We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anniversary” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mariaggi's Theme Suites Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Mariaggi's Theme Suites Hotel to your Saves list
Mariaggi's Theme Suites Hotel
231 Mc Dermot Avenue, Winnipeg, Manitoba R3B 0S4, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 63 Hotels in Winnipeg
Winnipeg, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Anniversary”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

My wife booked the India theme room for our anniversary. We arrived early afternoon and the place was very quiet. Just a tip, you will have to climb a set of stairs to get up to the lobby. Not sure if they have any other means. Was given a brief tour of the hotel which was nice and then were shown to our room. Walking into this room is amazing. You turn the corner and see the pool table followed by the hot tub. The room also came with a steam shower which was used. Later in the evening following our couples massage, we were served supper. We ordered the Italian meal and it was very nice. Once the meal was done, we left everything in the hall way. Was a bit surprised to find that everyone had left for the evening as it was only 9:30. Back to the room. There were a lot of light switches which made it somewhat confusing to figure out. Far too many as far as I was concerned. The room has no phones which was OK. Had a great evening but as soon as 1:00am came, the nightlife really started up. This hotel is in the exchange district of Winnipeg which is downtown. With the bars closing,(we stayed on a Monday) the yelling and shouting started and continued until 3:00am. A lot of noise from the street with police and fire dept. If we thought we would get a good sleep, that was not the case. The hotel is situated in a part of the city that you are probably not going to be walking around late at night. Also, the underground parking was 1 block away which wasn't that bad. Overall, the evening was a lot of fun and I would go back.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowell L, General Manager at Mariaggi's Theme Suites Hotel, responded to this review, August 31, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are happy to know you appreciated the India room design. All the art and statues are from India. The stonework took our masons a month to create. We hope guests feel like they are surrounded by the Himalayas with the slate walls and flooring resembling the mountain range. Dinner in the suite is really convenient for guests. The Italian meal has good sized portions and is very tasty. Cheesecake is homemade and delicious with no preservatives or additives. Sometimes street noise can be bothersome - especially when the bars vacate. I might recommend the new China, Morocco, Mexico or Africa suites next time as they are more interior suites and not as noisy. It is really nice to know that you would recommend our property to others and would like to return again. We hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    33
    13
    15
    11
See reviews for
2
209
4
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Portage la Prairie, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed in the penthouse suite after being upgraded from the china suite which we originally booked. There was an issue with the hot tub in the china suite so they upgraded us at no charge to the penthouse a few days prior to arriving. The penthouse was far too large for just 2 people but we enjoyed it all the same. The waterfall hot tub was definitely the best part of the room and the bed was very comfortable. The steam shower was OK but not what I was looking forward too when I booked the China room (I love a great shower) The meal was excellent and the staff were all super friendly and informative. I personally would definitely stay here again but not in the penthouse again due to its over all size.

Room Tip: Don't be afraid to ask the staff if you are having any issues with the room. They are very helpf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowell L, General Manager at Mariaggi's Theme Suites Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
The Jakarta Tropical Penthouse is Canada's largest hotel suite. It is close to 3,000 sq.ft. and is meant for larger groups. However, from time to time we have just one couple enjoy it all to themselves. We have recently added a 400 sq.ft. private deck that many guests enjoy. The oversized waterfall Jacuzzi hot tub in the suite is a one of a kind hot tub. We are happy to know that you really enjoyed this feature. China does have a really great tornado shower with multiple heads that hit you from all directions. Sorry that China needed repairs and you were unable to enjoy this feature. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us just the same. Dinner is usually very well received and I will let the chef know how much you enjoyed dinning in the comfort of your suite. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed there for our second time last weekend, and both times were beyond great! The first time we went, we stayed in the Hawaii room, it was smaller than we thought it was going to be but we still had such a good time. Last weekend, we stayed in the Caribbean room and it was amazing!! We couldn't figure out the tub or how to connect our phones to the stereo system but someone came up and fixed it right away for us, any problem you have, all you have to do is go to the front desk and they help you right away :) we also had supper there this time around and it was so delicious! No complaints whatsoever! Haha we will definitely be going back!! :)

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowell L, General Manager at Mariaggi's Theme Suites Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
It is gratifying when we have guest return to our hotel and try a different theme suite. This usually means that we are on the right track in terms of good service and wonderful atmosphere at a fair price. All the suites are very well outfitted. Hawaii is one of the smaller suites and the Caribbean is a larger room with waterfall hot tub and pool table. They all have really interesting design and I am glad you chose to enjoy dining in the suite this time around. It is so much more comfortable dining in the theme suite than anywhere else. The food is always tasty with very good portions. Sometimes guests have problems with how to operate some of the equipment in the suite. We are always available to help answer any questions regarding room operations or anything else - anytime of the day or night. It is nice to know you called us and we helped you in a timely manner. Sometimes guests decide not to call when a problem comes up and it really does no one any good as we can not fix a problem if we do not know one exists. We really appreciate you taking the time to write a review. The African suite is being redesigned and it will have a new private deck and will be opening in a few weeks!!! Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

