We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay!! Very Nice Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Lord Beaverbrook Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Lord Beaverbrook Hotel to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Lord Beaverbrook Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   659 Queen Street, Fredericton, New Brunswick E3B 5A6, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Fredericton
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Excellent Stay!! Very Nice Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

Stayed at this Crowne Plaza for an entire week on a business trip. Room was always very clean, turn down service with a bottle water each night, nice touch. Very good amenities. Definitely will return!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPFredericton, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Lord Beaverbrook Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Dear Kevin B,

Thank you for your wonderful comments, we are so pleased to hear that you had such a great experience at our Hotel and are glad to know that you will be back. Thank you again for the great feedback!

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    124
    45
    15
    4
See reviews for
39
82
19
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Guelph
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

The room was just ok, older, furniture and carpets didn't look/feel clean.
The location is good though - close to restaurants and shops.
We were just staying for 1 night on our way to PEI and got a decent price on Priceline. So no complaints since we weren't staying long and didn't pay full price.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPFredericton, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Lord Beaverbrook Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Dear Goodfood_nochains,

Thank you for your review and comments as we appreciate both very much. While we were glad to hear that you enjoyed our location, please accept our sincere apology for not meeting your expectations on our room condition. We have shared your feedback with our teams to ensure we make necessary changes to improve our services and products. Thank you again and we hope to welcome you back again in the future.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint John, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Stayed 2 nights for Animaritime Convention. I was a presenter and informed the hotel far ahead that I would need an early check in. While I realize things like this aren't guaranteed, my room wasn't ready until WELL after check in time. Many small issues with the room, stained dresser, broken dresser handles and such. Elevator was broken on my floor and did not have a button to call it, when I arrived. After a couple of hours they had the button fixed, so I guess that's something. Was told someone would contact me after the exit survey the hotel does. Was not contacted at all. Good things? Cleaning staff was very kind and provided us with extra towels. Hotel was quite quiet despite being full to capacity. They did well with the amount of convention goers. Still sad about losing my 20.00 false lashes in my car, trying to get ready because I didn't even get regular check in, but what can you do.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the newer part of the hotel. We got the old part and it really showed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPFredericton, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Lord Beaverbrook Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear almasysdreams,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at our hotel. I am truly sorry that our service did not meet your expectations and sincerely apologize for the inconvenience this has caused during your stay. We have shared your feedback with our staff to ensure we make necessary changes to improve our services.
I sincerely wish to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bouctouche, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We stayed here one night on August 2nd, 2014. We came by boat and had to pay docking fees. The docks are very close to the hotel which is very convenient. We were able to walk downtown as the hotel is situated very close to restaurants, pubs, etc. There is also a very nice walking/biking/running trail between the hotel and the water.

Hotel room was very clean and the bed was super comfortable. Plenty of towels and necessesities. Staff was very pleasant.

Room Tip: We were on the third floor at the end of the hall, room 314 and we slept very well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPFredericton, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Lord Beaverbrook Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear 975lindam,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at our hotel. We are pleased to hear that you found our beds comfortable and enjoyed downtown location. We will be sure to share your feedback with our staff and hope to welcome you back again in the future.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Nice rooms, good food in their restaurants and nice pool. Good location with lots of restaurants and shops and history within walking distance.

My only complaint is that the pool and hot tub need to be cleaned. The edge of the pool was a bit yucky and there was a lot of hair floating in the water over the 3 days that we were there.

All in all a nice place for anyone - solo, couple or family.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPFredericton, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Lord Beaverbrook Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Hello TheMom_Halifax,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review regarding your most recent stay with us. While we were happy to hear that you enjoyed our hotel and convenient downtown location, we apologize for the cleanliness issue you experienced. I have shared your comments with appropriate department and am confident these types of issues will be improved upon.
Thank you again and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

I have to preface this review by saying that I feel most hotels in Fredericton are overpriced with the quality you receive. The Crowne Plaza is included in this group.
If you book off their website you are paying between $150 and $200 per night most times in the summer during peak tourist season, depending on when you are travelling. In addition to this cost is the New Brunswick HST & 5% Room Tax that has to be tacked on top as well as parking at this hotel at a cost of about $10 per night. We booked on Priceline and received an "Express Deal" rate of $100 per night, knowing that most hotels are biased against these rates and you most likely won't get the best room. Our expectations were met, the room was run down and old and the air conditioner was loud. In the mornings the housekeepers slammed doors (as they do at most hotels) but were not loud as they walked through the halls.
Now the good news, this is a great location for seeing Fredericton. If you enjoy the nightlife or strolling the city it is in an extremely walkable location from the downtown core, so you won't have to worry about taxi's or driving. The beds in our room were also very comfortable and although it was in need of a reno all the basics were there, with a partial view of the river as we were on the second floor. When we requested a bar fridge to the room the staff delivered on in a timely manner.
Overall, we only stayed there two nights and it filled the need for a room, but I would have felt extremely disappointed if I had used IHG rewards or paid the inflated room costs and had this as my room.

Room Tip: Request a small fridge when you first get there if there isn't one in your room, the staff will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPFredericton, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Lord Beaverbrook Hotel, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear TJ004,

Thank you for your review and feedback, it is very much appreciated. While we were glad to know that you were pleased with our downtown location, we sincerely apologize for not meeting your expectations on our room quality. I have shared your feedback with our staff so that we can take necessary steps to continue to improve our services and products.

Thank you again and we hope to welcome you back again in the future.

Warmest Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Loved this hotel. In such a great location on the river and right downtown. Upgraded to a Executive Queen Suite at no charge. It was huge and very comfortable. Had a great price paying up front with no refund. Highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Had booked online and paid upfront. Able to secure a rate of 129./night and upgraded at no charge. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Lord Beaverbrook Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Lord Beaverbrook Hotel

Address: 659 Queen Street, Fredericton, New Brunswick E3B 5A6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > New Brunswick > Fredericton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Fredericton
#5 Family Hotel in Fredericton
#7 Business Hotel in Fredericton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Lord Beaverbrook Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Greetings from the Crowne Plaza Lord Beaverbrook Hotel in downtown Fredericton, New Brunswick situated on the banks of the majestic St. John River! Our historic hotel has long been known for its unbeatable location, comfortable rooms, top-notch meeting and event services and inspired dining experiences. We look forward to making your stay a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Lord Beaverbrook Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fredericton Crowne Plaza
Beaverbrook Hotel
Crowne Plaza Fredericton
Crowne Plaza Lord Beaverbrook Hotel Fredericton, New Brunswick

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Lord Beaverbrook Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.