We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a taste of italy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Paradise Restaurant

Paradise Restaurant
789 Portage Ave, Winnipeg, Manitoba R3G 0N3, Canada
(204) 772-2539
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #222 of 1,298 Restaurants in Winnipeg
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Winnipeg, Canada
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“a taste of italy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

this quiet place has been open for so long its a city landmark it has realy great food but a dated décor the service is ok and the food comes out fresh fast and hot always a nice meal this is a must go to place and is better the olive gardens fast food concept if you like good food over flashy décor this is the place

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    10
    4
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
BC
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“15 years later and still Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

From the unassuming exterior to the humble interior you could be lulled into having lower expectations than you should. Paradise restaurant's food is not only generously portioned and incredibly valued it is so delicious you will swear your bill should be three or four times the price. Forget pre packaged 'Olive Garden' type restaurants, give your taste buds a treat and your wallet a break try Paradise you can thank me later.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Great food and service... Renovations inside needed.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014 via mobile

My family has been regulars of this restaurant for 40 years. Never a bad meal and normally great service. This place could use a renovation inside for sure but I can't bad otherwise. Pizza, pasta, salads; and breadsticks ate all to die for. The service is usually great although a few visits haven't been as good. The bad reviews for this place are most likely disgruntled former employees or welfare cases that live close to this establishment that have nothing better to do than gripe.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Delicious dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

We used to go there 3 x a year but stop for 2 years until last week. The ambiance still great but the menu was changed and was disappointed to find out the dinner for two was changed. But, the server was so helpful and we were willing to pay the price to have it again. He did not disappoint, the taste and portions was like we used to have before the changed of ownership. Great customer service deserve great rating. We were so glad we decided to stay and enjoy the place again. Chicken Parmesan,spicy sausage are my favorite still.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Parent drag me there.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

I used to work at this place in the 80's so my parents think I'm still 18 and insist on taking me there every time I come to Winnipeg.

The food is exactly the same as it was when I worked there and a few employees as well. Saw a man try and send back a raw chicken parmigiana but was told he'd be charged half price since he ate some of it. Not surprised at all.

My table was disgusting. They just kept adding linen napkins on the table to cover the sauce stains from the previous customer. Add on top of that the parking is in the back alley by a neighbourhood that can only be described as sketchy and "street" people waddle in to sip coffee and play VLT's.

The pizza is and always has been the best in Winnipeg and the bread is fabulous.

I'd never go if my parents didn't drag me there kicking and screaming.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paradise Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Paradise Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paradise Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.