We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a fun place to stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mariaggi's Theme Suites Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Mariaggi's Theme Suites Hotel to your Saves list
Mariaggi's Theme Suites Hotel
231 Mc Dermot Avenue, Winnipeg, Manitoba R3B 0S4, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
$50 dinner credit
Ranked #6 of 66 Hotels in Winnipeg
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“Such a fun place to stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We absolutely loved Mariaggi's Theme Suites Hotel. With such a strong history and amazing rooms I would definitely recommend it to anyone looking for a place to stay in Winnipeg.

We stayed in the Hawaiian room and it had everything we could have wanted including a pool table, huge TV, steam shower and waterfall jacuzzi. The room itself was great but it's the little extras that make it such a comfortable place to stay when travelling, I loved that they provided full size shampoo/conditioner, bubble bath, hair dryer/defuser, etc. After spending a couple of days on the road Mariaggi's was a welcome break that really did make you feel as though you were a million miles away.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowell L, General Manager at Mariaggi's Theme Suites Hotel, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Thank you for your review. Our small family run hotel strives to provide great escapes for exceptional value. We are really happy that we exceeded your expectations during your visit with us. Most of our guests are from Winnipeg and the surrounding area. It is nice to be able to have guests from outside Manitoba stay with us too. Our historic exchange district is a wonderful area to walk around. The turn of the century architecture is really something Winnipeg is proud of. Frank Mariaggi an Italian from Corsica really had a neat vision of building one of the first 5 star European planed hotels in Winnipeg in the early 19th century. Each of his hotel suites had elegant furnishings, electric lights, steam heat and a bathroom with toilet, bathtub and sink. This was the new age of hotels and today many of the features Mariaggi introduced over a hundred years ago are now a standard practice. I like to think that if Mr. Mariaggi were alive today he would be introducing hotel suites like the ones we have. As you know all our suites have the hot tub, steam room with stereo speakers inside, big screen TV with DVD, stereo etc. What we really think is so much more interesting is the theme itself with all the extra little touches and attention to detail. We really enjoyed sharing our "Friendly Manitoba" service with you. We would love to see you again whenever you visit Winnipeg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    38
    15
    15
    13
See reviews for
5
236
4
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

After staying at a variety hotels in. Winnipeg mariaggis is my absaloute favorite! The pleasent staff makes sure all your needs are met and always served with a smile making your stay so pleasurable you are sure to stay again. With so many rooms to choose from and with each room designed and decorated to match its theme its as if your actually there! There slogan sure says it   all " get away without going away" so if you want to escape to paradise then this is the hotel thats sure to take u there. Thank you mariaggies for my great escape to china see you all again very soon!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowell L, General Manager at Mariaggi's Theme Suites Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you for your really kind review. To be rated 5 stars in every category is our goal. China is an exceptional suite with artwork and artifacts from China throughout the suite. The equipment in the room is top of the line. The hot tub is huge and very comfortable with the molded seating. The steam room with multi head tornado shower is always a fun unit and the sauna is so relaxing. We are not your standard hotel. It is nice to have guests write back and complement us on outstanding guest service. We are very dedicated to make your stay a fantastic escape from reality. Today everyone is extremely busy with work, social life and family commitments. Mariaggi's was built for guests to enjoy a romantic getaway without going away. A mini vacation right here in the city. Most guests understand what we are doing and have a really great time like yourselves. Your comment mean a lot to us. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

I don't understand how this hotel is rated second best in Winnipeg. Overall the experience is very sleazy. To begin with there is a sandwichboard sign on the sidewalk in front of the hotel which offers rooms for daytime "getaways" of 6 hours or less. Any questions?? We were given the Roman Room which is very small and dark. The owners tried to cram a lot into the small space. The whirlpool tub is surrounded by plastic vines with overhanging vines and plastic grapes. Squeezed between the tub and the bed is a steel cafe table and chairs. I suppose that this is to make you feel like you are in a cafe in the piazza?? The very small bed is pushed up against the wall is old and sags toward the middle. Single pane windows let in a lot of street noise. We didn't meet anyone else in the hotel and there was no noise from other rooms.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowell L, General Manager at Mariaggi's Theme Suites Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
I am sorry to hear that Rome did not meet your expectations. Guests usually really like the large 4'x6' hot tub and the steam room with waterproof speakers inside is pretty luxurious. I do not know of another hotel in Winnipeg that has both these features in a hotel suite. The grape vine canopy hanging over the hot tub area is artificial. However, there are also authentic figurines, art and statutes that represent the country of the theme. These special touches add a three dimensional feel to the suite and is a step above a picture of Rome on the wall and a statue in the corner. The oversized Queen bed in Rome is actually 5-6 inches longer than the standard queen and wider too. Many guests have commented on the comfortable mattress and after inspection I honestly can not see any sagging in the middle. I agree street noise can be a problem for some couples. The suites on the Albert Street side and Arthur Street side are quieter. However, I am happy to hear our soundproofing has been successful between the suites. We actually put two separate walls between rooms and it is nice that you do not have kids and other noise within the hotel disturbing you.

