We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprised and mind blowing.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mariaggi's Theme Suites Hotel

Save Saved
You added Mariaggi's Theme Suites Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mariaggi's Theme Suites Hotel
231 Mc Dermot Avenue, Winnipeg, Manitoba R3B 0S4, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
FREE DINNER FOR TWO!!
Ranked #9 of 63 hotels in Winnipeg
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Surprised and mind blowing.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is like a diamond in the rough the outside doesn't look like the all mighty delta or Hilton but upon entry you wil find yourself more surprised then ever before. These rooms are exscusit and breath taking. You feel glamorous just being a guest there. Highly highly recommended!!!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowell L, General Manager at Mariaggi's Theme Suites Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. Many people are suprised when they walk through the doors on McDermot Ave. Most high quality hotels have wonderful entrance ways and glamorous reception areas. Nothing in Winnipeg really compares to those lobbies of some of the five star hotels in Vegas, Mexico and Hawaii etc. However, even in many of these fine hotels, when you enter the rooms, I find them to be very stail in comparison to the lobby. Our lobby is quaint and the 600 sq.ft. deck off the lobby offers guests a nice relaxing area. However, where we have spent our efforts is in the design of the rooms. I am pleased that you have noticed the wonderful environment we have created. There is no typical hotel furniture in any of our theme suites. All suites have authentic furnishings, art work, and artifacts that represent the country of the theme and they all have hot tubs, steam showers and firplaces. As a smaller boutique property we are able to pay close attention to details. Customer service, cleanliness and providing exceptional value to guests are extremely important to us. I hope to see you again soon and hope comments such as yours inspire others to experience a getaway with us too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    187
    30
    12
    14
    10
See reviews for
2
193
4
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

What a fun way to spend a weekend away, take advantage of all the great space and relax! Lo ated in central downtown Winnipeg so your close to everything, can't wait to go back! Look for coupons as they often have great specials going on!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowell L, General Manager at Mariaggi's Theme Suites Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you for your review. It is great when you have a chance to escape from everyday life and do "something a little different". Today with all the challenges we face at work and raising a family we find couples really need a great escape. We are so glad your stay was relaxing and comfortable. We put alot of work into creating a wonderful environment in each of our theme suites and it is nice to hear you saw really good value in coming here. Being located in the heart of downtown's Historic Exchange District - The Old Market Square is really nice for couples who love turn of the century architecture. The exchange district has a bunch of one of a kind shops, boutiques, eateries and night life - it is encouraging for us to know that you appreciated the central location. Customer service, cleanliness and room upkeep is very important to us and we are thankful that you noticed much above average attention in these categories. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arborg, Manitoba, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

we stayed here for one unforgettable night in the Morocco Suite the experience was great. We had been thinking of going to place just for a getaway but we wanted something unique, We called Mariaggi's to find if there was anything available and we talked to Lowell as he picked up the phone, he was one of the nicest people and told us everything we needed to know and kindly answered all of our questions. When we got there the experience only got better as we waited for our room to get the final touches done (candles lit and our choice of movies and music) Lowell was nice enough to tell us a brief history of the hotel and showed us the wall of amazing people that have once stayed there which in my eyes made the stay an even better experience. When we got to our room it was almost overwhelming how it takes you away to the place that the theme was about the colours, the lighting, tile work and even the awning style ceiling screamed Morocco even the soothing music playing on the stereo. The rest of the evening was a relaxing get away from all of the world when you get to sit in a jacuzzi tub with a water fall while you listen to some music that you have got or something that you have brought yourself, or when you are standing in the steaming shower as the music is playing threw the speakers in the showers. All in all it was a great time we enjoyed ourself very much and thank Lowell for showing us great hospitality and kindness and we will be recommending Mariaggi's to anyone looking to get away from the regular themed hotels that just plaster some cheezy wallpaper up and throw a few tiki leaves over a small jetted tub.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowell L, General Manager at Mariaggi's Theme Suites Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. We are so happy to know that you enjoyed your getaway with us. It is good to know you enjoyed the history tour of the hotel. Frank Mariaggi was quite a visionary when he developed the building 100 years ago. His hotel boasted to have the longest bar in the west and a 8,000 sq.ft. dining room with private dining groto's in the basement. His suites were among the first in Canada to each have a private bath complete with toilet, bath and sink. Today I would like to think we are once again setting a new standard for hotel getaway suites. The hot tub in Morocco waterfalls into the tub, the steam room is spacious and the big 50" TV swivels so that you can watch a movie while lounging in the waterfall. We are so glad you thought our hotel to be a great value, exceptionally clean and had exemplary service. Every now and then we get some negative reviews. Thank goodness these are the exception to the rule. We hope to continue developing the hotel into a world class property - one that all Winnipegers can be proud of. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

stayed here as a couples night , was as fantastic experience. feels like youre on a vacation , right in the heart of winnipeg's own downtown. this backyard wonder should become more of a hosuehold name, as the experience was amazing. friendly staff, quiet environment, very comfortable and private. wouldn't even think of going anywhere else again, for that relaxing, comfy experience.

