We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weary Travelers Feedback” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Moncton

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Howard Johnson Inn Moncton to your Saves list
Howard Johnson Inn Moncton
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1062 Mountain Road | Moncton, New Brunswick, Moncton, New Brunswick E1C 2T1, Canada (Formerly Beacon Light Motel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 3+ Nights, Save 20%
Ranked #20 of 27 Hotels in Moncton
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    70
    51
    31
    23
See reviews for
85
59
9
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
St. John's, Newfoundland, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

The room was nice and large and the overall clean. We had two beds and they were both comfortable and the bathroom and towels were also good. The room had a flatscreen TV, fridge, coffe maker, and hairdryer which we found convenient. The receptionist was very friendly and helpful and suggested an excellent restaurant, Pisces on 300 Main Street, which we would also highly recommend. I loved the pool with towel service and the price, about 100 dollars a night, was less than most hotels in Moncton (not sure why Moncton hotels are so expensive?). The location was so-so, not in city centre as advertised, so you need to drive to downtown about 15 min.Our only real beef was that, although the hotel has been smoke-free for two years according to the receptionist, our room smelled quite strongly of cigarette smoke and we had to open all the windows to air it out. I told the receptionist about it and she was surprised, so maybe inconsiderate smokers are sneaking them in in some rooms and this is not the case in all rooms. Anyway, all in all, our experience was positive and we would recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint John, New Brunswick, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Had a one night stay here when visiting some friends. Before I opened my door to my room I could smell how clean it was through the door . The carpets were so plush and comfortable that if they took out the bed I would still have a good night sleep and the bed, of course being a Wyndham grade bed, was comfortable as always.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Wonderfully comfortable bed and room. Excellent service by the staff in showing us the elevator, where to park, reccomendations on places to eat. Etc.




  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cavendish, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We spent two nights and thought the hotel was a great deal for our dollar. Traveling on a budget with a family of four we try to find hotels that are clean, offer a decent breakfast and pool for the kids. The staff was VERY friendly. Room was clean and breakfast staff was great! Minutes from local attractions- mall, magic mountain, zoo. My only complaint would be the weak ac and pool. The pool was very chilly and could have used a little attention. However, overall this is a great location for any family wanting to enjoy the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Howard Johnson Inn Moncton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn Moncton

Address: 1062 Mountain Road | Moncton, New Brunswick, Moncton, New Brunswick E1C 2T1, Canada (Formerly Beacon Light Motel)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > New Brunswick > Moncton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 27 Hotels in Moncton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn Moncton 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come stay at the Howard Johnson Inn Moncton where the rooms are clean and the price is right. Our superb central location is near all you want to see and do. Relax in our Indoor Pool (not heated). We are family owned and operated. Choose from our Standard, Deluxe or Executive rooms, full Kitchenettes and honeymoon suites to find the perfect fit for your style and budget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Wyndham, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn Moncton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn Moncton Hotel Moncton
Beacon Light Hotel
Beacon Light Moncton
Beacon Light Motel
Howard Johnson Inn Moncton New Brunswick

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Inn Moncton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.