We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oh my god, what a nightmare” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Express Winnipeg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Howard Johnson Express Winnipeg to your Saves list
Howard Johnson Express Winnipeg
1.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3740 Portage Ave, Winnipeg, Manitoba R3K0Z9, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead & Save 15%
Ranked #46 of 64 Hotels in Winnipeg
Silver Spring, Maryland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Oh my god, what a nightmare”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2010

We booked this Howard Johnson online because it was inexpensive and the HoJo's website stated that it was an airport hotel! And that there was a shuttle. 30 minutes and 30 taxi dollars later we were far from the airport in a run down hotel. The website lied! The restaurannt had hours that were different than stated and when we looked in, it appeared to be a worker's cafe from the former Soviet Union. The Sauna and Hot Tub were out of order. There was no decent restaurant nearby. The money we "saved" went to the taxi. We could have stayed at the far nicer Shearton Four Points across the street from the terminal. Don't go here! ( PS, staff was nice)

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    52
    41
    31
    17
See reviews for
57
28
20
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cobble Hill, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2010

Stayed for one night while travelling to western Manitoba. Booked on line and got a very good rate. Front desk was helpful and we got our room. I just think there must be two sections to this hotel as we were on the east side which appeared to be more of a motel structure. Our room was acceptable for the price and clean enough. Could have used a little updating but I've been in much worse. The big downer here is the noise. Not only is the room not at all sound proofed, the bar, which closes at 2:30 AM, emptied out right in front of our room and drunken revellers were there for some time waiting for taxis and rides. I'm not a fussy hotel patron because it was cheap and for that price you usually get what you pay for. Had I known this place was that noisy I would not have booked. We couldn't move as the hotel was fully booked. Would I stay there again..........not without earplugs. On another note the hot tub and sauna was "out of order" and we were not offered a continental breakfast which I found out afterwards shold have been available.

Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2010

I have to tell you all that if you paid more than $80. a night then you overpaid. I booked the HOJO Express and got my room for around $50 and like the man always says, you get what you paid for soooooo I WAS HAPPY with what I GOT.

The hotel was fairly clean, the rooms were ok, the beds were great and comfortable and the best thing going was I didn't end up broke at the end of my five day stay like all the other people who pay $100 a night for hotels that are just slightly better. This Hotel and the Room I was provided was not the worse place that I ever stayed. That would have been the TRAVELODGE at the FALLS and there I paid $120 a night..

If you want a place to CRASH at the end of a day then this is the place to be.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2010

TERRIBLE TERRIBLE TERRIBLE (and that's an understatement)

Let me sum it up for you... If you are a smoker than this might be your paradise. If you are not this may be your hell.

We switched rooms twice due to the DISGUSTING conditions of the rooms. Mold, stale smoke smell, grimy floors, soiled carpet, stains, fingerprints, cig ashes in 'non smoking" rooms, fridge not working .... the list goes on.

We had to take wet towels and put them at the door to stop the smoke from coming in.

It got so bad we had to check out and I had to speak with the head office and we got a refund.

The disturbing thing is that the staff there seemed genuinely oblivious to the plumes of smoke coming from ALL of the non-smoking rooms.

My wife got sick because the smoke and toxins in the air, upholstery, bedding, window coverings, and carpet set off an allergic throat reaction.

If I could rate this hotel any lower I would!

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manitoba
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2009

I am a regular house wife that lives in Virden, Manitoba. I planned to go to Winnipeg to do Christmas shopping at Polo Park Shopping Center. I decided to checked-in to this hotel because I found to be good and relaxing. It was very accessible to Winnipeg Perimeter highway as well as their parking for my truck. Polo Park was just down Portage Avenue. It was easy for me to go back and forth to my hotel whenever I want.

The hotel has a licensed restaurant named Howard Johnson Grill. They offer the best meal with affordable prices. The hotel has a cable television, wireless internet access and an ironing board. However, I admire their Sauna bath and its big whirlpool among their other relaxing facilities.

Though I stayed at this hotel for only a day, I will never forget the sensation I felt when I went to their Sauna. I will never forget how it removed all of my problems in life. Finally, I will bring this good experience and share it to my family and friends.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canmore, Alberta
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2009

I stayed at this hotel and checked in around 8pm. "Steve" was working at the desk, and informed me that the debit/credit card machine was not working and I would have to pay cash. I had no problem with this, and he led me to the ATM in the adjacent lounge (add $4 in service charges to get cash). So I paid him $92.50 and checked in. My room was terrible, the smell is disgusting. Loud and old-timey A/C, not close enough to the wireless signal to access the internet, the windows wouldn't open, the bathroom was filthy..BAAH! Anyway, we suffered through it, exhausted after driving all day. The next morning I went to check out and my receipt showed that I had only paid $73.94 in cash. I asked the lady working and she said that was the amount "Steve" had put in his deposit for my room, and that he had probably pocketed the difference. I asked her about the debit/credit card machine, and she told me it had been working fine. So after unsuccessfully trying to contact "Steve" and see what was going on here, the manager finally agreed to refund me the difference and take it off the guy's pay. I would never stay there again and I hope that others will avoid it as well. If I had done some research in advance, I NEVER would have stayed there, but when you are driving across the country, you get a little tired after being in a car all day and you just want to get any room you can get.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2009

We stayed in this motel 2 nights- week apart. And what a difference.
First time we had nicely appointed large room with desk and chair for computer, fridge, microwave. Since hotel does not have elevator receptionist help us with lugagge. Everything was perfect.
So we came back week later and had shock of our life.
Room was small, computer desk gone as were fridge and microwave.Food went to garbage.
Steve , the receptionist was not working that evening. Needless to say, we will never visit HOJO again.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Howard Johnson Express Winnipeg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Express Winnipeg

Address: 3740 Portage Ave, Winnipeg, Manitoba R3K0Z9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Manitoba > Winnipeg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 64 Hotels in Winnipeg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Howard Johnson Express Winnipeg 1.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Howard Johnson Express Winnipeg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Winnipeg
Howard Johnson Express Winnipeg Manitoba

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Express Winnipeg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.