We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best B&B we have found in Canada until today!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Downtown Bed & Breakfast

Downtown Bed &  Breakfast
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Downtown Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Downtown Bed & Breakfast
101 Alma Street, Moncton, New Brunswick E1C 2Y5, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 11 Moncton B&B and Inns
Berlin, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“The best B&B we have found in Canada until today!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

My wife and me find this beautiful B&B with our GARMIN GPS.

We arrived mid of May 2012 and were really overwhelmed.
Linda is a really nice lady, who provided an amazing breakfast.
I would say the best we have ever had, although we are vegetarians.

She gave us also a good advice for real good veggie restaurant across the street,
were we have taken our dinner the evening before.

All rooms are on the first floor and very nice supplied with furniture and a lot of cutie things.
Her cat Murphy and her dog Lucy were our friends from the first moment we have entered this house.
We would like to say Thank you Linda, also for the supplies for travel!

This B&B is every penny worth!

All the best Silvia & Ralf

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    2
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
1
5
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

This is a very centrally located B&B walking distance to downtown Moncton. The host (Linda) is really welcoming and prepares delicious breakfast which is different every day, from banana bread, to scones, to omelettes and apple crisp etc. The rooms are spacious, quite basic and the house has a lot of character. My husband and I rented the upstairs suite which is really private, quiet and has its own bathroom. We highly recommend this B&B for its proximity to downtown and its lovely host.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011

Clean, With friendly proprietor, very basic accommodations but within walking distance of several good restaurants. Four rooms to one upstairs bath, price a little high for the quality.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downtownbnbcom, Owner at Downtown Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, November 3, 2011
If I may, I would also like to clear up a misconception, that there are four bedrooms sharing one bathroom. It most definitely is a shared bath on the second floor, however, there are two bathrooms. I have put robes in the rooms for the comfort of the guests because of this. It is a heritage property which to some is the appeal. I would like to explain some of the costing, the reservation that was made was via on line booking service is 15% of the total per night, the tax is 13% of the total, and the credit card used takes another 4%, if there is no chip or rewards program involved. That is up to 32% of the total off the top before my other expenses. Breakfast was included in the price.
There is a room on the third floor, which is a suite, which can be reserved at a higher cost. It includes a private bathroom complete with Jacuzzi tub, private living room etc.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

My friend and I visited Moncton in April of 2011. It was our last night after a wonderful trip around the the East Coast. We had an amazing time with Linda and very much enjoyed our stay at this very spacious and beautiful B&B. Not only did Linda give us wonderful advice on where to visit for dinner and drinks, but she also made us the most amazing breakfast we could have hoped for. I have particular dietary restrictions and Linda was very accommodating. The food was wonderful and it was definitely more food than we could have asked for!
Both my friend and I would very much recommend this B&B to anyone looking to experience downtown Moncton. Great location and within walking distance to the main street.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2010

It's a big house, Linda (the owner) is a really nice lady, who is trying her best for her clients. She has two wonderful pets - a dog and a cat who are always around and very sociable. It's fairly clean, the rooms are quite big and Linda cooks a big breakfast for her guests. The only big disappointment is a shared bathroom, fairly clean though. 

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2010

I stayed one night enroute to PEI. Having got off the sleeper train from Montreal I decided to walk to the b&b (15 min stroll)

A lovely welcome and a great room awaited. Nothing appeared to be too much trouble for Linda and I felt very comfortable here

The bed was so comfortable just what was needed after the journey and breakfast around a large dining table where all the guests sat was great as meant guests chatted to one another :-)

The only reason I have scored a 4 on value is because of guests sharing the bathroom - my pet hate particularly as a solo female traveller. However that said it was clean, Hairdryer etc provided and clean towels for my use in my room

Would definately stay here again and very easy access to the main street,Arcadia bus station only 2 blocks away and a great veggie restaurant across the street

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Downtown Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Downtown Bed & Breakfast

Address: 101 Alma Street, Moncton, New Brunswick E1C 2Y5, Canada
Location: Canada > New Brunswick > Moncton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Moncton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Breakfasts "worth getting up for", include yummy french toast, homemade apple sauce, baked beans in maple syrup, banana bread fresh from the oven.Coffee that will start your heart, and a welcome that will warm it.Free dog pats, and walks if you care to. 1950's atmosphere,park and walk to the heart of the big little city's restaurants,and theaters. Regional travel means no airports, no border crossing, no security procedures,no languages barriers, no dangerous back streets, just really relaxed and friendly people everywhere~ and if your not regional worth all the effort to get here. Best test of a bed and breakfast is yours, come visit would love to have you, Linda, owner of A downtown bed and breakfast ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Downtown Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Downtown Bed & Breakfast Moncton, New Brunswick

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Downtown Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.