We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint and authentic” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Grande Pizzeria

Casa Grande Pizzeria
984 Sargent Ave, Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
(204) 783-6231
Improve this listing
Ranked #161 of 1,298 Restaurants in Winnipeg
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
winnipeg
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Quaint and authentic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Great pizza, veal very tasty, would have preferred fries instead of the pasta. ( they don't sell fries here). checker board tables in an intimate setting.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    21
    11
    7
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“We go here all the time and love it.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

We usually don't go to Italian restaurants because all too often it just seems like you are paying too much for noodles and sauce. At Casa it feels like you were invited over for family dinner with your Italian neighbors. Some of the best pizza in town, pasta is fantastic with many different options (including oil and garlic instead of sauce). Very cozy small atmosphere and the Grande brothers make you feel at home. Good Value for the food and quantity you get too.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manning, Canada
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Casa Grande, Off the beaten Path 3.5/5”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012 via mobile

Nice atmosphere once we sat down, the outside of the building is a little scary. I had a pizza, half godfather the other was a feta and sausage. The pizza was above average, felt over full after eating 2 pieces, very heavy pizza. My wife hade the Chicken Parmesan, it was ok, not any different than we have ever had anywhere else. We were just passing through Winnipeg so if we come through again we would try a different place.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake District,U.K.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A proper Italian Restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

Only in Winnipeg for 6 days (to attend a wedding), found Casa Grande by chance and it was so good that we went back for a second time. Excellent food, excellent friendly service and a true Italian restaurant atmosphere. Given the choice the downstairs seating and ambience is preferable to upstairs but the food is great, wherever. Loved it!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Fantastic pizza, lovely little restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

I've been here a number of times and although I intend to try something other than the pizza, their pizza is soo good that I cannot resist it. The crust is superb and the toppings are great too. The restaurant is always busy, so make a reservation. They have a good take-out deal on a weeknight (tuesday or wednesday)- worth checking out!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa Grande Pizzeria also viewed

 

Been to Casa Grande Pizzeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Grande Pizzeria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.