We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a pleasant surprise to find this gem tucked inside the old St B.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Purple Hibiscus

Purple Hibiscus
171 Dumoulin St, Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 1,335 restaurants in Winnipeg
Cuisines: Caribbean
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Winnipeg, Canada
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“What a pleasant surprise to find this gem tucked inside the old St B.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013 via mobile

Tiny little diner with only 6 tables.

Have been here several times now and have not been disappointed. Great jerk chicken and jerk pork. The pulled pork was really tasty if somewhat sweet for my taste. The cassava fries with the garlic sauce are worth having even of your on the strictest diet.

Looking forward to trying it the rest of the menu.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

94% Recommend
    12
    4
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Jerk Ribs - wow were they hot!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Our foodies group visited this place twice though I only attended the last visit. Wonderful ribs, great presentation and awesome service. Hidden gem in St. Boniface. I will definitely come again. Nice to see an woman cooking - go girl!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Caribbean Theme”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We enjoyed dining at the Purple Hibiscus this summer. It was nice to sit on the outdoor patio on a hot day. We had the rib special and it came with a nice variety of Caribbean veggies. The service was attentive. A nice addition to the St. Boniface restaurant scene.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Come to the Caribbean!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

The foodies were booked here in August and the proud owner (Avee) made sure our foodie experience would be one of a kind, and it was! She had prepared a special menu for us, as well as her regular menu, and she was kind enough to let us sample free morsels from her kitchen.

Avee is truly a culinary artist and I must say this the best Caribbean food I have ever had! I had a double to start, and then, melt in your mouth pork ribs with all the fixings. Others had jerk chicken (you can ask for less spicy), beef roti, goat curry and more... all of it was delicious. The flavours were unique and amazing, and you can really tell she puts her whole heart into her cooking. This place is a little hole in the wall attached to Club St. B, but none of that will matter once you start eating.

Once we were in the middle of our feast, I wanted to compliment her and asked her to step out of her kitchen, and our whole group applauded! This has to tell you something, that this place is special and should not be missed... it's the BEST Caribbean food you'll find in the city, hands down. Trust me, we will be back!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Authentic Carribean flavours and unpretentious friendly service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

A lucky accident we found this little gem....Once you get past the location, you will be pleased.
We were very happy after our first visit, with great flavorful food and friendly family style service. This impression continued to improve with our second and third visits with friends and family!.
This is not big budget chain style food which is always "factory perfect" - hooray!
We're talking home cooking and real family recipes, and I place value on effort and creativity.
They are gaining a larger following, so if they are busy you may wait a while for the chef to prepare everything....just have one more Carib or a Red Stripe and relax!
The restaurant and menu are small, but the flavors are authentic and honest and if you don't mind that the side dishes will change..you may enjoy it as much as we do.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Purple Hibiscus also viewed

 

Been to Purple Hibiscus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Purple Hibiscus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.