We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A neighbourhood gem!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bonfire Bistro

Bonfire Bistro
1433 Corydon Avenue, Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
204-487-4440
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 1,298 Restaurants in Winnipeg
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Restaurant details
Winnipeg
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“A neighbourhood gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

After driving by this restaurant hundreds of times, we finally visited. Friends had told us to get there early, so we were there by 5:15pm and had no trouble finding a table, although it was full when we left and I can understand why!! This was one of the best meals we've had in a Winnipeg restaurant in a very long time. My Italian sausage pizza was original and so tasty. My husband had the Cioppino: spicy Mediterranean seafood soup with prawns, scallops, fish, mussels and clams with saffron, fennel, and tomato served with grilled Portuguese water bread. Wow. We shared warm dessert and a cup of tea before heading back out into a Manitoba snowstorm. Simple but lovely atmosphere. We'll be back!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    23
    3
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Small, but mighty!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

We read earlier reviews and went as early as we could, and still ended up sitting at the bar. That, of course, makes no difference to the taste of the food! The wait staff were excellent and knew the products and had recommendations. My husband and I shared the roasted beet salad/goat cheese salad. Delicious and plenty for two! For my main I had the Roasted chicken breast...very tasty and more than I could comfortably eat. Pizzas were very popular and we watched staff staying busy putting them together. There was a constant line of folks waiting for seats. Be early or prepare to wait. No reservations taken.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forman, North Dakota
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Place to Eat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

I would 100% without reservation recommend the Bonfire Bistro to anyone visiting Winnipeg. They keep their menu simple and they do everything well. The waitstaff is fast and courteous. My boyfriend and I went here for lunch, I had the La Bamba Chicken pizza. It has a bit of a kick, but nothing overwhelming. All of the food being served looks fresh and you can tell they take pride in their product. I would definitely come back here, and am interested in trying their evening specials as well.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Manaitoba, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Wonderful place for family and friends”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

I have been twice. The first time we went as 2 couples. The second time as a family of four. The meals are amazing!! High quality, perfect quantity, perfect temperatures, service speed paced intuitively to what you need, friendly and helpful staff...only complaint I would have is the limited parking options but, hey, at least it's free! Definitely have the beet salad and the mushroom pizza!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flin Flon, Canada
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Fantastic food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Their pizza and beet salad make this restaurant awesome for lunch. My girlfriend and I were very impressed with the quality of food at this restaurant. We are excited to try it for supper and try some more of their culinary delights.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bonfire Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Bonfire Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bonfire Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.