We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place for hiking and camping!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fundy National Park

Fundy National Park
P.O. Box 1001 | Alma, New Brunswick E4H 1B4, Canada
506-887-6000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 222 attractions in New Brunswick
Type: National Parks
Activities: Hiking, Viewing foliage
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: A beautiful coastal park with miles of hiking trails along rugged shores and bubbling forest streams.
Trussville, Alabama
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Wonderful place for hiking and camping!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

I travelled to Fundy National Park with my husband, brother-in-law and his wife, as part of a two-week trip to Maine and New Brunswick. We were camping in a pop-up tent camper and found the sites at Chicgnecto North to be very roomy and private. Most sites have a barrier of trees around three sides of the site and are pretty level. All sites seem to be located very close to a nice bath house, with accessible shower/washroom, laundry facilities and a separate cookhouse where you can do your dishes. The cookhouse had several picnic tables inside and a wood-burning stove. There was pretty good wi-fi reception at our campsite, but most people would bring their laptops up to the cookhouse and sit at the picnic tables there as the reception was better. We went down into Alma one morning to get sticky buns at Kelly's Bakery and to take pictures of the lobster boats in the harbour before the tide went out. We also made a long day trip over to Hopewell Rocks at high tide, then went to Cape Enrage Lighthouse to visit while waiting for the tide to recede. I highly recommend visiting Cape Enrage and talking to the vivacious and knowledgeable staff there. The scenery is stunning and you may be able to see seals out on the rocks as the tide recedes (as we did). We ate lunch at the take-out window of the restaurant and had fabulous lobster rolls and the best chowder of our trip! We then drove back over to Hopewell Rocks to walk on the beach at low tide to see all the fantastic "flower pot" rocks. Definitely worth the time to see it both at high and low tides! Our last day, we hiked the trail to Dickson Falls. It's about a 1.6 km (1 mile) hike through beautiful forest covered in lichens and moss. Part of the trail is a boardwalk with a number of stairs to different levels along the stream and falls. The hike was definitely worth it as there had been rain in the area right before our hike so the falls were running pretty high. Even if the falls were not running as high, it would be a beautiful hike anyway. We then went down by Point Wolfe and hiked the Coppermine Trail. The climb was fairly steep on the way in and then mostly downhill on the way out. There are several views of the Bay of Fundy on the coastal side of the trail. Many small streams to cross, but none that required wading through. We went down into the town of Alma after our hikes to see the lobster boats sitting on the mud flats at low tide. It was definitely a sight to see! We walked out onto the mud flats (lots of small rocks to keep you out of the mud). Lots of beautiful rocks and shells to look at and amazing how far the tide goes out! I would love to spend more time here in the future if we ever get back to this area. Highly recommend Fundy National Park!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    33
    4
    2
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Atl Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Fundy Park: Family Camping and Outdoor Adventure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

This year we took our pop-up trailer to Fundy on 3 different occasions and enjoyed each stay. Our kids love to camp (they're still young...) and with play parks, hiking, and bike trails there is no shortage of things to do. I'll review 3 things here: campgrounds, golf course, and a couple trails.

We stayed at the Chignecto North campground each time primarily because it is fully serviced AND allows campfires. Headquarters campground (still within the park), is very nice and fully serviced but does not allow campfires so that doesn't go over well with my kids. The sites are quite private, level, and wooded - lots of space. The washrooms are clean with laundry services and showers and are conveniently located so it is never a very long walk to get to one. The per night rates are reasonble but with the entrance fee to the park on top, gets a little excessive. There is talk of needing a fire permit in 2013 AND necessary to buy wood at the campground - this will add another $15 to the bill which will make camping here ridiculously expensive. We'll see next year. We'll be back for sure.

The golf course is only 9 holes and is one of the most picturesque and interesting courses to play in the area. There are several elevated tees and/or greens with a brook running through much of the course. My wife and I really enjoyed playing it this year. It's a great place for "new to golf" players so plan for a longer than normal round.

Hiking Trails: LOTS to choose from. Dickson Falls is an easy hike (with lots of stairs though) and is one of my favourites. We hiked Laverty Falls most recently and was a moderately challenging hike with nice falls but I think Third Vault Falls trail is my absolute favourite. Point Wolfe is a great place to hike as well especially the trail that leads to the beach area where you can walk around the coast when the tide's out. There are so many others that can be explored by hiking or biking!

Living close to Fundy Park, one tends to take for granted the tidal activity but it is truly remarkable how high the tides get in relation to low tide.

I highly recommend a visit to Fundy National Park unless you don't like the outdoors. If that's you, stay home.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“My favourite of Canada's National Parks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

This trip we just had a short visit and particularly enjoyed Point Wolfe. The drive through the park coming from Fredericton is spectacular as well. In previous years we've camped in the park and seen moose in the picnic area and all kinds of wildlife. I highly recommend visiting if you're in southern New Brunswick.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint John, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Excellent Camping and Hiking Trails”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

We come to Fundy a few times each summer. We purchase the National Parks Pass each summer and come often enough that it is worth it. We do not have to pay any entrance fees, only camping fees. The pass comes with a National Park Passport that you can take to different National Parks to get your stamp.

We have been to two of the campgrounds in the park and have gone backcountry camping. The sites in Fundy are not as large and private as the other National Park in New Brunswick however we never had trouble fitting our large tent on the site and still had lots of room for our car. Firewood is expensive so fill your bag up as much as you can! We often get through two nights with one bag of firewood. There is a store in Alma just outside the park at the gas station that sells handmade firestarters that work really well. They charge $0.50 each.The backcountry sites are large and provide free firewood. Be sure to check in at the visitor centre when you arrive and to check out when you leave.

There are a lot of hiking trails for all levels. They are all maintained and very well marked. If you go to the visitor centre you can get a Hiking Log where you write down your hiking and take to a park staff member to sign. Once you have hiked 100km you can get a free pin and another after each additional 100km. We are nearly there :)

Each summer there are five or six geocaches placed in the park. Once you get all of them you can get a coin specific to that year. Look on the park's website for a copy of the geocaching "passport" you will need to punch with the punches in each cache. They are family friendly and places within a foot or two of the trail. Most can be accessed without leaving the trail.

Near the Visitor Centre there is a large field overlooking the Bay of Fundy with picnic tables. Last time we went we took our tabletop barbecue and had burgers and hotdogs with friends.

Alma is just outside the park and has little shops and restaurants. If you are camping and want to do your grocery shopping when you are near the park go to either Sussex or Moncton, There is an excellent bakery in Alma though with yummy sticky buns.

There is a lot to do here if you are willing to take the time to find out!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“I Love This Park!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

One of the most varied and beautiful natural parks I've ever visited, Fundy is deservedly an international destination. From lakes to gray sand beaches to scenic overlooks; challenging hiking and moderate biking trails to stunning vistas of the bay visible by car, you've got it all. We spent several hours here with our dog and could have spent more. Be aware that even the easy trails pose some challenges, but we saw several people with canes enjoying themselves immensely.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fundy National Park also viewed

New Brunswick, Canada
New Brunswick, Canada
 
New Brunswick, Canada
Hopewell Cape, New Brunswick
 

Been to Fundy National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fundy National Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Fundy National Park to your Saves list