We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“deens doubles ez 2 get curried away” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Deen's Restaurant

Deen's Restaurant
205 Marion St, Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada (Central St. Boniface)
(204) 233-2208
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #491 of 1,360 Restaurants in Winnipeg
Cuisines: Caribbean
Neighborhood: Central St. Boniface
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Central St. Boniface
winnipeg
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“deens doubles ez 2 get curried away”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

great prices no frills good food.. order the doubles and a patty nice light meal add on a roti and this is supper 4 two ...outdoor patio with entertainment on saturdays ..licensed not ...actual pic of food,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    7
    4
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great food. They open only if they have nothing to do.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2011

We would go back if and when they decide to open. It's a hit or miss if they are open and if they have anything in stock or prepared. Otherwise great food and cheap.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“I am from the Caribbean.....will never eat that nasty food again.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2011

Horrible food,who they trying to kid?You will rarely see a person from the Caribbean eating there.

  • Visited April 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The best Chicken Roti in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2011

Great Chicken Roti - the best in town - very cheap prices 10 bucks you walk out stuffed. Deens also cooks with no oil in their roti. Worth every penny

  • Visited March 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Best West Indian curry in Winnipeg!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2009

My husband and I have been to Deen's many times. Yes, the decor is dated and not in the best shape, but the food more than makes up for that.

I am from the West Indies myself: if I don't have time to make my own curry, Deen's is my first choice for authentic West Indian curry. The curry is flavourful, but not too spicy - quick remedy for that is their hot sauce.

The prices are reasonable and the portions are large - neither myself nor my husband have ever left Deen's hungry.

As well, the staff is very friendly and my hubby likes to watch the fish in the aquarium.

Family-friendly and definitely worth a visit!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Deen's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Deen's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Deen's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.