We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mariaggi's Theme Suites Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Mariaggi's Theme Suites Hotel to your Saves list
Mariaggi's Theme Suites Hotel
231 Mc Dermot Avenue, Winnipeg, Manitoba R3B 0S4, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
FREE DINNER FOR TWO!!
Ranked #6 of 63 Hotels in Winnipeg
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Birthday Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

I have just spent a evening at the Mariaggi's themed suites hotel in Winnipeg and it was an wonderful experience. My husband rented the Caribbean room for my birthday as a surprise and we had the time of our lives, not only was it beautiful, the staff went above and beyond to make our evening a memorable one, and it was. I would recommend the hotel to anyone who wants a romantic getaway. I am already making plans to revisit the hotel and spend an evening in a different themed room!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowell L, General Manager at Mariaggi's Theme Suites Hotel, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
We specialize in providing great escapes for birthdays, anniversaries, honeymoons and other special occasions. We are pleased to know your birthday getaway in the Caribbean suite was wonderful. The waterfall hot tub is a real hit for guests and the pool table in the suite is a lot of fun too. I will let our staff know how much you appreciated their service. We really focus our efforts into providing the best service for our guests. It is important to have our guests feel extra special when they stay with us. It is good to know that our location, your sleep quality and value was all 5 stars. Even though we are a small boutique hotel we are committed to developing an excellent reputation for excellence in the hotel and spa industry in Winnipeg. We really spend our resources on developing our property with the best equipment, guest services training and promoting our downtown location. Thank you, for your kind review and for recommending our property to your friends and family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    32
    12
    14
    11
See reviews for
2
205
4
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

We stayed in the Morocco suite. It was absolutely beautiful, we felt like we were actually on vacation. Even though we were downtown it was so quiet in the room. The room was clean and smelled amazing. The staff were very helpful and friendly as ever. We really will be coming back and encourage others to go try it out if you are to busy to actually travel!. Great experience.

Room Tip: Empire China is the newest room and it is so COOL!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowell L, General Manager at Mariaggi's Theme Suites Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. Morocco is really a beautiful room. It is one of our waterfall hot tub suites - a feature unique to our hotel only. The tub fills like a waterfall and when you are in the tub you can turn a diverter switch and it flows water through the tub as well as through the tubs jets. We hand carved the wood archway and wainscoting throughout the suite. The palm trees hang over the hot tub and the mirrored glasswork is hand etched with Moroccan scenes. We hope you felt like you were in a Moroccan oasis. I think the marble tile and heated flooring makes the room really comfortable. We are happy to know that you felt like you were really getting away without going away. It is good to know that you felt your stay was exceptional value and that our customer service was much above average. Thanks for telling your friends and family about our hotel we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Mariaggi Theme Suite Hotel and had the most amazing night! The cozy warm environment made us feel comfortable and the rooms had character. You can tell there has been a lot of love in developing the hotel! Parking is a half block away and there Are endless choices for restaurants and shopping in the vicinity! Big thanks to the staff for being excellent hosts and hostesses! We would go back anytime!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowell L, General Manager at Mariaggi's Theme Suites Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you for your review. For the past 30 years we have been providing romantic getaways to couples celebrating special occasions. We have put a lot of effort into creating a comfortable and cozy environment for guests. The suites are designed to make you feel like you are getting away without having to go away. We are pleased to know you found the hotel to be very good value and our guests service exceptional. We are always striving to provide perfect getaways for our guests. We hope to see you soon and appreciate your recommendation to friends and family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

This hotel was unlike one I have ever experienced. We stayed in the Caribbean suite which consisted of your own pool table, a jacuzzi tub with a waterfall and the most fabulous sauna shower, it was actually the best shower I have ever had. Not only was the room fabulous but the staff was amazing. We didn't know our way around winnipeg at all and had to get the big purple bus that we drove from Toronto to a mechanics. Not only did one of the staff let us follow him to the mechanics but also dropped us off at the mall and offered to pick us up when we were done while we waited. You MUST stay here when you Visit the PEG.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowell L, General Manager at Mariaggi's Theme Suites Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
We are so glad we were able to help you get the repairs you needed for your vehicle while traveling through Winnipeg. We have all been in the situation where we are strangers in a city and need a helping hand.
It was nice for you to be able to enjoy the Caribbean suite. All the artwork, statues, carvings and figurines in this suite is from the Caribbean. The waterfall hot tub is really relaxing but I have to agree the steam shower unit is very soothing too. Just what the weary traveler needs!!
We hope to see you again when you come to Winnipeg. Special notes like yours have put a big smile on our staff's faces - thank you for your kind review. We wish you all the best in future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

It was a surprise night for my aniversery and my mouth dropped to the floor. Total surprise and to have something like this in winnipeg. My fiance and I had the carribean room which was beauitful. There was a hotub, steam room, pool table, huge tv, comfy bed. We had dinner amd champaine and dinner was unreal. We both had ribs and pasta and it was delicious. It was a memorable night and the staff was friendly.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowell L, General Manager at Mariaggi's Theme Suites Hotel, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Thank you for your kind response. We often get surprise anniversaries happen at the hotel. It is really fun to walk into a suite and feel like you are getting away from everything. Dinner in the suite is always well received. It is nice to dine privately together in the comfort of your theme suite. The Italian meal with the salad course, pasta course and main meat item is really good value and very tasty. It is really good to know that you enjoyed everything and that you will recommend us to friends and family. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We absolutely loved Mariaggi's Theme Suites Hotel. With such a strong history and amazing rooms I would definitely recommend it to anyone looking for a place to stay in Winnipeg.

