We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable Stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gomotel.ca

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Gomotel.ca to your Saves list
Gomotel.ca
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1650 West Main St., Moncton, New Brunswick E1E 1G6, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 28 Hotels in Moncton
Wallingford, Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

My transmission blew up on the Transcanada just before Moncton. It was Sunday so my family and I had to stay overnight til the repair facility opened the next day. Fortunately for us we discovered the Go motel just a couple of blocks away. The young people running it were very friendly and helpful. The price was reasonable compared to other lodging in the area. The rooms though a bit cozy were very clean, attractively furnished and quiet. A modest continental breakfast was tasty and included with the price. Overall it was a good place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco P, Manager at Gomotel.ca, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    4
    3
    3
    5
See reviews for
4
9
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

...but I would not recommend this place for a stay of several nights. I was checked in by a girl who looked no older than 15 which me feel a bit uncomfortable. I find that the photos posted on sites like this are misleading in the sense that the room & motel look great in the photos but in real life look different. That is to say the rooms are quite small but son't really look that way in the photo & the place overall looked a lot more 'lived in' from the outside than the photo of the place leads you to believe. A guy around 30 also seemed to work there but he was not always around. All in all I thought it was kind of a local tourist trap using a trendy internet friendly type name in 'gomotel.ca' but was not really at the "international level" the name suggests. The 'staff' were friendly but sometimes I think such a sentiment isn't a good yardstick to judge a place by. In a pinch use it but otherwise it is probably best to go elsewhere. It is probably the cheapest motel in Moncton. Personally I think that motels/hotels have generally gone off the deep end price wise charging close to 100 for simply a place to sleep & take a shower. I find that not so friendly especially since such places are advertised as some kind of 'economical alternative.' There is nothing "alternative" about 80 bucks plus for a single per night for one that is essentially just a tiny room. The owners also have two aggressive looking guard dogs that could pose a risk to anyone with small kids walking into the motel office which is connected by a sometimes open door to the dwelling where the dogs are kept. There was some leftover billing material from a previous guest in my room in a drawer. Most people are very conscientious about keeping such stuff when they leave a place.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco P, Manager at Gomotel.ca, responded to this review, July 29, 2012
Not sure on how to respond to your review but here we go.
1. The room pictures are taken with a camera and not touched up.
The picture of rooms are exactly as taken The rooms were all renovated in 2012.
2. The Innkeeper Kathleen is much older than 15! She is over 24 years old, Sorry you felt
Uncomfortable by being treated nicely by Kathleen and her appearance.
3. The Innkeeper do have a dog however he does not have a mean bone. We personally did
check out ``Mattie`` the dog and he is very very friendly. A business is usually no place for a
dog but as you noticed the Hotel is also their home. I do agree with you that on
occasion another dog visits and I personally do not like other dog because of barking
which is totally unacceptable. The issue was brought up to Innkeeper regarding other dog
that barks and hopefully resolved.
4. Unfortunately, you appear to badger Hotels in general for the price they charge however as you pointed out, GOMOTEL.CA was the best value in Moncton. If it was that bad for you , you could have cancelled your stay after one night but you chose to stay for a long term which makes me wonder that maybe it was not that bad, maybe the `` pinch`` you were in made everything bad.

As managers, we like to learn for our reviews and better ourselves. We appreciate your review. Hope you are out of your pinch. Perhaps we may have to increase our prices to avoid being in a pinch in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bathurst, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

My wife and I recently stayed at Gomotel over the week end and loved our stay. The bbq area was great as we were able to cook our hot dogs and enjoy a relaxing quiet night. The rooms were recently renovated, very clean and had no carpets. We will defiantly stay their again!

Thanks for the great stay,
Bob and Laura

Room Tip: No fuss economical rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Gomotel in Moncton recently and had a great stay! We hesitated to stay here because of the bad reviews, but it was the only decently priced room near downtown. The motel was recently renovated and the new owner was friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean and seemed to have new furniture, fridges and DVD players!! It is definitely a fair price for being so close to downtown. We plan to stay at Gomotel next time we are in Moncton!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco P, Manager at Gomotel.ca, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thank you for your opinion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kentville
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2011

My wife & I stayed at Jones lake last summer for the Atlantic Nationals car show and we were very dissapointed.The rooms were filthy,we had to clean our room ourselves,and had to take laundry to the office to get it washed.The manager was renting rooms out to "Dancers",and one of them had customers coming & going all night long.He also had friends living there,and it appeared that they were selling drugs,they had traffic pretty much around the clock.I would not recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco P, Manager at Gomotel.ca, responded to this review, May 10, 2012
We could not agree more! However as a new Management, we have completely renovated the Motel. GOMOTEL.CA is approved by CANADA SELECT. Hopefully you will comeback and as can see from the pictures, the rooms have changed!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2010

Room was old and dirty looking,i paid cash to front desk clerk and they scammed my visa that i gave them for a reservation number and ripped me off 200.00 . I would not recommend for a cheap stay ( try camping )

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco P, Manager at Gomotel.ca, responded to this review, May 10, 2012
Sorry you had a bad experience. However we have renovated and changed the name of hotel and management. GOMOTEL.CA is approved by CANADA SELECT and as you can see from our room pictures, the old carpet, paint, furniture have been replaced. Hopefully you will come back and we promise to make it a better experience for you and your family. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ONTARIO
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2009

Hey There Travel Fans,

Was at Jones lake motel for a business stay with afew men on my cable crew.

And i couldnt believe how small these rooms are at this motel. They consider double rooms to be two futons pushed together. I felt as if i were in prison.

Honestly tho, the price was good .room were VERY clean, and the lady at the desk was quite nice.

Another plus was ....My Uncle Pete dropped into the Jones lake motel for a few hours from Edmunston and the motel was curtious enough to rent him a room for only a few hours to take a nap with his mate before he had to drive back home.

Overall . If you gotta stay here . You gotta stay here. If you want something m ore than a room and a bed . Go else where

Happy Travels

JP

  • Stayed April 2006, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gomotel.ca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gomotel.ca

Address: 1650 West Main St., Moncton, New Brunswick E1E 1G6, Canada
Location: Canada > New Brunswick > Moncton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 28 Hotels in Moncton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Gomotel.ca 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
GOMOTEL.CA (previously Jones lake Motel)is located downtown Moncton 5 minutes walk from train bus station. GOMOTEL.CA faces a beautiful lake (Jones Lake) which has walking or jogging trail. Rooms are carpet free and also contain fridge-microwave. GOMOTEL.CA was completely renovated and is approved by Canada Select. GOMOTEL.CA offers BBQ access and a cozy glass hut to enjoy smoking. GOMOTEL.CA is 10 minutes to Casino NB, Magnetic Hill, Magic Mountain, Beach and more. GOMOTEL.CA is 15 minutes from International airport. GOMOTEL.CA offers affordable short term weekly - monthly rates. Please note our office is open from 8 am- 9 pm. After 9 pm, we are closed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Gomotel.ca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gomotel.Ca Moncton, New Brunswick

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gomotel.ca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.