We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deceived” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Moncton

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Howard Johnson Inn Moncton to your Saves list
Howard Johnson Inn Moncton
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1062 Mountain Road | Moncton, New Brunswick, Moncton, New Brunswick E1C 2T1, Canada (Formerly Beacon Light Motel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead & Save 15%
Ranked #22 of 28 Hotels in Moncton
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    78
    55
    36
    27
See reviews for
94
65
11
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Me and my wife stayed here and we were welcomed with great staff and people that made you feel at home and very helpful to places to see and do in Moncton & around New Brunswick ,next time we go back,it will be back to this hotel ...thankyou again.Bill & Bonnie :)

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nisha C, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Moncton, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Hi Bill & Bonnie,

We appreciate that you took the time to give us this wonderful review and we are very happy that we provided you with a wonderful experience at our hotel.

We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Harvey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericton, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We made a last minute booking for a Saturday night in Moncton. I booked a King size room online. It was quick, easy and very affordable. When checking in, the staff was very friendly, accommodating and efficient. Our room was small, consisting of one chair, king size bed and full bathroom. It had a mini-fridge, coffee maker and a big flat screen TV. It was very clean and more than we needed for the night. They were happy to extend our check-out time. We were in the building closest to the road and being motel-style you could hear some traffic but, we did not find it an issue at all. We did not try the pool or continental breakfast. We would definitely stay again.
Quite a few restaurants close to this location.

Room Tip: Close the bathroom door at night as the window lets in a lot of light come morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nisha C, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Moncton, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Hey there Kellie A,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this revue for our hotel. We are happy to see that you stay was pleasurable and appreciate that you would definitely stay with us again.

We look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,
Harvey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyne Valley
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Hotel is dated and needs modern facelift. Staff and owners very friendly and helpful. Rooms were very clean

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nisha C, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Moncton, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Hello John M,

Thanks for taking the time to put a revue down for our hotel. We really enjoyed having you and the Island Bandits team stay with us.
It's true that our hotel is older than most in Moncton, but we completely renovated the rooms in 2012 and again in 2013 inside the pool building.

We pride ourselves in our cleanliness and staff professionalism and we hope you do consider us for your future stays.

Sincerely,
Harvey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Ohio
Top Contributor
191 reviews 191 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

We booked this hotel after agreeing, because of weather and road construction delays, that a five-night road trip needed an extra night. It's an older hotel and on a busy street. But the front desk was friendly and helpful and our room was absolutely spotless. The extra $10 per dog, per night charge brought our bill above the economy level and the breakfast was just average. There are grassy areas for dogs but they're not particularly easy to find.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nisha C, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Moncton, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Salutations NMDave,

Thank you for taking the time to write down this revue. We always appreciate feedback from our customers.

It's true that our hotel is one of the oldest in Moncton, but everything was renovated in 2012 and 2013.

We are happy to see that our staff provided you with some positive service and we also are very proud that you found our rooms to be spotless.
We hope you will consider us again in the future if you ever find yourself in Moncton again.

Sincerely,
Harvey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oromocto
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Recently stayed after a concert so we weren't in the room long, but the staff were excellant. |We originally had the wrong room and the staff went out of their way to fix it. My thanks.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nisha C, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Moncton, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Hi Chris!

We appreciate you took the time to write a revue for our hotel. Thank you for compliment about our staff being excellent. I will definitely pass on the message to them.
They work really hard to provide exemplary service and I am happy to see it doesn't go unnoticed.

We hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Harvey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Howard Johnson Inn Moncton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn Moncton

Address: 1062 Mountain Road | Moncton, New Brunswick, Moncton, New Brunswick E1C 2T1, Canada (Formerly Beacon Light Motel)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > New Brunswick > Moncton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 28 Hotels in Moncton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn Moncton 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come stay at the Howard Johnson Inn Moncton where the rooms are clean and the price is right. Our superb central location is near all you want to see and do. Relax in our Indoor Pool (not heated). We are family owned and operated. Choose from our Standard, Deluxe or Executive rooms, full Kitchenettes and honeymoon suites to find the perfect fit for your style and budget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn Moncton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn Moncton Hotel Moncton
Beacon Light Hotel
Beacon Light Moncton
Beacon Light Motel
Howard Johnson Inn Moncton New Brunswick

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Inn Moncton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.