We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best in Winnipeg” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn at the Forks

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Inn at the Forks to your Saves list
Inn at the Forks
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   75 Forks Market Rd, Winnipeg, Manitoba R3C 0A2, Canada (Downtown Winnipeg)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 63 Hotels in Winnipeg
Winnipeg, Canada
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“One of the best in Winnipeg”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

Probably the best hotel in Winnipeg. It is clean, modern, and spacious, with great views of downtown and the Forks from the rooms. My wife and I stayed here the night of our wedding, and the hotel staff were very accommodating, letting me check in early in the morning, and allowing extra late check out the morning after.

There are many attractions within minutes of the hotel, and it is situated in the Forks, which is a great attraction itself in Winnipeg.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    121
    27
    7
    10
See reviews for
52
129
38
137
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Newmarket, Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

Having lived in Winnipeg most of my life, this hotels suits the bill for everything a traveller wants and needs. The hotel has a fabulous location at the Forks where to rivers meet. You can catch the boat rides, wander the foot path, cross the bridge and feel like you are in France...well not quite but certainly a different world! Staff was courteous and always attentive. I had an issue and they looked after it well above my expectations. I will definitely be staying there again when I am in Winnipeg for a wedding next year. Don't stay anywhere else!

Room Tip: No pool.....won't let me say not applicable...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnForksGSM, Guest Relations Manager at Inn at the Forks, responded to this review, June 15, 2014
Dear Sandy:

Thank you so much for posting a review on Trip Advisor. I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and would recommend to others. I think it's the best hotel in Winnipeg too!

When you are back in Winnipeg for the wedding you mentioned, please e-mail me directly and I will take care of your reservations personally.

As an aside, it is indeed true that we don't have a pool. We do, however, have an arrangement with a local Fitness Centre. We give our guests a pass to go use the 50M lap pool and whirlpool - it is complimentary for guests of Inn at the Forks. We will shuttle guests back and forth but most prefer to walk as it's only 5 minutes away. Good to know for next time!

Thank you again Sandy and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,
Cathy

Cathy Stephens
Assistant General Manager
Inn at the Forks

cstephens@innforks.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Every now and then, I will check into a hotel that impresses and exceeds my expectations. This is one such hotel.

Location wise, this hotel has arguably the best location in Winnipeg - in the Forks area by the riverfront park. There are numerous restaurants surrounding the hotel as well as walking pathways on the park.

Check in was a pleasant experience with Danica who provided a great friendly welcome.

The rooms are huge! I had a 1-king bedroom, which overlooked the park, I was also impressed by how clean the room was, as well as how well appointed it was, in terms of the toiletries included. The bed and pillows were extremely comfortable, and the shower flow was good and luxurious.

Breakfast ordered thru room service was excellent, with eggs cooked just right, back bacon that was not too salty and delicious fresh orange juice.

Overall, a fantastic stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnForksGSM, Guest Relations Manager at Inn at the Forks, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you for posting such an excellent review on Trip Advisor. I was so pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Thank you for mentioning our Front Desk Agent Danica - she is a wonderful part of our team and it's great to see her recognized.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Inn at the Forks.