There are two ways guests enjoy a great escape at Mariaggi's. We are know for our romantic overnight escape from the kids, work and regular everyday stress. However, younger couples (myself included) find it difficult to find babysitting overnight and will often come for a day getaway - your choice of 4-6 hours from 10AM-10PM. Day getaways are a fun alternative to staying overnight. A little less costly and couples can still be home in the evening to tuck the kids into bed. I find nothing wrong with promoting this and will continue to do so.

Perhaps the Italian theme of Rome is just not your cup of tea. We do have a variety of other themes - some of which are much larger with oversized King beds and a variety of other amenities. My concern is you just did not find value in your stay. Please call me to discuss further. We would love to see you come back and make an imaginative getaway without having to go away.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

My husband put together a wonderful evening for our first wedding anniversary at the Mariaggi's These Suites Hotel. I was very leery as the internet pics made the rooms look a bit cheesy. He chose the Hawaiian room and it really was fun. We started off with a couples massage that was fabulous. Off to the jacuzzi for 45 minutes; oh so relaxing. Our dinner arrived with a bottle of champagne he special ordered, which the plain back label was decorated with gold print with our name and Happy 1st Anniversary in Hawaii written on it. It really was cute. I must say the dinner was out of this world wonderful. We've eaten at some very fine restaurants, and this surpassed many of them. The rest of night was wonderfully romantic. It really was a fun night.

Room Tip: I'd stay in a room on the next floor up because with the Legion Club right under us, the poundin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowell L, General Manager at Mariaggi's Theme Suites Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Everyone needs to spoil themselves from time to time. We are so glad you decided to do so in our Hawaiian Themed Suite. Our current website is dated but we should have our new one on line in a couple of weeks. Even so the rooms are always better in real life than pictures shown on the net.
Having a couples massage is so relaxing. It really puts the icing on the cake. Many guests love to dine in the atmosphere of the suite and we are really happy that you loved the Italian tastes we presented.
I am sorry to hear the music in the Legion below was disturbing you. Had we known we could have asked them to tone it down or even moved you to a different suite. Although that is tough sometime when you are cocooned in Hawaii.
I am glad you found good value in your stay and will recommend to friends and family. Our small boutique property really relies on positive reviews. We hope you come back to the new Cuba Havana suite scheduled to open in the late fall (waterfall hot tub, pool table, private 300 sq.ft. deck etc..). Fun, fun, fun!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winnipeg
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

we recently stayed at mariaggis, we booked the china suite which is one of the newest suites. this room is amazing! top of the line equipment like two person shower, also the hot tub and a sauna!!! we had the dinner as well which was excellent as always. me and my husband enjoy going to mariaggi's it's quite and romantic. this was our third time staying with them as we try to make it our yearly getaway! we have also stayed in the Caribbean room and the India room as well. best place in winnipeg hands down and we plan on eventually enjoying all there rooms. you guys are great!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowell L, General Manager at Mariaggi's Theme Suites Hotel, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Thank you for your review. It is so nice to have guests return for another great escape. China really is a great design. Not only does it have the infra red sauna but the new tornado steam and shower unit is really fun. Guests always comment that they need to get one of these in their homes!! China's multi-jet hot tub is very luxurious yet the waterfall hot tubs in India, Caribbean, Jakarta and Morocco offer a really unique experience too. We are pleased that you found our hotel experience excellent in all categories including value, cleanliness, location and service. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

