We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, great prices” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chez Sophie Bistro & Pizzeria

Chez Sophie Bistro & Pizzeria
248, avenue de la Cathedrale, Winnipeg, Manitoba R2H0H8, Canada (Central St. Boniface)
204-235-0353
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #73 of 1,334 restaurants in Winnipeg
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: French, Pizza, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night
Neighborhood: Central St. Boniface
East St. Paul
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great food, great prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

This restaurant is small and has a great food and reasonable prices. The waitress was very friendly. It is best to be have reservations.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

83% Recommend
    30
    11
    2
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pordenone, Italy
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“It was ok at best. There are so many other options elsewhere.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

After reading all the positive reviews on Trip advisor I had high hopes that Chez Sophie Bistro was going to make for an excellent dinner choice for my husband and me. We arrived at 5pm when they opened and though we didn’t have dinner reservations were seated promptly. The location is oddly located in more of a residential area and the blue building sticks out like more of an eye sore to the community rather than a warm inviting bistro. The inside is very small even for a bistro, and while the décor is charming enough the close proximity to the kitchen and the serving window it kind of takes away from the charm. The menu itself was very all over the place as far as cuisine options, and to be honest I wasn’t impressed. There were pasta dishes but nothing that stuck out as being worth the price asked. I found it unusual that this place was more Bistro-esque with the pasta and pizza but then offered options like steak and filet mignon with seemed a little too gourmet for this place, and unfortunately the whole menu was more gourmet pricing. We decided to try both mediums of the menu and ordered peppercorn steak and a pizza, and while both were good I feel that the price asked did not match up to the food quality we received. The service was ok at best. Eventually the restaurant filled up but since everyone is close to one another and with the noise from the kitchen being right there it was hard to have a conversation without feeling like I had to raise my voice, or block out all the other conversations happening around me. I have tried many different restaurants in Winnipeg while visiting Canada and feel that this overall experience was lacking. If you’re a family or going out for a romantic dinner I would advise elsewhere, this was more suited for lunch type place with a friend.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Homey and Better Than Expected”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

2nd time there. Hard to get in due to cramped space, so reserve well ahead. Very eclectic menu, but check the specials board. Nice wine list and service was very good.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“best pizza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

I would never have ordered a pizza with a white sauce, however I was joining friends for dinner and they ordered a large Raclette. The pizza comes with a cream sauce, onions, ham, bacon and Trappist cheese. It was by far the best pizza I have ever tasted. The place is a little cramped but the staff are great and the atmosphere is warm and friendly.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

My boyfriend and I decided to go to Chez Sophie on a whim to celebrate our anniversary. We didn't have a reservation but got in right away (it was fairly late on a Saturday evening). The place is very cozy and had a lovely atmosphere. The food was delicious and we both swear they serve the BEST tomato soup we've ever tried.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chez Sophie Bistro & Pizzeria also viewed

 
Winnipeg, Manitoba
 

Been to Chez Sophie Bistro & Pizzeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chez Sophie Bistro & Pizzeria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.