We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean but very noisey.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Canad Inns Destination Centre Transcona

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Canad Inns Destination Centre Transcona to your Saves list
Canad Inns Destination Centre Transcona
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   826 Regent Avenue West, Winnipeg, Manitoba R2C 3A8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #52 of 64 Hotels in Winnipeg
Torrance, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Clean but very noisey.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

This hotel is more like a bad motel. The only good thing I can say is that my room was clean. The rooms are very outdated. Kids running all over screaming and banging into the walls for hours on the weekend. The bathrooms are old and small. The carpet is old. The bed was OK. The free wi-fi was horrible to non exsistant. The lockset on the door was loose and made me think that it would be very easy to get into this room. The bath tub drain was clogged and took three days for someone to clear it. The wall a/c, heater unit loud. The walls must be paper thin since I could hear my neighbors going to the bathroom. There voices were so clear I thought I had company. The restaurant was horrible. Lousy food. The buffet was like eating cold leftovers. I was here on buisness for two weeks and I hated it. I am returning in two weeks and I told my employer that I would never, ever stay here again.

Room Tip: For a good room, look for another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    5
    6
    8
    5
See reviews for
10
2
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cabo San Lucas, Mexico
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

Booked room for two nights on line at $139 a night. We had a family wedding to attend this weekend. Room was a king bed. Room was okay and clean, bathroom super small.

Saturday we went to the church service then returned to the hotel before reception. I went to our room and found the deadbolt lock set to lock, however the door was NOT SHUT! So anyone could have just pushed the door open and in the where. The maid staff had cleaned the room, set the deadbolt to lock without the door being closed. We had all sorts of things in this room and anyone could have walked in and stolen it.

Other problem we found out from my sister in law that they provide a seniors discount for those 55 years plus. My husband is 57, we were not asked about it at the desk, just charged $139 a night. My husband went back and asked about it and they did then provide the senior's discount rate at $114 a night which is a big differences. We were credited back the difference for both nights.

The oak bar is tough to get a drink at, we went in their on Friday evening before dinner for a drink. One bar tender for a ton of people. We returned after dinner and it was a super loud dance club!! Yikes! Went to the casino lounge near the front desk, much quieter.

Over all I would stay their again but definately they have to watch the locking of room doors and what they charge for a rate.

Room Tip: Booking on line does not provide for senior discount info. If you are 55 plus or one of the ppl sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

We stayed here because our truck broke down and it was close to the mechanic. But we really really enjoyed out stay and I am surprised at all the bad reviews :( We personally didn't have any problems with noise, and we had good sleeps. The only down side to this place was that the headboard fell off, but it's not entirely its fault. There is a pub attached so without a truck it was nice to be able to walk down to get some wings. It's atmosphere was great too. I think there was a big pool too. anyway, the staff were super friendly and easy going and we would stay there again :)

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2011

This hotel is avrage hotel has a good restraunt in it, unfortinatly also accompanied by 2 bars and alot of weekend traffic. This hotel is noisey on weekends you can here people walking on the floor above you. The beds are a little rough on the back.. The hotel over all is over priced, I have stayed in hotels of the same quality for $30.00 less.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenora
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2011

This Canad inn is no different from other Canad inns. It is getting a little worn our but for the most part it is alright. We stayed two nights and the kids had a blast. The pool was perfect for them. We stayed in a theme room - they loved the bunk bed area. It has a mini fridge, and microwave so you can store things or bring your own popcorn. This is not a hotel to stay at if you are just passing through and want to go to bed early. There is a bar attached to all Canad-Inns and it si very lively around midnight. this never bothered us.
Food was average as you would get in all alto's - we have staying in the polo park, brandon, Fort Garry and garden city Canad-Inn. They are all the same. Club Regent is ok too. All in all an ok stay.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2010

I will be brief, but will confirm exactly what others have said before. Very thin, and dirty walls. We could hear outside "bar noises" until nearly 3am.

Halls were dirty and smelled of mold. Beds were worn but reasonably clean. Bathroom was very old, worn, small and dirty. However it did have a handy bottle opener on the counter... From the 70s! Remember those? Lol

We were here for a team sporting event in the neighborhood. Our "team special price" was over $100 per night per room. Arrrrr!

We did not risk the pool.
Pass this hotel by.
Stay at the casino hotel 3 blocks away, even if you hate casinos, and you have to stay in the neighborhood.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2010

I will never stay in this hotel again in transcona the kids next door were so loud it was like they were in the room with us. they got a phone call too quiet down cause I heard the conversations and they kept it up for a hour so I asked to move to another room.the next day, well when the bar got out at 1 a.m
it was so loud in the hallways you could swear they where in my room and you could hear every word . for the price I paid it wasn't worth it

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Canad Inns Destination Centre Transcona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canad Inns Destination Centre Transcona

Address: 826 Regent Avenue West, Winnipeg, Manitoba R2C 3A8, Canada
Location: Canada > Manitoba > Winnipeg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 64 Hotels in Winnipeg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Canad Inns Destination Centre Transcona 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Canad Inns Destination Centre Transcona features 50 deluxe King and Queen double guest rooms with Suites, serving the east side of the City of Winnipeg. Our hotel is a convenient, friendly and fun place to stay. Located along one of the city's busiest shopping streets, filled with big box retailers, the Kildonan Place Shopping Centre, specialty shops, movie theatres, car dealers and the "must see" tropical-themed Club Regent Casino. Guest Room Amenities: - Kids Theme Rooms - High speed Internet computer data ports - Complimentary coffee makers, flat panel TVs, refrigerators, hair dryers, irons and boards- Pay per view movies & Sony Playstation 3 - Guest voice messaging- High speed wireless internet ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Canad Inns Destination Centre Transcona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canad Inns Transcona Hotel Winnipeg
Canad Inns Destination Centre Transcona Winnipeg, Manitoba

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Canad Inns Destination Centre Transcona, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.