We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed over Christmas” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Canad Inns Destination Centre Transcona

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Canad Inns Destination Centre Transcona to your Saves list
Canad Inns Destination Centre Transcona
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   826 Regent Avenue West, Winnipeg, Manitoba R2C 3A8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #52 of 64 Hotels in Winnipeg
Kenora
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Stayed over Christmas”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

Plus:
Great continental breakfast free on Christmas day, good coffee snacks, pop, etc. Nice gesture, Good front desk staff, rooms clean, pool and waterslide, hot tub excellent. Elevator , secure locked door to get to guest rooms. fridge, mw, tv good. clean linens, towels etc. Staff at the front and cleaning staff are doing a great job trying to make the stay pleasant!
Have eaten there before, great food!

things to look after:

tired rooms, smell of stale carpets or air, heater thermostat didn't work, extremely hot or no heat, we chose no heat, to get some sleep. Paint peeling off the walls in the bathroom, caulking on the floor peeling off the toilet seal ugh! Bed was lumpy, sink plugged up, water drained very slowly, in-room coffee maker 70's vintage that spills more than it pours.

in summary it seems staff are trying to make this place good and clean, but the hotel is tired, and needs a face lift. Some clean paint and modern bathroom, new beds etc. would be welcome. We have stayed here before, but no more. Spent 2 days there.

Room Tip: if your ac/heater does not work or sinks plugged when you arrive, get a different room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    6
    7
    8
    6
See reviews for
10
2
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

I am a Winnipegger and I run a youth group. I took a group of girls here to celebrate our year of hard work.
When we checked in the gentlemen was helpful, though he seemed annoyed. Later in the night, all the front desk staff were too busy chatting with off duty staff members who were there cutting loose to do his job.
The pool area was a big highlight, the kids loved it. Highly disappointed there is no lifeguard as well as no jets in the whirlpool (they have very weak jets) and the itty bitty towels were a joke. There is also 4 tables and about 15 chairs so better get there early if you plan on sitting. They also allow patrons from their hotel across the street to use the pool, making it even more crazy.
Ordered an in room movie, even with the tv in the living room at 100, we could barely hear it. The quality of picture on the tv was very, very bad and the prices for the in suite movies are outrageous. Also, don't pause the movies or it just shuts itself off with no option of restarting.
Pull out couch in living room (we stayed in a 2 room suite) was very, very old. A couch cover doesn't hide that fact. The mattress was straight out of the 80s. Hey CanadInns- have you heard of futons?!
We ate breakfast at the buffet- disugusting. French toast could have been bread crumbs, canned mandarins in the middle of summer instead of fresh fruit, people getting sick in the washroom. They also offered 5 kids slushies knowing the machines were down. I had to track down my server since she never bothered to check on us after waiting 10 minutes for the slush to "freeze" Meanwhile all the lunch stuff has been sitting out already (it's 9am) including dressing and hardboiled eggs, neither of which feels very cool. They cover it with a bedsheet so you know, I'm sure that's up to code. I'm writting this from my table, still waiting for my server to ask if I'd like my coffee warmed or topped off. If I were anywhere else she would have been here 5 times by now.
All and all, don't go there if you can avoid it.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay P, General Manager at Canad Inns Destination Centre Transcona, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay with us. We use this guest feedback as learning tools for our staff to continually improve on our service delivery.

We are glad to hear the pool and waterslide was a big hit with your group! We have noted your comments on the towels and the hot tub jets. Upon reviewing your comment on the pool chairs we have added an additional 8 chairs around the poolside for our guests.

To address your comments regarding our pay-per-view movie service. We have had a number of issues recently with our current movie service provider and we are reviewing internally. We hope to have the technical problems resolved soon.

Canad Inns is always striving to improve our guest experience. We have recently ordered new deluxe pullout beds that are very high quality and are comparable to our queen beds for overall comfort. We hope to have these new beds by mid summer.

I am disappointed to hear that we fell short of expectations in AALTOS Garden Café. I have had discussions with our Food and Beverage Manager to address your concerns. The experience you have described is not typical as we strive for high guest satisfaction. I am hoping you will contact me personally to discuss your experience further.

In closing I thank you for choosing our location for your youth group stay.

