We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The ferry ride is worth it” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Manan Island

Grand Manan Island
New Brunswick, Canada
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 437 things to do in New Brunswick
Activities: Hiking, Whale watching, Kayaking, Birdwatching, Camping
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Scenic island where author Willa Cather summered.
Thornbury, Canada
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
68 attraction reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
184 helpful votes 184 helpful votes
“The ferry ride is worth it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

This island is accessed only by a ferry. I spotted about 20 dolphins during my crossing. There are some good seafood restaurants on the island and very pleasant accommodation.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    8
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Moncton, Canada
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Can't wait to go back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Even though we're from New Brunswick, we'd never been to the Fundy Islands. This year we took the time and toured them all. By far, the coolest island was Grand Manan. There are awesome beaches (read empty) and nice (not pretentious) places to eat. The ferry ride over from Blacks Harbor was excellent. Even waiting at the terminal had the kids excited!
We camped at Anchorage Provincial park where everything was outstanding. The campground is next to the beach and a bird sanctuary and away from the main road (but still easy to find).
Everywhere on the island, the local people are very kind, taking time for "mainlanders". Try to include a Saturday in your trip, the farm market is really cool.
Can't wait to go back.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johns Creek, Georgia
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Went there for photography and loved it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

My wife and I were in Maine for vacation, visiting the very northernmost part of Acadia and then up to Lubec. We went out to Machias Seal Island for Puffin viewing, and it was awesome. Grand Manan Island was right there, and sounded interesting, so we included a few days in our plans. So glad we did, it s really cool place, with so many things to see and photograph (although not in the "typical" sense, i.e., no Grand Canyon or Leaning Tower), but so many harbours, abandoned smokehouses, fishing weirs, bouys, etc, that you could spend two weeks here photographing and not get tired of it. Plus the ferry ride out here is cool, since it leads to the sense of adventure...
Well definitely be back soon...

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericton
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Heading back twice this summer! My favourite place.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

I can't say enough about Grand Manan. If I could make a living over there I would certainly live there. The people are friendly and down to earth. The scenery is breathtaking and for the amateur photographer it is unlimited. We stay at the Anchorage Provincial Park and love it there. It is peaceful, clean and beautiful there. I love the marshlands and high cliffs over on the "Dark Side" of the island as well as the free ferry over to White Head Island for a little excursion. I also enjoyed the sardine museum (also a great place to take pictures) as well as the numerous beaches to walk....so peaceful....so quiet and calming...love it love it love it!!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Quiet, simple, slow pace, walking, biking - a pleasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Grand Manan is a small island accessbile by ferry from Blacks Harbour in New Brunswick. It is quiet, and beautiful. Marshland, hiking, biking. Nothing fancy or touristy. We stayed for four days and wished we had spent our whole vacation there. Highly recommend a visit.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grand Manan Island also viewed

Grand Manan, New Brunswick
 
New Brunswick, Canada
Grand Manan, New Brunswick
 

Been to Grand Manan Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Manan Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.