We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not hesitate to stay here...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Chaumiere du Village B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Winnipeg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Chaumiere du Village B&B
Save
You added La Chaumiere du Village B&B to your Saves list
611 Wardlaw Avenue, Winnipeg, Manitoba R3L 0M3, Canada (Mcmillan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 17 Winnipeg B&B and Inns
Devon
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Do not hesitate to stay here...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We stayed for 3 nights on our way across Canada on a family heritage trail. My wife`s mother was brought up in Winnipeg and this was our first visit. Bruce and Celine run a delightful b&b and we were made very welcome. Someone else has said how well the house is set up so that you have excellent privacy and access to the guest kitchen and living areas. We were out most of the days and it was great to get back to the comfortable accommodation, so sell located for us. The breakfast is divine with a varied choice and we thought the rates very reasonable.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
5
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We just spent 3 nights here, and had such a lovely experience. Céline and Bruce were very kind, accommodating and gave us absolute privacy. The way the house is set up is really fantastic, with full access to our own kitchen, living room and dining area, so we could also keep some food and wine of our own fresh.
Breakfasts are pre-made the night before so there is no need to wake early, but at your leisure. The food was absolutely delicious, every day something new. Ham, cheese and onion omelette? Homemade waffles? Hard-boiled eggs, tomatoes and grapefruit with a homemade almond croissant on the side? And great coffee or tea options, including a French Press so you don't have to make a whole pot.
Totally spotlessly clean, quiet and cozy. The only thing to suggest would be some fluffier pillows! But the bed was terrific - we stayed in the Red Room and liked our stay so much we added on one extra night!
Considering here are other B&Bs in the city who charge a lot more and provide/care a lot less, this is far and away the loveliest B&BS experience I have had. Bruce and Céline do it right, definitely check it out for yourself!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limoges, France
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

I had the chance to stay one week at this B&B and had a wonderful time there. Though my stay was in cold december Bruce and Celine made sure I had a warm stay in Winnipeg. Everything is cosy, very clean and the breakfast was my favorite part of the day : every morning you are sure to get new and different fresh bakeries/fruits. This is very spacious and cosy at the same time, you are sure to really feel at home. The location is very nice, in Osborne village you are close to everything you need and parking at night is very convenient. Beside that, Bruce ad Celine are very welcoming and always helpful to share stories and nice talks with you. I will keep really good memories from my stay and when I am back in town I will make sure to come back again!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

We had the privilege to stay at this B&B for week. This is not your ordinary B&B!! from the first second we arrived, Bruce and Celine gave us the feeling as if we are family coming for a visit. They made us feel so welcomed and showed us what great people they are by taking care of everything we needed. The breakfasts are amazing, each morning starts with something new. The place is VERY clean, and you can see in every corner the personal touch and thought that was invested in the place, from the hearts of the owners.
Bruce and Celine - we cant thank you enough for the warm feeling and hospitality that you gave us, which was much more than just a bed and a breakfast...!!! We really enjoyed
being your guests, and getting to know you for a brief moment in our life.
Tomer & Oshrit.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raymond, Minnesota, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

We stayed here the end of Oct/early Nov for 4 nights. Hosts are gracious and checked in with us I each day to hear what we had done and see what our plans were for the next day. Great location with a multitude and variety of restaurants in easy walking distance, so we did not drive at all in the evenings. We would certainly stay here again.

Loved being able to have breakfast at whatever time suited us rather than it only being available between certain hours.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Green room which is the one right next to the shared bath/shower. If you were a li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the B&B for 12 days. Céline and Bruce are really great. We immediately received a great welcome. Tey offer everything you need (nice room, quality bed, great comfort,
library with big TV-screen, laundry service, great kitchen very everything is at your disposal the
whole day long. Unique breakfast experiences, changing every day. Prices are very competitive.They really love what they are doing. She is french speaking and he is english speaking. They gave us a lot of information about the city and live her. We love the city too. We definitely started our immigration process and are going to live in Winnipeg by the next Summer.
I think you can't find better for that price in whole Canada.

Room Tip: Best value in Winnipeg!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

This is not your typical B&B, it is more like staying at a magical apartment where a delicious breakfast appears each morning, everything is amazingly clean, and all the things you need to feel comfortable and at ease are at hand. Celine and Bruce are wonderful hosts who respect the privacy of their guests yet manage to make them feel welcome at every turn. In addition to the lovely space and food they offer a well equipped kitchen and laundry facilities for their guests. Traveling as a family, this was the easiest B&B experience I have ever had. We were able to make our own dinners, accommodate our 3 year old's desires for midnight snacks, and even manage the extra laundry that comes from traveling with kids. The room was well thought out for a family and the additional communal spaces of kitchen, living room and outdoor seating were inviting and quiet. I will definitely stay here again and highly recommend it to anyone who is looking for comfortable, affordable accommodations in Winnipeg.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Chaumiere du Village B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Chaumiere du Village B&B

Address: 611 Wardlaw Avenue, Winnipeg, Manitoba R3L 0M3, Canada
Location: Canada > Manitoba > Winnipeg > Mcmillan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Winnipeg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming, comfortable and elegant century two-storey house situated at the corner of Wellington Crescent and Wardlaw Ave, in the heart of Osborne Village, voted Canada's best neighborhood. Walking distance from attractions, business, shopping, downtown and Corydon Avenue, which offer specialty shopping, and a variety of the best restaurants in town. Three quaint and large bedrooms plus a useful tiny one, two original bathrooms, one on the second floor and one more private in the basement, a comfortable living room with a big screen TV and a nice kitchen for your convenience. It is also possible to rent the house for a short time. Other features include wireless Internet, central air conditioning, robes, hair dryer, laundry room and iron board. An outside sitting area is also available. While traveling, if you like to feel at home away from home, La Chaumière du Village Bed and Breakfast is the perfect place for you. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Chaumiere Du Village B&B Winnipeg, Manitoba

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Chaumiere du Village B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.