My wife and I decided to take advantage of a deal offered through a Doors Open Winnipeg tour in celebration of a birthday and anniversary 3 years ago. We do not expend much time on entertainment and I was somewhat sceptical. It was fun and at the same time romantic. It has certanly ranked as a special memory for the two of us and we would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowell L, General Manager at Mariaggi's Theme Suites Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you had a chance to stay with us in Rome. The grape vine canopy hanging over the hot tub allows guests to make believe they are in a Roman Garden. I find the cloth canopy hanging over the bed area is very romantic. We are glad that you ranked the rooms 5 stars. As well, it is good to know that our cleanliness, and the sleep quality was a top ranking too. We are happy to hear that we exceeded your expectations and that you will highly recommend us to friends and family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

All in all we enjoyed our very first and last stay. Arriving we picked some movies and got our things in to the room. Our room looked pretty and we were pleased with the decor.
We left and returned later to what can only be assumed was a low budget porn going on next door.
I was greeted by some over weight middle aged creepy man telling me to come on in to his room. We just went to our door and went inside. Through out the night we seen many people, cameras, and lingerie because they would leave their door open constantly.
For the price we dished out I wasn't expecting such shady and skeevy atmosphere.
On top of that there was a glob of feces....yes feces on the bathroom floor in our room. Talk about a mood killer.
On top of that the movies we chose were empty. A bin of empty DVDs left in our room.
What should of been a beautiful romantic night to celebrate my husbands birthday turned in to a dirty experience.
Needless to say we will not be using the 50$ coupon for another visit.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowell L, General Manager at Mariaggi's Theme Suites Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
I am sorry to hear that a neighboring room was disturbing you. It is unfortunate that you did not call or let management know of the problem until now. We could have most certainly rectified the situation. Cleanliness is usually of the highest standard at our hotel. Again I appologize for the overlooked problem and will address it with our housekeeping staff. For the past 30 years our hotel has been providing romantic escapes to couples. We have had all kinds of couples stay with us - from young newly weds to those celebrating 65th anniversaries. Honeymoons, birthday celebrations and anniversaries are regular occurances. We have had the very wealthy to the university student on a small budget stay. Most of our guests want to come and enjoy some alone time and reconnect with one another in a lovely romantic atmosphere. Every now and then we encounter an unusual situation that we rectify immediately once we know about it. We have had hundreds of satisfied couples stay and many of them have given us very good reviews. Please call me anytime to discuss your stay in more detail.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winnipeg hotels
Downtown Winnipeg
Mere Hotel
Mere Hotel
#3 of 66 in Winnipeg
4.5 of 5 stars 205 reviews
Downtown Winnipeg
Inn at the Forks
Inn at the Forks
#10 of 66 in Winnipeg
4.5 of 5 stars 450 reviews
Downtown Winnipeg
Fort Garry Hotel
Fort Garry Hotel
#20 of 66 in Winnipeg
4.0 of 5 stars 710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Winnipeg
Clarion Hotel Winnipeg
Clarion Hotel Winnipeg
#19 of 66 in Winnipeg
4.0 of 5 stars 295 reviews
Downtown Winnipeg
The Fairmont Winnipeg
The Fairmont Winnipeg
#12 of 66 in Winnipeg
4.0 of 5 stars 494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mariaggi's Theme Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mariaggi's Theme Suites Hotel

Address: 231 Mc Dermot Avenue, Winnipeg, Manitoba R3B 0S4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Manitoba > Winnipeg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Winnipeg
#1 Spa Hotel in Winnipeg
#25 Business Hotel in Winnipeg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mariaggi's Theme Suite Hotel and Spa offers our guests a wide range of Romantic getaway suites, scrumptious diners and wonderfull relaxing massage from licensed massage therapists. Our attention to detail in room design far surpasses the standard hotel of the day. Plan your great escape today and Getaway Without Going Away!!!All romantic theme suites have:*Large whirlpool tub.*Steam/shower room with speakers inside the steam room.*50" TV, DVD, 200 Watt Stereo System.*Fireplace.*Romantic Dining for Two.*Small Refridgerator and Microwave.India and Caribbean also have:*Waterfall hot tubs.*Pool Table.China also has:*Infa Red Sauna.*Vichi Tornado Shower.*Multi-jet Hot Tub.Our 3000 sq.ft. Jakarta Tropical Penthouse has:All the above plus...*Baby Grand Piano.*Bar Area.*Dining Area. *Darts and Pool Table. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Mariaggi's Theme Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mariaggi`s Theme Hotel Winnipeg
Mariaggis Theme Hotel
Mariaggi's Theme Suites Hotel Winnipeg, Manitoba

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mariaggi's Theme Suites Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.