We heard of the hotel, but never knew exactly where it was. It looks nondescript from the outside. So when this years "Doors Open Winnipeg" came around (open house ), we decided to take this opportunity to check out all the theme suites and penthouse. It really is an amazing hotel, each rooms' decor matched its theme to a tee.For example, we were told, that the India suite was comprised mainly of pieces shipped over from a palace in India. All the suites looked spotless, relaxing and inviting, each "unique" in its own way. The Mariaggi's Hotel looks like a wonderful place to treat that special someone and forget about the hectic or mundane life beyond its walls.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowell L, General Manager at Mariaggi's Theme Suites Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Doors open Winnipeg is a wonderful way for all those who are interested in the history of Winnipeg to get a birds eye view of our wonderful heritage. We are particularly fond of the history of our Mariaggi Hotel. The building was built by Sir James Tupper son of Charles Tupper who was a founding Father of Confederation and an early Canadian Prime Minister. Frank Mariaggi developed the newly constructed building in the early 1900's. He laid claim to have the Longest Bar in the West a Gentleman's Private Dining Room and dining Grotto's in the basement where there were ponds stalked with goldfish and walls resembling Italian caves. His hotel was Canada's first European Styled with each suite having wonderful furnishings, draperies, telephone, steam heat and their own bathroom with toilet, bath and sink. It was the new age of hotels and to this day his design concept of hotel is still being copied. I like to think if Mariaggi were alive today he would recreate and design theme suites as we have done. We are continually reinventing and redesigning suites that couples can enjoy. It is a great escape and a getaway without having to go away. All the artwork, furnishing and room design represent the country of the theme and we are proud to be the first theme suite hotel built in Manitoba. For the past thirty years we have been providing a mini vacation for couples to enjoy. We hope to be here for the next thirty years. Just wait till you see our new rooms scheduled to open in a couple of months.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steinbach, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at different hotel but never had a better experience elsewhere. Excellent service, outstanding rooms! and extremely friendly staff! Our whole entire stay was an amazing experience! We defenitely recommend this to anyone and we will defenitely come again!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowell L, General Manager at Mariaggi's Theme Suites Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Couples need couple time. It is so nice to know that you had a great stay at the hotel. We really work hard at developing and maintaining very high standards. We are committed to providing the best quality rooms, most personalized service and spotlessly clean rooms at a fair price for our guests. Thank you for rating us five stars in all these categories. Please tell your friends and family in Steinbach about our hotel and spa. We really do very little advertising but we get a lot of good word of mouth and it really helps.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Two weeks ago we stayed in the 3000 square foot Jakarta room on a Friday during one of the busiest springtimes we have ever had. We spent $30 (if memory serves correctly) for the early check in option as we wanted to make the most of it. We had previously spent a few hours there for my wife's Christmas party one year. A couple years prior to that we spent a night in the Roman room. Speaking of that stay way back when we found it really nice and the soft music playing when we arrived (Dean Martin's, "Memories Are Made of This") left such a mark on us we made sure to download this and other of his songs. We really enjoyed that evening though the food we ordered in was lukewarm and a little mushy.

One thing to know about this hotel is that it is special. It should not need to be spelled out but due to a previous negative review or two it must be said; do NOT expect this to be like other hotels. They are cookie cutter (between all our travels and my 30+ years playing band gigs I must have stayed in hundreds of them) and this is not like any of them. If you cannot feel relaxed or romantic in this place you may want to look inward. Because you are in the middle of Winnipeg's famous Exchange District near downtown, you are never going to feel as if you are in Japan or Mexico or Hawaii etc. You are going to hear the odd bit of traffic noise and the sooner this is realized and the room taken for what it is the happier you will be.

The stay itself? We are middle agers who work very, very hard for the things we have in life and needed some respite from the everyday drudgery. This one night escapade was a treat for our anniversary and was magical. Not being entirely sure how the afternoon and night might unfold, we brought along our cribbage board and Sequence game as well as the iPads and Anniversary gifts and cards. We parked half a block away at a large parkade. As an aside, there was no access to the elevator or stairwell on Saturday so I had to walk all the way around each floor until arriving at my vehicle and thence to pick up my lovely wife at the hotel.

