We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Moncton Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Moncton Downtown to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Moncton Downtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1005 Main St., Moncton, New Brunswick E1C 1G9, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #16 of 28 Hotels in Moncton
Cumming, Ga
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
“Very comfortable stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

An older property, with very large rooms, a friendly and helpful staff. Only had breakfast at the restaurant, but it was excellent. The hotel is located centrally for day trips to Prince Edward Island, Fundy National Park, and others.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPMoncton, Online Sales Coordinator at Crowne Plaza Moncton Downtown, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
david7151947, thanks for your review. We're glad to hear you enjoyed the spacious rooms. Thank you for the comment on our friendly staff. We strive to give that Maritime hospitality the East Coast is known for. It sounds like you got the chance to take in some great sites in your day trips. We hope to welcome you back soon. New Brunswick is a gorgeous place to visit in the fall!!

Tanya
Online Sales Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    113
    52
    16
    14
See reviews for
59
70
16
70
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlottetown, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

My husband and I usually stay here when we go to Moncton. However, our last visit was a bit disappointing. The rooms are quire small, and we're used to it, but on this occasion there were just a few small things that were disappointing. For instance, when we got there, we had been on the road for a while, and we were tired, and just wanted to relax for a bit. We got our room keys and went to our room, which was very far away from the elevator (usually I"m not lazy, but we were tired...) and neither of the keys worked, so we had to go back down to the lobby so get a key that worked. Not a huge deal, but just annoying when you're tired and just getting off the road. Then we went down to the pool, and there were no towels there for use, so we had to go back up and get our room towels. In our room there were only 3 or 4 lamps (not much light) and 2 of the light bulbs were out.
Overall, this is a great location in downtown Moncton, easy to get around and walking distance to restaurants, however this stay was not the best experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPMoncton, Online Sales Coordinator at Crowne Plaza Moncton Downtown, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
islandgirl710, thanks for your review. I'm sorry to hear that you didn't have the greatest experience on your last stay with us. You mentioned the issues you experienced were not a huge deal, but you're right in stating that these little things can add up and are especially frustrating when you're weary from a long journey. We'll follow up with the issue of the towels at the pool, the burnt out light bulbs, and the room key issue. I know the front desk staff are more than happy to resolve any issues, and I would encourage you to bring up any problems you encounter immediately so we can fix the problem. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed the location of the hotel and we hope to have you back again.

Sincerely,

Tanya
Online Sales Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This is a great place to stay if you want to be centrally located from Halifax, PEI and Fundy National Park. Fundy is about 45-50 min drive and others a 2 hr drive approximately. The room was good with comfortable beds, parking is a $10 extra per day - but lacks access to elevators in case you have more than a handful to carry. The pool is nice, breakfast warm and filling, and mostly entire staff we encountered was courteous and helpful. They are the biggest plus point here. I would recommend this place for a visit.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPMoncton, Online Sales Coordinator at Crowne Plaza Moncton Downtown, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
nikulk, thanks for the fantastic review! It's great to hear that you enjoyed the location of the Crowne Plaza Moncton. It sounds like you took in a lot in your visit to the Maritimes! We're glad to hear that you enjoyed the pool, breakfast and staff. That's very kind of you to say that our staff are the biggest plus point! We're very proud of our fantastic staff and it's great to hear great reports from our guests.

Tanya
Online Sales Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornbury, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights. Rooms were a nice size, comfortable and well appointed. Felt very comfortable in the hotel. Breakfast buffet was reasonable and well priced. Only really slept at the hotel, was in the area for a funeral so did not explore downtown Moncton. No convenience stores nearby open late, ordered pizza late one evening from Papa Johns - great pizza.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPMoncton, Online Sales Coordinator at Crowne Plaza Moncton Downtown, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
travellingfamily5, thanks for your review. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed the spacious rooms and the breakfast at t-bone's Restaurant. I'm sorry that the circumstances in which you had to visit Moncton were not the greatest. We hope to see you again the next time you visit Moncton.

Tanya
Online Sales Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Just ok for a place to stay while travelling through. Price was ok but everything needs updating. Many options in Moncton and next time will plan better. Parking lot is very scary, old, dirty, falling concrete, etc. The location seemed on the edge of downtown and a rough area. Would not be out at night walking around!
Pool was very small and heavily chlorinated...burned your eyes just being in the room. The room was large and had comfortable beds. The staff were friendly except at breakfast one of the older waite staff kept hovering over us, but not in a way to clear plates or pour more coffee, which they were slow at doing. She then questioned the age of our kids and advised kids over 5 were not free. I said we would pay the extra for our one child over that age and then she left us alone! Wierd! Breakfast buffet was above average for being included for $10 extra on the room. Would not pay more than that for what is offered. Overall, just an ok stay and would not go back.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPMoncton, Online Sales Coordinator at Crowne Plaza Moncton Downtown, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
SLR5, thank you for taking the time to write this review. We appreciate you voicing your concern about the parking area and we’ll be taking your comments into account. We’ll also have our maintenance team following up with the issue you expressed about the pool. I’m sorry to hear about your experience with the restaurant staff. I can understand how that would make you feel uneasy and we’ll be looking into this issue further. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the spacious guest rooms and that the staff were friendly for the most part; however I’m sorry to hear that your overall experience has left you with feelings of not wanting to return. If there’s anything we can do to restore your faith in our hotel and our service I encourage you to contact me directly at toakes@cpmoncton.com . Thanks again for your review.

Sincerely,

Tanya
Online Sales Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Very friendly staff and good location. Quick drive from the airport and about an hour from hopewell rocks. It was clean and comfortable...what more could you ask for? We arrived and were offered an upgrade.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPMoncton, Online Sales Coordinator at Crowne Plaza Moncton Downtown, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
SebC82, Thanks for the great review! Glad you loved the friendly staff and that our location was convenient for you. I trust you enjoyed your visit to Hopewell Rocks! We hope to see you again the next time you're visiting the Maritimes!

Take Care,

Tanya
Online Sales Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

The name is no longer synonymous with classy. Dated interior, carpets needed cleaning. Thought breakfast was included but was told no. Made me feel like a second class citizen. Location was good. The staff did not greet you as you walked down the halls; they looked down and away. Although the room was nice I feel for the money the rest of the hotel needs to be upgraded and polished. The elevators were dirty and scratched walls looked very worn. Classy? No. Motel 6 average? Yes.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPMoncton, Online Sales Coordinator at Crowne Plaza Moncton Downtown, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Pittsbsalesguy, thanks for taking the time to write a review. I'm sorry you were not satisfied with your recent stay at our hotel. It's especially disappointing to hear that you did not feel welcomed by the staff. We'll be following up with the service issue you reported as well as the look of the carpet and elevator. We pride ourselves in superior customer service and we uphold the highest standards for cleanliness. Thank you for reporting these issues. Your feedback helps us to improve.

Tanya
Online Sales Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Moncton Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Moncton Downtown

Address: 1005 Main St., Moncton, New Brunswick E1C 1G9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > New Brunswick > Moncton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Moncton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Moncton Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 191
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in downtown Moncton, close to local shopping, restaurants, and entertainment. A full-service 4 1/2 star hotel with 14 meeting rooms, an in-door pool, onsite restaurant, free wireless internet,24 hour fitness facility, and 24 hour business centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Moncton Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Moncton Downtown Hotel Moncton
Moncton Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza Moncton Downtown New Brunswick

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Moncton Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.