We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No MSG !!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Empress of China

Empress of China
14-1050 Henderson Hwy, Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
204-334-9700
Improve this listing
Ranked #223 of 1,298 Restaurants in Winnipeg
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“No MSG !!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Love the fact they do not use MSG in their terrific dishes. One of my favourite dishes is the honey glazed chicken- always tender and they will make it as spicy as you want from mild to hot. Family run and always friendly. Great neighbourhood place in North Kildonan

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    12
    6
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Average at best”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Food was average. We found it to be on the bland side, but both agreed that it seemed freshly prepared. We had the food delivered; the total bill amount was not provided over the phone, nor was the method of payment asked for. When the delivery driver came, he informed us that he was not setup to take anything but cash. We had to phone back with our Visa. Food was fairly pricey for what we received.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“They change the owner,but the food still so good , now the new owner more nice!!!! Service is more nice now!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012 via mobile

They change the owner,but the food still so good , now the new owner more nice!!!! Service is more nice now!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We go here because there is no MSG and the food is fresh. I like the taste, especially their special house sauce on the chicken. I do agree with some reviewers though, that if you eat in the restaurant vs. take-out, you will see that the owner is somewhat harsh with her staff. And these are young girls who probably don't know any better as far as industry regulations. But, that's observation. Who knows...maybe on the side she isn't so bad as some of them have been working there a while.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Not great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

The woman who runs this place is nothing short of nasty, yelling at staff, rude overall - Not acceptable at all. The food is quite good for the most part, prices are too high. We would return more often, however we don't like to see employees being treated badly.
Overall decent food for this area.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Empress of China also viewed

Winnipeg, Manitoba
 

Been to Empress of China? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Empress of China, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.