We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Nice Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amsterdam Inn Fredericton

Save Saved
You added Amsterdam Inn Fredericton to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Amsterdam Inn Fredericton
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   559 Bishop Drive, Fredericton, New Brunswick E3C 2M6, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 19 hotels in Fredericton
Saint John, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Another Nice Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Once again, staff was very friendly, room was clean, and it was quiet.

Made use of the free Wi-Fi, worked well...and no pain in the butt registration to use it. Didn't stop for the breakfast but it smelled great. And the rate was really good, you can pay a lot more for a little less.

Also there was a fridge in the room and the windows open...both very important to me.

Room Tip: 3rd floor...no one over your head.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim D, Director of Sales at Amsterdam Inn Fredericton, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Good Afternoon,

Welcome back! We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.

Having the little mini refrigerators in our rooms seems to be pretty popular. I am not sure if you would be interested but our suites have little kitchenettes in them. Some of the suites also have fireplaces and soaker tubs if to if your wanting to try something different during your next stay. We are always happy to show off our rooms and would be delighted to give you a tour next time your in!

We thank you for your business and hope to see you again in the near future!

Kim Driscoll
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    77
    44
    9
    2
    2
See reviews for
48
24
8
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Miramichi, New Brunswick
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

I came in the night before, so I would not have to get up at the crack of dawn to make the 2 hour drive. Imagine my surprised when my phone rang with a wake up call at 6:30am. I guess somebody needs additional training on the phone system. The hotel continues to be great but this really has ruined my morning. since I could not get back to sleep. I stayed in Room 314 which is located in the back of the hotel. The noise level was minimal. They do provide a Continental breakfast which is nice and it is included in the price. Check in was a breeze and the Assistant Manager was helpful with providing details about breakfast and stuff. They really have to make sure that people are not receiving wake up calls at 6:30am that did not request them.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back although facing the highway seem quiet enough.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim D, Director of Sales at Amsterdam Inn Fredericton, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Good Morning,

Thank you for your feedback. I understand our management team has been in contact with you regarding your recent stay. We will be taking the feedback and reviewing policies with our entire team to ensure this type over oversight does not happen again.

Thank you again for your time. We are available any time to connect with our clients to discuss concerns.

Kim Driscoll
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint John, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

Amsterdam inn is a local chain off three hotels owned by a family in New Brunswick. My son and I travelled from Saint John to attend a high school basketball tournament and stayed the night on Jan 4th. Check in was no issue, the standard. The rooms were very clean modern and comfortable. What sets this hotel apart is the service. After my sons Friday night game I asked Mary, the night manager if they had a laundromat or if she knew of someplace I could wash some uniforms. She then blew me away by offering to clean them in the hotel laundry. She said they would be folded waiting for me in the morning...you would NEVER get that at a big chain. It's that small town, looking out for each other I really look for...thank you. If your looking for a place in Fredericton stay here.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim D, Director of Sales at Amsterdam Inn Fredericton, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Good afternoon!

Thank you for your response. We enjoy having teams stay with us in our locations. One of the perks we try to provide teams with is complimentary laundering of your uniforms. Anytime you are staying in one of our 4 locations we would be happy to do this for you ~ Just ask!!!

We look forward to having you again in the near future! Best of luck for the remainder of your Basketball Season! :)

Kim Driscoll
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

This is the only hotel i'll stay at in Fredericton - even if they weren't one of the most affordable places to stay (which they are) they are also the cleanest, and most comfortable and friendly hotels in the province.
I've stayed many times and have had almost all good experiences.
Only criticism that I could possibly give is for the hotel owners to re-evaluate one of the front desk overnight staff. He was the only unfriendly, and extremely unhelpful person that i've ever encountered at your hotel.
don't let that deter you, though. It would be worth it at twice the price.

Room Tip: Pick one off the main floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim D, Director of Sales at Amsterdam Inn Fredericton, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Happy New Year!

Thank you for your your feedback regarding your previous stays with us in our Fredericton location. We value the information provided by our clients so that we can refine our service when areas of opportunity are identified. We would love to connect with you to better understand your experience during your last stay. Our location manager Brad MacMillan call be reached directly at 1-506-474-5050. I can be reached in our Sussex location at 1-506-432-5050, ext 199. Both properties can also be connected through our toll free line 1-800-468-2828.

Once again thank you for your feedback. We look forward to hearing from you.

Kim Driscoll
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Stayed at the hotel on Dec 6th, the only reason I haven't choosen 5 starts is that I didn't experience enough of the hotel. I was there on business and didn't get to the hotel until 1:30am. Staff at the counter was awake and very friendly, had everything set up for check in. Very clean and excellent beds. I was out by 9am for meetings but I cannot say anyting negitive about my experience with this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim D, Director of Sales at Amsterdam Inn Fredericton, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Happy Holidays!

We are glad you enjoyed your short stay with us in Fredericton. Hopefully during your next stay you will be able to spend more time in the hotel and in the Fredericton area. There are great restaurants, attractions and of course shopping in the city.

Safe travels!

Kim Driscoll,
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

And you can tell by the attention to detail. We stop regularly when driving through new brunswick :)

You can choose rooms that have a couch and bed. Nice duvets too.



What more to say. They have discount card for regular users. Call there are off season rates that are better than online.


:)

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim D, Director of Sales at Amsterdam Inn Fredericton, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Welcome back!

We are always happy to see familiar faces return to our properties. We are glad your have enjoyed your recent stay. All of our Inns have a variety of rooms and suites to choose from. Some of our suites have fireplaces, soaker tubs and even kitchenettes if you are looking for something extra special on your next visit.

There are times when we run last minute special promotion rates so you can check out our website or call us toll free to inquiry closer to the date of arrival.

We appreciate your business and hope to see you again in the near future!

Have a wonderful day!

Kim Driscoll
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

The Amsterdam Inn in Fredericton was a great place to stay on our recent drive through New Brunswick. Access was easy (just off the highway) and the beds were super-comfortable. The rooms were large and the free continental breakfast was very satisfying, as it included hard boiled eggs and a nice selection of bagels and muffins. Excellent shower with lots of very hot water. (You actually have to watch the tap setting, the water can be way too hot on full hot.)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim D, Director of Sales at Amsterdam Inn Fredericton, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Good morning,

Thank you about letting us know about you recent stay in our Fredericton location. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. We will keep our ears open to ensure the hot water settings are at an appropriate level for our guests comfort.

We appreciate your feedback and hope you will consider staying with us again if you return to New Brunswick in the future.

Have a wonderful day!

Kim Driscoll
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Amsterdam Inn Fredericton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam Inn Fredericton

Address: 559 Bishop Drive, Fredericton, New Brunswick E3C 2M6, Canada
Location: Canada > New Brunswick > Fredericton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Fredericton
#3 Family Hotel in Fredericton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Amsterdam Inn Fredericton 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Amsterdam Inn Fredericton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Inn Fredericton Hotel Fredericton
Amsterdam Hotel Fredericton
Amsterdam Inn Fredericton New Brunswick

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amsterdam Inn Fredericton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.