We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hungry? It is worth the trip.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Skinner's Restaurant

Skinner's Restaurant
Lockport,MB, Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
(204) 942-7832
Improve this listing
Ranked #549 of 1,360 Restaurants in Winnipeg
Restaurant details
Winnipeg
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Hungry? It is worth the trip.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Just a short distance from the city of Winnipeg, onto hwy. #9, past several interesting family food stands in summer months, you end up near Lock Port and Skinners. The hotdogs and fires, and most any type of fast food you'd like, can be found at Skinners.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    7
    8
    3
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“It's ok ...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

It's been there forever. Casual and almost retro. But if you want the best cheeseburgers in all of Manitoba, go to the little drive-up place 2 minutes away right at the intersection of Henderson Hwy and #44. OMG Sonia's Stand is A-MAZ-ING!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great place for a hotdog once in awhile...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Even though I don't eat hotdogs very often, I ended up pulling into the Lockport location while visiting a nearby horse tack store in 2008. I got hooked on the double wieners with bacon and cheese, and always have to have one during periodic trips to Winnipeg. They are always served very hot, and taste different than most wieners. Sharing small pieces with my dogs has become a ritual, and there is a grassy field near the Lockport location where I can exercise the dogs. There is now an outlet in the food court at the Forks, and I always stop at one or the other. The Lockport location is decorated as a fifties diner, with old photos and jukeboxes. This restaurant has had a long presence in Lockport. My one issue is the bathroom. Thinking of the ladies washroom there just takes my appetite away. The hot water taps did not even seem to be functional any time I have been there, and people seem to leave the toilets unflushed on purpose or something. I have advised staff on multiple occasions that it needs more attention. I imagine it is frustrating for them, as some customers also seem to have filled openings on the jukeboxes with ketchup.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Good local hangout”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Went there on Canada Day and it was very busy as it seems to be a very popular spot with the locals. Had a footlong hotdog as I was told by my Winnipeg friend that was thing to do. The food was good, service was friendly and the walls were lined with old hockey pictures which made for a nice environment.

I would recommend making the drive to try this out and check out the locks afterwards.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
“Foot Long Disappointment”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Hot Dogs are simply boiled and people rave about them ...go figure
If you order the special which is a Hot Dog, Fries and Drink for 8.00 it consists of a
a Hot dog with barely any onions or condiments and they called that loaded???? Either McCain blanched disgusting fries(soggy) or home-style fries for an extra buck both of which are under-sized. My 7-up tasted like tonic water which I returned and was told the syrup tank wasn't working properly. All in all for 2 our lunch was 20.00 and it wasn't very satisfying. Last time I drive to Lockport for lunch.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Skinner's Restaurant also viewed

Winnipeg, Manitoba
Winnipeg, Manitoba
 

Been to Skinner's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Skinner's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.