We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recommend” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge Winnipeg South

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Econo Lodge Winnipeg South to your Saves list
Econo Lodge Winnipeg South
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1105 St Mary's Road, Winnipeg, Manitoba R3M 3T6, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2x Earn Free Night
Ranked #31 of 66 Hotels in Winnipeg
winnipeg
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Highly Recommend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014 via mobile

If you are looking for good value and excellent service with no frills I would recommend this hotel. I have stayed here on three different occasions and the results have been consistent. The one consideration is the parking at night as the hotel is located in a mini mall with a pub. So you may have to wait 10 minutes to get parking depending on your arrival tome in the evening.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff R, General Manager at Econo Lodge Winnipeg South, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay. We appreciate the feedback very much. Our staff works hard to ensure our guests have a great time. Our parking lot can be challenging at time, please remember to see our front desk staff for recomendations on where to park; we have a few spots we reserve just for guests and they can also refer you to the overflow lot if necessary. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    11
    2
    2
    2
See reviews for
10
9
5
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

There are a lot of Pros here:
Excellent location:
5 mins from St. Vital mall, restaurants (moxies,boston pizza, original joes)
15 mins from Forks Market.
Friendly front desk staff
Quiet rooms even when the attached pub is busy.
Very comfy beds
Good sized rooms
Good price

Cons:
The hotel staff never cleaned our room. We left at around 1pm turned the sign to clean the cleaning staff was in the hall and saw us leave. We came back several hours later it was after 1am and the housekeeping tag was right where we left it but no clean room. We were very tired our check out was the next morning anyway so we called down for towels and called it a night.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff R, General Manager at Econo Lodge Winnipeg South, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate the feedback. I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. You mentioned that you placed a sign on your door when you left your room for the day. This would have been our hotel's Do Not Disurb sign which would be an indicator to our housekeeping department that you did not want any one to enter your room. I apologize for the confusion and am happy to hear our front desk staff were able to assist you with some clean towels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WInnipeg
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014 via mobile

It looks like new inside and the staff was very friendly. Plus their beds are sooo comfy. :) The location is perfect is central St. Vital and close the mall. I recommend this hotel for business travellers and families. Great value.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff R, General Manager at Econo Lodge Winnipeg South, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Thank you for the kind words about our hotel. Our team is happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. Our hotel has gone though major renovations and our guests are enjoying the newly renovated rooms and great beds. Getting a good nights sleep is so important when travelling and we are happy to hear you enjoyed the bed. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, SD
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

My friends and I went up to Winnipeg for the weekend. The concierges Isobella and Andrejs were very helpful in where to go and how to get there. The rooms were very nice and the maids seemed to be always making sure everything was nice and clean. The pub next door, Tapp's, was also great and filled with amazing servers.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff R, General Manager at Econo Lodge Winnipeg South, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. Andrejs and Isobella are great assets to our team and they will be happy to see your review acknowledging their hard work. We are lucky to have them as part of our team. Tapps' is a great pub and very popular with locals and visitors to our city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Ontario
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

Yes, some of the other reviewers would echo our concerns. The young man who greeted us, was marvelous. Andreja, was the concierge, who greeted us. We were told that if it is a two storey, Manitoba will not allow an elevator, so if you have mobility issues, this is not a place to go. The other joyful news we got was that 8 a.m. the water was to be shut off. Then it was changed to 9 a.m. and check-out is 11. My friend who had booked the accommodation got an e-mail, advising that they were cancelling our reservation (we had already booked in). We were three women and a dog. However, the young man at the desk (they are truly blessed to have him) found two other young men with muscle to help us with our bags, he helped at the breakfast area in the morning and helped us figure out how to get out of Winnipeg and back on the road. If you are on a road trip, find a hotel closer to the highway. Winnipeg, I found was a confusing city to get around. Lot's of poverty in the downtown core. Sad to see.