We stayed in the Hawaiian room and it had everything we could have wanted including a pool table, huge TV, steam shower and waterfall jacuzzi. The room itself was great but it's the little extras that make it such a comfortable place to stay when travelling, I loved that they provided full size shampoo/conditioner, bubble bath, hair dryer/defuser, etc. After spending a couple of days on the road Mariaggi's was a welcome break that really did make you feel as though you were a million miles away.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowell L, General Manager at Mariaggi's Theme Suites Hotel, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Thank you for your review. Our small family run hotel strives to provide great escapes for exceptional value. We are really happy that we exceeded your expectations during your visit with us. Most of our guests are from Winnipeg and the surrounding area. It is nice to be able to have guests from outside Manitoba stay with us too. Our historic exchange district is a wonderful area to walk around. The turn of the century architecture is really something Winnipeg is proud of. Frank Mariaggi an Italian from Corsica really had a neat vision of building one of the first 5 star European planed hotels in Winnipeg in the early 19th century. Each of his hotel suites had elegant furnishings, electric lights, steam heat and a bathroom with toilet, bathtub and sink. This was the new age of hotels and today many of the features Mariaggi introduced over a hundred years ago are now a standard practice. I like to think that if Mr. Mariaggi were alive today he would be introducing hotel suites like the ones we have. As you know all our suites have the hot tub, steam room with stereo speakers inside, big screen TV with DVD, stereo etc. What we really think is so much more interesting is the theme itself with all the extra little touches and attention to detail. We really enjoyed sharing our "Friendly Manitoba" service with you. We would love to see you again whenever you visit Winnipeg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

After staying at a variety hotels in. Winnipeg mariaggis is my absaloute favorite! The pleasent staff makes sure all your needs are met and always served with a smile making your stay so pleasurable you are sure to stay again. With so many rooms to choose from and with each room designed and decorated to match its theme its as if your actually there! There slogan sure says it   all " get away without going away" so if you want to escape to paradise then this is the hotel thats sure to take u there. Thank you mariaggies for my great escape to china see you all again very soon!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowell L, General Manager at Mariaggi's Theme Suites Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you for your really kind review. To be rated 5 stars in every category is our goal. China is an exceptional suite with artwork and artifacts from China throughout the suite. The equipment in the room is top of the line. The hot tub is huge and very comfortable with the molded seating. The steam room with multi head tornado shower is always a fun unit and the sauna is so relaxing. We are not your standard hotel. It is nice to have guests write back and complement us on outstanding guest service. We are very dedicated to make your stay a fantastic escape from reality. Today everyone is extremely busy with work, social life and family commitments. Mariaggi's was built for guests to enjoy a romantic getaway without going away. A mini vacation right here in the city. Most guests understand what we are doing and have a really great time like yourselves. Your comment mean a lot to us. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mariaggi's Theme Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mariaggi's Theme Suites Hotel

Address: 231 Mc Dermot Avenue, Winnipeg, Manitoba R3B 0S4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Manitoba > Winnipeg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Winnipeg
#3 Romantic Hotel in Winnipeg
#11 Business Hotel in Winnipeg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mariaggi's Theme Suite Hotel and Spa offers our guests a wide range of Romantic getaway suites, scrumptious diners and wonderfull relaxing massage from licensed massage therapists. Our attention to detail in room design far surpasses the standard hotel of the day. Plan your great escape today and Getaway Without Going Away!!!All romantic theme suites have:*Large whirlpool tub.*Steam/shower room with speakers inside the steam room.*50" TV, DVD, 200 Watt Stereo System.*Fireplace.*Romantic Dining for Two.*Small Refridgerator and Microwave.India and Caribbean also have:*Waterfall hot tubs.*Pool Table.China also has:*Infa Red Sauna.*Vichi Tornado Shower.*Multi-jet Hot Tub.Our 3000 sq.ft. Jakarta Tropical Penthouse has:All the above plus...*Baby Grand Piano.*Bar Area.*Dining Area. *Darts and Pool Table. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Mariaggi's Theme Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mariaggi`s Theme Hotel Winnipeg
Mariaggis Theme Hotel
Mariaggi's Theme Suites Hotel Winnipeg, Manitoba

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mariaggi's Theme Suites Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.