My number at Canad Inns Destination Centre Transcona is 204-224-1681.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

There are only two hotels in this area and both are Canad Inns across the street from each other.
Room: very humid, smelled like the carpets were just cleaned but they were not. Beds are cheap and uncomfortable. Bedding is okay but way to much bleach uses.. Smells like cleaner. Bathroom was in need for a good cleaning. Son got yogurt on the cupboard door and after 3 days the maid has never cleaned it.

Pool: big dirt piles at the bottom and rusted handles have been painted over. Towels are as big as a hand towel. Hot tub was cold.

Altos Restaurant: went Sunday for supper and got there at 5. We were the only people in the restaurant. In 3 hours nobody ate the Buffett. It sat there uneatten and looking sick! Ordered burgers and they were good. Breakfast was good, less than 2 bucks!

Parking lot: 4 times in 3 nights there were people in the lot drinking from 2 litres of beer and drunk. I didn't feel safe and worries about my car. I hope it is safe in the morning.

Drive the extra distance and stay somewhere else. Time for some competition in the area please!!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay P, General Manager at Canad Inns Destination Centre Transcona, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Hello,

Thank you for reviewing our location on TripAdvisor. We value guest feedback and comments.

We strive for a positive overall guest experience and it seems we have fallen short in this case. I am hoping you will contact me personally to discuss the items listed in your review so I can learn more about your stay with us.

My number at the hotel is 204-224-1681.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flin Flon, Canada
Level Contributor
73 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We were there for a hockey tournament, and had one of the theme rooms - the room was fine, although small, and the pool and waterslide areas were very good. The restaurant food was good, and the service there was excellent. We will come back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
141 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

There are not too many options in this area of Winnipeg - an expensive casino or "older" beer parlour/hotels. This fills the void with a reasonably priced multi-functional facility. The building also houses a semi-classy restaurant, a gambling parlour and a sports pub.

Room Tip: If you have CAA there is a 10% discount - making a single person's stay around $120. per night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay P, Manager at Canad Inns Destination Centre Transcona, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Hello Bill R,

Thank you for sharing your experience. We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us!

We take great pride in ensuring our guest rooms are clean and comfortable for our guests.

Our Canad Inns Family strives to deliver a high level of professionalism and customer service.

Thank you for staying with us. We hope we have the pleasure of serving you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Jay P
General Manager
Canad Inns Destination Centre Transcona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Truly enjoyed our stay! The food in Aalto's was well priced, fresh, and server was excellent! the rooms were very clean, quiet, and channel selection was good. The staff at the front were helpful and courteous. Parking lot was clean with ample parking. Hotel was nicely decorated, inside and out. Will be back!!
Angela P

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenora, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

This hotel was overpriced, overbooked! We went for a hockey tournament. I know they had an overcapacity in the pool area at one time, it was "an accident waiting to happen". There was one security guard that worked there (he must have tried to be a cop and could never get on) he was a freak, followed people around, walked into our room and shut the door, accused us of making noise when we weren't and told me I couldn't talk in the hallway at 8pm. I will never stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Canad Inns Destination Centre Transcona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canad Inns Destination Centre Transcona

Address: 826 Regent Avenue West, Winnipeg, Manitoba R2C 3A8, Canada
Location: Canada > Manitoba > Winnipeg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 64 Hotels in Winnipeg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Canad Inns Destination Centre Transcona 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Canad Inns Destination Centre Transcona features 50 deluxe King and Queen double guest rooms with Suites, serving the east side of the City of Winnipeg. Our hotel is a convenient, friendly and fun place to stay. Located along one of the city's busiest shopping streets, filled with big box retailers, the Kildonan Place Shopping Centre, specialty shops, movie theatres, car dealers and the "must see" tropical-themed Club Regent Casino. Guest Room Amenities: - Kids Theme Rooms - High speed Internet computer data ports - Complimentary coffee makers, flat panel TVs, refrigerators, hair dryers, irons and boards- Pay per view movies & Sony Playstation 3 - Guest voice messaging- High speed wireless internet ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Canad Inns Destination Centre Transcona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canad Inns Transcona Hotel Winnipeg
Canad Inns Destination Centre Transcona Winnipeg, Manitoba

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Canad Inns Destination Centre Transcona, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.