Room Tip: Get a room close to the stairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff R, General Manager at Econo Lodge Winnipeg South, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. You were with us on a very challenging weekend! A water main break on the street behind the hotel resulted in the City of Winnipeg turning off the hotel's water supply periodically throughout the weekend causing inconveniences to our guests for which we sincerely aplogize. I am happy to hear that Andrejs was able to assist you during your stay. We have a great team here at the Econolodge Winnipeg South. The hotel is located in a newly renovated, older building that does not have an elevator. We do our best to advise our guests of this when they are making their reservation. We hope you enjoyed the remainder of your road trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

I was surprised when we drove up to this hotel to find it in the top floor of a strip mall. Their was no elevator to move our bags up to the second story. The room smelled somewhat smokey, which surprised me considering it is a non-smoking hotel. I went to open the window to air it out only to find that directly below our window was a bar's patio full of smokers. As we went to get ready for bed the bar started becoming very popular, with two bouncers outside. There was no way I was getting any sleep above a bar and packed patio full of rowdy drunk patrons. I went downstairs to ask if we could move rooms. Unfortunately their were no other available rooms with two beds (which we required). Their were 6 or so empty rooms with just one king bed, and after half an hour of waiting while the manager ran around and consulted with other employees, we were told that she was not willing to provide us with two rooms (in-order to get the two separate beds we required). I was told that we would have to remain in our original room, and that if we waited until about 1am that the patio and bar would quiet down, and they would offer us a meagre 15% discount. If you want to stay in a hotel above a popular bar that sounds like a frat house, then by all means, book at this hotel. If you are looking for a restful sleep, I recommend you look elsewhere.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff R, General Manager at Econo Lodge Winnipeg South, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay. The hotel is located in a newly renovated but older building which does present some limitations at times. On busier weekends the rooms over the pub are utilized and can be nosier than some of the other rooms. On the weekend you were with us we were unfortunately sold out of the rooms with two queen beds and could only offer to accommodate you in the room with the king bed and sofa sleeper. Your reservation shows that you were checked in with a discounted rate and that an additional 15% discount was applied at check out time. Please accept our sincere apologies for your inconvenience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

Very disappointed. Called and booked reservations two weeks in advance showed up and the claimed they don't have a reservation under our name. Then proceed to charge us a higher rate. We were very pleased with the room but when we left for dinner and returned there was no place left to park. We waited and circled the parking lot for many laps. Finally we got a parking spot. Also the concierge was very unhelpful and not very courteous about finding our "missing" reservation. I question his ability to use a computer.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff R, General Manager at Econo Lodge Winnipeg South, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am sorry to hear you had difficulty locating your reservation but understand that the issue was resolved when it was discovered you had made your reservation at another EconoLodge location in Winnipeg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winnipeg hotels
1.6 mi away
Travelodge Winnipeg East
Travelodge Winnipeg East
#38 of 66 in Winnipeg
4.0 of 5 stars 406 reviews
1.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Pembina Inn & Suites
4.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Winnipeg South
Comfort Inn Winnipeg South
#29 of 66 in Winnipeg
4.0 of 5 stars 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#37 of 66 in Winnipeg
4.0 of 5 stars 179 reviews
1.9 mi away
Express By Canad Inns - Fort Garry
3.3 mi away
Queen Bee Hotel
Queen Bee Hotel
#32 of 66 in Winnipeg
4.0 of 5 stars 19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Winnipeg South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Winnipeg South

Address: 1105 St Mary's Road, Winnipeg, Manitoba R3M 3T6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Manitoba > Winnipeg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 66 Hotels in Winnipeg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Winnipeg South 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly-renovated Econo Lodge® in Winnipeg, MB offers easy access to the St. Vital Shopping Centre, Riel House National Historic Site and Osborne Village. This Winnipeg, Manitoba hotel is also convenient to Investors Group Field – home of the Winnipeg Blue Bombers and Manitoba Bisons – and The Forks Market, which includes unique shops, dining, the Winnipeg Goldeyes, the Children's Museum and the recently constructed Human Rights Museum.Guests of the Econo Lodge hotel will appreciate comfortable interior corridors that provide safe and easy room access. Enjoy our full service restaurant or stop by next door at Tapp's Neighbourhood Pub, "Where your game is always on!” Other amenities include:•Free continental breakfast•Free wireless high-speed Internet access •Business Center All guest rooms offer a flat-screen television with cable, a desk, coffee maker, refrigerator, microwave, hair dryer and alarm clock. Some rooms feature kitchen facilities and a sofa sleeper.This is a pet-friendly hotel, with four-legged friends allowed to stay for a fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Econo Lodge Winnipeg South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Winnipeg South Manitoba

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge Winnipeg South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.