We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close, Clean and Modern” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sandman Hotel & Suites Winnipeg Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Sandman Hotel & Suites Winnipeg Airport to your Saves list
Sandman Hotel & Suites Winnipeg Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1750 Sargent Avenue, Winnipeg, Manitoba R3H 0C7, Canada (St. James Industrial)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 64 Hotels in Winnipeg
ontario
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Close, Clean and Modern”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Can't ask for much more from a Hotel close to the airport. Clean, Comfortable and Modern. Chop connected which is a good choice for food and drink. Airport Shuttle service was on time and free. Priced fairly for what you get.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    51
    22
    7
    6
See reviews for
19
25
13
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Saskatoon, SK Canada
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

Stayed two nights at the Sandman, Winnipeg. The rooms were a decent size, clean and comfortable. Did not like the wall mounted air conditioner as it blew cold air right at the bed. Not the greatest design. I really liked that a Chop Steakhouse and Denny's was attached to the hotel. Both are decent restaurants. A decent hotel for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario Canada
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

I stayed here a couple weeks ago for work. It's located minutes from the airport and offers a complimentary shuttle service. The rate was reasonable with free wifi and the room was very clean and nicely decorated. Room service is available from the attached Denny's and this would be my only complaint. The dinner options were limited to three items and none were "light fare" the sides available were fries, onion rings or seasoned fries. I did have breakfast in the Denny's dining room however and they had some good light choices available on the regular menu. I did not try Chop Steakhouse or use any of the amenities. Overall it was a good stay and I would recommend it

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

This hotel offers very nice rooms with comfortable amenities. The rooms are spacious and clean, and the bed is incredibly comfortable. Attached to the hotel are a Denny's and a Chop, which is great, especially during the winter! Although I did have some minor issues being able to use the printer at the business center downstairs, I would not discount staying at this hotel again. The staff is friendly and helpful, and tried their best to assist me with the printer problem. The hotel is located conveniently close to the airport, which is great for my business travel needs. Speaking of which, the hotel offers free van transportation to and from the airport which is a definite plus! I look forward to staying at the hotel again in the future!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dauphin, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

Hotel is close to the airport, polo park, walmart and tons of other stores. Both the lobby and the room we stayed in had beautiful decor and were extremely clean. Service at the front desk was very friendly and prompt. We had to ask for a booster pack twice to start our car, and both times the workers were very polite and courteous, and made sure we knew how to use the starter and offered us help if needed. There are two restaurants attached; Chop steakhouse and Denny's (which offers room service). Shuttle to and from the airport for those travelling, which is convenient. Very good discount with both the Government rate or a CAA card.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

Hotel was very nice, modern decor and the two restaurants attached make it very convenient. Staff was really friendly and helpful and accommodating. It's seemed like the policy's were the problem, my boyfriend needed to be picked up from the airport after dropping off the rental van and I called down from my room to book the pick up but apparently he had to call from the airport....kinda silly when the van was still in the parking lot but he had to find the phones and this meant he missed that van. We had to meet a ride so it was very inconvenient Apparently a radio is 1000 dollars and can't have a phone...I understand you can't check it when your.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

My husband, myself and our toddler decided to stay at this hotel because he had a flight the following day. We made a reservation online and checked in at around 5PM. The desk manager was not super friendly, but efficient and got us checked in quickly.

We booked the executive junior suite. I would not recommend this room type to someone that really needs two beds. The room was a standard sized room with a king bed and a pull-out sofa. The pull out sofa was not a very comfortable one, but the bed was nice. If we had our other children with us I would definitely book a larger room with two beds.

The room was clean and the bathroom was surprisingly a nice size. I love the soaps and shampoos they provide at this hotel brand.

On this particular stay, the room and the hotel itself were very cold. We had to set the heat fairly high to keep the room a nice temperature. The lobby was cold and the hallways were cold. I understand that it is Winnipeg (I live in northern Manitoba) but was surprised at how chilly the hotel was, I've never encountered this at other hotels.

I like that there is a little snack bar area located down in the lobby equipped with a microwave, cooler with drinks for sale and various snacks and toiletries. This is handy instead of having to carry around change for vending machines (although there are vending machines as well in the hotel), you can just charge the purchase to your room.

There is a fitness facility provided, with lots of choices for equipment. We really liked that the hotel provided this. There is also an indoor pool.

Attached to this hotel is Chop Steak & Seafood Bar as well as a 24 hour Denny's. We have never tried Chop and it was quite good (although a bit on the pricey side). Denny's was great.

Checkout was quick and convenient. The front desk staff in the morning was super friendly and courteous.

Overall our stay was nice, although a bit chilly. Would upgrade to a different room if staying in the future.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sandman Hotel & Suites Winnipeg Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandman Hotel & Suites Winnipeg Airport

Address: 1750 Sargent Avenue, Winnipeg, Manitoba R3H 0C7, Canada
Location: Canada > Manitoba > Winnipeg > St. James Industrial
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Winnipeg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandman Hotel & Suites Winnipeg Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located minutes away from Winnipeg International Airport and a short 10-minute drive to downtown, Sandman Hotel & Suites Winnipeg Airport offers guests the perfect combination of comfort and convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Sandman Hotel & Suites Winnipeg Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandman Hotel And Suites Winnipeg Airport
Sandman Hotel & Suites Winnipeg Airport Manitoba

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandman Hotel & Suites Winnipeg Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.