It is so much for such a little price. Great location, walking distance to mall and shops. Only down fall is how close it is to the road, Get a lot of traffic noise. Maybe get a room on the back side of the hotel.

Room Tip: Get a room on the back side to cut down on street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoddMoncton, General Manager at Rodd Moncton Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to share your recent experience at our hotel. We are pleased you enjoyed our recent renovations from the lobby to the guest room and Simmons King Bed. Our goal is to provide our guests with value in a friendly environment. I will be sure to pass along to our dedicated staff. As you mentioned, we are fortunate to be located in the heart of downtown Moncton, close to all of the amenities however it certainly can be challenging at times with some of the hustle and bustle on Main Street. Please feel free to contract us directly when making your next booking as we do have white noise machines available upon request or can accommodate you on our river side of the hotel.

Warm Regards,

Tammy Steeves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Location is great. Central, nice boardwalk along the ever so brown canal/river.
The room was clean and breakfast was well... typical continental breakfast.
The pool is "heated" yet cold because "heated" means they put a cover on it overnight.
As I went upstairs to my room, I noticed a live roach trying to climb up. I also noticed a dead one when leaving the breakfast area. A shame because otherwise the place is as my wife called it: a recently renovated Holiday Inn.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoddMoncton, General Manager at Rodd Moncton Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I sincerely apologize for the bugs you seen, and would like to assure you that this is not common for us. We do have a monthly preventative maintenance program with a professional insect control company. When I was made aware of this situation I contacted them immediately to do an additional inspection. This inspection did not identify any signs of roach’s in or around the property. I am also very sorry to hear that the pool temperature was not comfortable for you. We do heat it with natural gas to 80 degrees and do utilize a pool cover at night to conserve energy.

We are pleased you enjoyed our downtown Moncton location at the famous Tidal Bore Park & Boardwalk, where this week we are hosting World Famous Surfers! Thank you again for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding your recent stay at Rodd Moncton,

Warm Regards

Tammy Steeves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Rodd for just one night while on our way from Toronto to PEI and it was very nice. The staff was very helpful with advice about were to go for food and areas of interest to walk. We stayed in the rear area of the hotel which looks like it was an old motel. The rooms weren't much to look at from the outside but we were pleasantly surprised to find it newly renovated once inside. The mattress appeared to be almost brand new as well as the rest of the room. Defiantly would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoddMoncton, General Manager at Rodd Moncton Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to complete a review and delighted that you enjoyed your experience. We have just completed a major renovation of the interior of the hotel where all 97 guest rooms have been renovated, including upgrading to Simmons Beauty Rest Mattress’s. Thank you again and we look forward to your next visit with us.

Cheers,

Tammy Steeves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rodd Moncton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodd Moncton Hotel

Address: 434 Main Street, Moncton, New Brunswick E1C 1B9, Canada (Formerly Rodd Parkhouse Inn)
Location: Canada > New Brunswick > Moncton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Moncton
#6 Family Hotel in Moncton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Rodd Moncton Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rodd Moncton is a three and a half Star hotel located in the heart of Downtown Moncton. The hotel overlooks the famous Tidal Bore waterfront and sidelines Tidal Bore Park. The hotel is only one of a few within walking distance of the downtown Moncton business district, Champlain Place Mall, and Crystal Palace Amusement Park. Rodd Moncton features 97 tastefully decorated guestrooms complete with the modern amenities you've come to expect. We are the only downtown location offering free hot continental breakfast and free parking. The outdoor patio and heated outdoor pool are always strong selling points for those hot summer days in Moncton, and Rodd Moncton is the only hotel in the downtown core with this feature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Rodd Moncton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodd Parkhouse Hotel
Rodd Moncton Hotel New Brunswick

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rodd Moncton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.