Room Tip: Roman room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowell L, General Manager at Mariaggi's Theme Suites Hotel, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. We put so much of ourselves into providing an environment for couples to enjoy. It is so rewarding when we get reviews like yours. I often comment that our theme rooms really make you feel like you are on a romantic vacation. The lava rock that surrounds the hot tub in Hawaii allows couples to feel like they are sitting in a volcano. The artwork, figurines, statues and even the flooring and wall covering in the suite are authentic to the country theme. We are so glad you appreciated our customer service, cleanliness, comfortable beds and saw great value too. We look forward to seeing you the next time you need a great escape.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

My huband and I stayed in the "Jakarta" suite and it was absolutely amazing. We did not have one complaint!. It was exquisitly decorated and very clean .. all the staff were exceptionally kind and ready to help with anything!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowell L, General Manager at Mariaggi's Theme Suites Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed a great escape with us. Couples are so busy today. When they have a chance to get away it is important that they are treated extra special. Jakarta is one of those magical suites that take you away from reality. We are pleased that you saw great value with your stay. I will pass on to the cleaning and maintenance staff that the suite was exceptionally maintained and clean. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
las vegas
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Stayed for a couples night - get away from kids.
room looked cheap- used worn out, staff wasn't there and when i did get them they were rude.
food was expensive and just bad
wouldnt go back.
no parking, parked 5 blocks away - dvd skipped(wow what a joke)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowell L, General Manager at Mariaggi's Theme Suites Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Wow. I do not know if you are talking about the same hotel as ours. I do not know which theme suite you stayed in and what date you stayed. I went back through the registry to find guests from Las Vegas and I honestly could not find anyone. Obviously something went wrong but this is really puzzling. Our rooms are very well kept up. We are constantly maintaining the property. Customer service is normally raved about. Parking is just down the street from our historic property. Please call me anytime to discuss your stay. I would sincerely like to get to the bottom of your complaint.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We just spent a wonderful evening having quality time kicking back in the spectacular atmosphere at the Mariaggi"s Theme Hotel at the Moracco room! Having a wonderful dinner with access to a wide selection of music & dvd's in the privacy of the room was great! No distractions or loud noises , just soaking up the amazing decor which transforms you into a "different world" for a great experence! How easy & simple to plan ! Will definitely come back! Very Friendly & helpful staff !

Room Tip: Loved the Morrocco room! Beautifully decorated room as "totally transforms the atmosphere&qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowell L, General Manager at Mariaggi's Theme Suites Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thanks for your review. Morocco is one of our waterfall hot tub suites. Guests love to lounge in the tub and hit the waterfall switch. Water cascades into the tub and recirculates through the jets. It is alot of fun. We are happy to hear you enjoyed the dinner that we served. Dining in suite is a real good idea. We charge $75 per couple and the Italian multi course dinner is plentiful and delicious and you do not have to share a crowded dining room with anyone! We are so happy you rated everything 5 stars. This is what we strive for with every guest. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mariaggi's Theme Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mariaggi's Theme Suites Hotel

Address: 231 Mc Dermot Avenue, Winnipeg, Manitoba R3B 0S4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Manitoba > Winnipeg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Winnipeg
#3 Romantic Hotel in Winnipeg
#16 Business Hotel in Winnipeg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mariaggi's Theme Suite Hotel and Spa offers our guests a wide range of Romantic getaway suites, scrumptious diners and wonderfull relaxing massage from licensed massage therapists. Our attention to detail in room design far surpasses the standard hotel of the day. Plan your great escape today and Getaway Without Going Away!!!All romantic theme suites have:*Large whirlpool tub.*Steam/shower room with speakers inside the steam room.*50" TV, DVD, 200 Watt Stereo System.*Fireplace.*Romantic Dining for Two.*Small Refridgerator and Microwave.India and Caribbean also have:*Waterfall hot tubs.*Pool Table.China also has:*Infa Red Sauna.*Vichi Tornado Shower.*Multi-jet Hot Tub.Our 3000 sq.ft. Jakarta Tropical Penthouse has:All the above plus...*Baby Grand Piano.*Bar Area.*Dining Area. *Darts and Pool Table. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Mariaggi's Theme Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mariaggi`s Theme Hotel Winnipeg
Mariaggis Theme Hotel
Mariaggi's Theme Suites Hotel Winnipeg, Manitoba

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mariaggi's Theme Suites Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.