Upon checking in and receiving an explanation of all the facets of the room our stress levels dropped very significantly. My favourite feature of the large penthouse was that the owners thoughtfully included a 1/8-inch plug for easy hookup to your music device's headphone output. There are speakers throughout and we traded off connecting our iPhones to the high end receiver. There are even speakers in the steam room. We grabbed some ice, settled in, poured ourselves some drinks and looked up some local food delivery places. We made use of everything the room had to offer save for the X-Box and piano (it was slightly out of tune but I don't really play keyboards anyway). We absolutely enjoyed the pool table, darts, fireplace and hot tub jacuzzi. We couldn't figure out how to get the waterfall going other than to fill up the tub initially but it was absolutely not a concern. It was too cold outside to enjoy the balconies, one of which has a barbeque. I picked up a few DVDs and we watched one of the romantic ones from the tub. The bed was very comfortable and we both slept like rocks. After my better half crashed I watched "La Dolce Vita" but being it is 3 hours long I had to leave the last hour or so for another time.

Final thoughts: we have travelled extensively and were quite surprised to discover that the best night we have had in years occurred right in our own city. It was absolutely wonderful and a beautiful escape. The staff are nice and cared about our happiness. The decor is perfect. Most importantly, we felt like stars. Where else would you be able to enjoy a large penthouse for $600??? When you have 4 kids and 4 grandkids it is truly wonderful to feel special and devote a whole evening to your spouse. I am smiling just thinking about it I have a feeling we will be enjoying this room again sometime.

Room Tip: Go for the gusto...grab the Jakarta!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowell L, General Manager at Mariaggi's Theme Suites Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Wow. What a concise and wonderful review. From past experiences, 99% of guests have a really great time with us but many of them do not write reviews mainly due to time constraints and other pressing priorities. Your review has really brought a smile to everyone here. We have been providing great escapes for couples for the past thirty years. We love what we do which is one reason we are so passionate at creating authentic theme rooms. Countless hours are spent on design and then many more are spent in developing great service standards to give our guests the best getaway they can get. I am so glad that you saw the value of your stay with us was exceptional. Really hope to see you again soon. Maybe the next time you come you will be able to try our brand new Havana Cuban theme room. It is really shaping up to be an incredible suite!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

Me and my love had such a great night here. The employees were so nice and the rooms where beyond amazing. We choose the china room. The room has a steam shower with stereo inside plus a 2 person hot tub/ jacuzzi plus a sauna. We enjoyed all 3 of them. I highly recommend this hotel for your special night. We will for sure be going back here for our next special occasion.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowell L, General Manager at Mariaggi's Theme Suites Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Thank you for your kind review. The China suite is the only one that has the new infra red sauna. It is so relaxing to use the sauna and then jump into the steam shower. The hot tub in China is extra large and has over 20 jets. Our new Cuba suite will have the same tub along with a few new surprises and it should be ready in a few months. We appreciate your rating us 5 stars in every category. We really try hard to be the best in this industry. There are many very well run properties in the city but we specialize in creating romantic escapes for couples. We have developed a unique getaway hotel for local guests and visitors. Couples need couple time and when you need another great escape you will always be a welcomed friend. Please keep on spreading the word about our hotel. See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mariaggi's Theme Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mariaggi's Theme Suites Hotel

Address: 231 Mc Dermot Avenue, Winnipeg, Manitoba R3B 0S4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Manitoba > Winnipeg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Winnipeg
#2 Romantic Hotel in Winnipeg
#12 Business Hotel in Winnipeg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mariaggi's Theme Suite Hotel and Spa offers our guests a wide range of Romantic getaway suites, scrumptious diners and wonderfull relaxing massage from licensed massage therapists. Our attention to detail in room design far surpasses the standard hotel of the day. Plan your great escape today and Getaway Without Going Away!!!All romantic theme suites have:*Large whirlpool tub.*Steam/shower room with speakers inside the steam room.*50" TV, DVD, 200 Watt Stereo System.*Fireplace.*Romantic Dining for Two.*Small Refridgerator and Microwave.India and Caribbean also have:*Waterfall hot tubs.*Pool Table.China also has:*Infa Red Sauna.*Vichi Tornado Shower.*Multi-jet Hot Tub.Our 3000 sq.ft. Jakarta Tropical Penthouse has:All the above plus...*Baby Grand Piano.*Bar Area.*Dining Area. *Darts and Pool Table. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Mariaggi's Theme Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mariaggi`s Theme Hotel Winnipeg
Mariaggis Theme Hotel
Mariaggi's Theme Suites Hotel Winnipeg, Manitoba

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mariaggi's Theme Suites Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.