We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious, nice place and priced well” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Viva Restaurant

Viva Restaurant
505 Sargent Ave # 1, Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
(204) 772-3167
Improve this listing
Ranked #73 of 1,298 Restaurants in Winnipeg
Cuisines: Vietnamese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Winnipeg
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Delicious, nice place and priced well”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This place is consistently DELICIOUS. I usually order the vermicelli bowl with beef. It's only $7.95 and sooo good. I also order the Beef with Snow peas and Cashews, which comes with rice often, which is also amazing. I definitely recommend this place.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    14
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Steinbach, Canada
Top Contributor
249 reviews 249 reviews
163 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
209 helpful votes 209 helpful votes
“Significantly better than average Vietnamese food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

There are lot of Vietnamese restaurants in Winnipeg, including probably half a dozen on Sargent alone. I'm no expert on the cuisine, but this was probably the best I've had in Winnipeg. Pho was flavourful. Large menu with a whole range of items. Friendly service. We'll be back.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

A hidden gem. If it weren't for our friends we would never have been able to guess that this hidden restaurant had excellent food. We shared the do-it-yoursels spring rolls with charcoal grilled chicken which was superb. The pho with rare beef was very tasty as was the chicken vermicelli. The decor isn't particulary charming but when the food is this good who cares?! Try it. The service was decent despite the fact there was only one person serving.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Best noodle bowl ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

If you want to experience a quaint restaurant, this is the place to go. Whether you want to order individual dishes (like Chinese food style) or stick with a noodle bowl, the food here is fantastic. We like to start with an order of spring rolls, and always order noodle bowl number 28. It has beef, pork, shrimp, and cut up pieces of the spring rolls in it. It is the best thing I have ever eaten in our Winnipeg. The place is often crowded at lunch time, with a line up out the door. The staff is very friendly, and the service is prompt. Definitely worth trying. It is our "go to" place anytime of the year. Two delicious drinks, are the lychee shake and the Vietnamese coffee.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Fantastic food, don't go for atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

I love vermecilli noodles and BBQ pork and here is the place to have it! We went as a staff group from work and although it was noisy and super busy (lunch time) the food was SO good and the waiter as attentive as he possibly could be in while tending to a crowded restaurant. The prices are great and with great food and good company, you can ignore the dingy no ambience setting. We were able to make a reservation and I would recommend you do if you go with a group so they know you are coming but even then we waited an hour for our food. Go with people you want to visit with and like!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Viva Restaurant also viewed

 
Winnipeg, Manitoba
Winnipeg, Manitoba
 

Been to Viva Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Viva Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.