We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mere Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Mere Hotel to your Saves list
Mere Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   333 Waterfront Drive | R3B0V1, Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada (Downtown Winnipeg)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Bed & Breakfast Package
Ranked #4 of 63 Hotels in Winnipeg
Brandon, Canada
1 review
“Incredible Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Had a great stay here, unfortunately only for one night. The room was minimalist, modern and clean. The bed was very comfortable. Only issue was trying to call down to the restaurant for breakfast. Ended up going elsewhere to eat. Every thing else was great.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    48
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
53
7
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

Comfortable spacious well planned.

A few small tweaks needed for female travellers. Bathroom needs place to put cosmetics and toiletries. Magnifying lit cosmetic mirror but poorly placed. Rain shower but no shower cap to protect your salon styled hair.

Glass walled bathroom has a "modesty shade" that is entirely see through.

Bathrobe is ratty and polyester.

Otherwise a telus comfortable room with great linens and products. Comfortable beds, lots of outlets and conveniences.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

We decided to try this new hotel in Winnipeg's Exchange district as it was conveniently located and had good initial reviews. We were not disappointed, in fact the Exchange area is developing into a very nice district with new and very good restaurants, and is within walking district to downtown and the Forks. The adjoining restaurant is not to be missed either inside the hotel or on the spacious terrace.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fargo, North Dakota
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

I chose the Mere Hotel for a recent trip to Winnipeg for a short getaway. The hotel is situated about a 15-20 minute walk away from many Winnipeg attractions including the Forks, Shaw stadium, the Manitoba Museum to name a few. It is right on the Red River and the view from my room was serene, beautiful. In addition, there is a large park next to the park which is very nice and connects the hotel to the Forks area. On one of the days that we were there, Shaw stadium had fireworks which we could see from our room. Breathtaking. Our room, rm 222 did not have "bars" over the window.

The entire room was superbly clean and decorated. I couldn't have been more pleased with the comfortable beds. The room size was also very nice. Some comments have mentioned the bathroom, which has a window to the room and also faces the window to the room. This did not bother me as the window also has a very thick shade for privacy.

We had really nice service from a few of the desk people who recommended restaurants, events, venues, etc. You could really get a sense of the city from them. They also have menus for several of the restaurants in the area.

One problem with the room was the noise, not from adjoining rooms but the hallway. The doors shut heavily so every door being shut is heard in your room. The housekeepers start early in the morning. We were awakened by their general noise the first morning of our stay, but after calling the front desk, we had no additional issues. In addition, our room on the second floor was right next to the ice maker which is used by staff members EVERY morning. I would imagine that you would hear this in several of the rooms. My personal opinion is that something should be done to make the doors shut more quietly and the ice maker me moved to another location.

So, overall, the service and decor of the rooms are very nice. The quality of the housekeeping is SUPERB which is really important in a hotel. What I liked about the location is that it is not immediately next to some attractions but close.

Room Tip: Ask for a room without the bars from the exterior of the building. The view is breathtaking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

Enjoyed visit and hotel was all that I expected. First trip to Winnipeg and wasn't sure what I would get but was pleasantly surprised. Appreciated the room amenities. Appreciated that the hotel was close to town as well as close to the ball park and greenway along the river.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minot, North Dakota
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

This was my first time traveling to Winnipeg, and I chose this hotel based on TripAdvisor reviews. My friend and I stayed in a double queen suite. Overall a nice stay, but wasn't WOW'd like I wanted to be. Besides some food/beverages, there's no amenities or extras that they give you. I appreciate minimalist and modern, but this almost had no personality... Just average overall.

Pros:
The location is nice - located in a park and right on the river.
Great bathroom with a fun glass wall.
Double room had a great view of the river.
Staff was overall friendly.
Complimentary water, juice, and Cliff bars in the rooms.

Cons:
If you're in any room besides the doubles, you'll have a great view of the bars that cover the exterior of the hotel.
The only ice machine they have is on the second floor, so you have to walk and take the elevator to get to it if you need anything.
Not really a fun part of town. Next time I'll stay by the Forks.
Tiny little parking lot that you need to pay for.
Elevator brought us to the basement on accident a few times where we were greeted by a team of housekeepers looking surprised we were there (I'm assuming they pressed a call button?)- makes you feel a little awkward and unwelcome.

Room Tip: Get a double riverfront room if you don't want to look at bars on your windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

Mere was a really nice hotel. There was no noise transfer into my room from the corridor or other rooms. Cleanest hotel I've ever been in. Modern, minimalist decor. The bathroom was just "wow". All glass (including the wall - but with a pull down blind) and a spa like shower. Obviuosly NOT appropriate for families - but great for couples and business travellers.

Room had everything I needed. Hotel is surrounded by a park, with a river on one side (a murky, muddy river - but that's the river's fault). It's in the city center though - so close to everything. Dining on the weekends was a bit scant - as the city center is a ghost town with cars and not much else. It's a small center though - so we drove only a short way to restaurants.

Came on business and would stay here again.

Room Tip: If you choose a room facing the street, you'll need to close the curtains (and it's a bit da...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mere Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mere Hotel

Address: 333 Waterfront Drive | R3B0V1, Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Manitoba > Winnipeg > Downtown Winnipeg
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 63 Hotels in Winnipeg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mere Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Mere Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mere Hotel Winnipeg, Manitoba

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mere Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.