Kind regards,
Cathy

Cathy Stephens
Assistant General Manager
Inn at the Forks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Dakota
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Okay, we paid more here than at other locations, but it paid off in regards to location, location, location if you plan on spending time at The Forks. We were in room 223 and I'm posting a view from our window along with a couple others. The room was very clean. The bed was too soft for me personally, but was a nice, king-sized bed. The room had huge windows with good coverings and a large bathroom. If you use makeup...the bathroom wasn't real friendly in that regard except for the fact that it had a lit, magnified mirror you could use. Otherwise the lighting wasn't the greatest. There was plenty of enclosed closet space and large and small drawers. I always gripe about our cable selections at home and the TV choices in the motel were awful. If you plan on spending time in your room I would suggest a good book, a DVD player with a good movie or two and/or your laptop. They do have WiFi service in the room. They supply a coffeemaker, an iron and ironing board, hair dryer and a safe. There were good electrical outlets available and Canada's are the same as the US's. I thought the room was pretty quiet overall but did notice by Wednesday it was getting noisier. The Current Restaurant was currently under renovation but room service was available and there was some seating by the lobby. Also, The Original Pancake House worked with the motel in giving patrons 20% off their breakfasts. There were many eating places within easy walking distance of the motel. I had originally looked at this motel and the Upper Fort Garry Motel which turned out to be only a couple of blocks away from The Forks. If I had it to do it over I'd would possibly stay there. You might want to check out both of these and other accommodation's websites for Winnipeg at www.tourismwinnipeg.com. The staff was pretty good and one young man in particular, Kit Ho, was excellent. It was great having our vehicle parked in a secured location under cover through the motel's valet service.
The motel's shuttle service will take you to certain locations within a certain distance between the hours of 9:00 a.m. and 3:00 p.m. They took us to the Museums/Planetarium but were not able to pick us up again because it was after 3:00 and that gets into rush hour. Just a note in regards to taxi rides...we used UniCity Cab Service and it cost approximately $20 each way to and from Assiniboine Park/Zoo from the Forks and $7 from the Manitoba Museum/Planetarium back to the motel.

Room Tip: When booking your room you might want to request a view of the river or the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnForksGSM, Guest Relations Manager at Inn at the Forks, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear Guest:

Wow - what a wonderful review - so informative! We really appreciate the fact that you took the time to review Inn at the Forks on Trip Advisor.

Yes - Kit is indeed an amazing employee. Last June he was awarded the Silver Plume Award for being the BEST BELLMAN in Winnipeg. Thank you for mentioning him by name - I will be sharing this review with him and all of our staff.

I'm so pleased you enjoyed the food service that we offer. We are very excited about our restaurant renovations, due to be completed at the end of August. Thank you for noting that we still do offer all meals through room service, the lobby restaurant and our outside patio.

With regards to the television issues - was the tv not working or could you not find a certain channel you were looking for? I have attached my email if you have the time to reply to me.

Thank you for choosing Inn at the Forks and we look forward to welcoming you back one day.

Kind regards,
Cathy Stephens
Assistant General Manager

cstephens@innforks.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Loved the hotel. Room was clean, comfy and modern. Great location in the city too! Front desk staff were friendly and welcoming.

Enjoyed the lounge bar but for some strange reason none of my party could get cell service in the lobby or lounge (several carriers, building perhaps?), which admittedly these days, is a bit of a hassle.

Breakfast was disappointing... both the food and service, but no other complaints. Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnForksGSM, Guest Relations Manager at Inn at the Forks, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor. I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.

That being said, I am sorry to hear that your breakfast was a disappointment. If time permits, I would be grateful if you could e-mail me directly so I can follow up with the Restaurant Manager and Kitchen.

Thank you for choosing Inn at the Forks and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,
Cathy Stephens
Assistant General Manager

cstephens@innforks.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

We spent 1 night there for a romantic overnight. It was a very clean property in a good location at the Forks Market and soon to open Human Rights Museum. Food in the restaurant was very enjoyable and service was excellent in all areas of the hotel. We felt the decor of the room and lobby was rather cold however that could just be due to our taste being different.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

Beautiful hotel in an amazing location.

From check in (amazing staff and accomodating) to getting to my room. Had a room on the third floor with a beautiful view of the Human Rights museum.

Bottled water supplied free of charge just by asking at the front desk. In room Keruig and bathroom very nicely appointed.

Walking distance to pretty much anywhere in the city. Walked to the Exchange District, to the Legislative Building and across the river to the Cathedral. Had a wonderful visit and thanks to the hospitality of Inn At The Forks!

You cannot go wrong with staying here!

Stayed May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn at the Forks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at the Forks

Address: 75 Forks Market Rd, Winnipeg, Manitoba R3C 0A2, Canada
Location: Canada > Manitoba > Winnipeg > Downtown Winnipeg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Winnipeg
#3 Romantic Hotel in Winnipeg
#3 Business Hotel in Winnipeg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn at the Forks 3.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Inn at the Forks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At The Forks Hotel Winnipeg
Hotel At The Forks
At The Forks Winnipeg
Inn At The Forks Winnipeg, Manitoba

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn at the Forks, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.