We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent choice!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Norwood Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Norwood Hotel to your Saves list
Norwood Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   112 Marion St, Winnipeg, Manitoba R2H 0T1, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 63 Hotels in Winnipeg
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Excellent choice!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

Very good location, walking distance to the Forks and downtown, pleasant and helpful staff, free parking by the door. Nice breakfast at a most reasonable price. Have recommended to other family members who will be travelling to Winnipeg. Would certainly return!

Room Tip: Corner suites are large and sunny. They do overlook a busy street however the AC blocks out the noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan C, General Manager at Norwood Hotel, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to review the Norwood Hotel. We really appreciate you saying that staying with us was an "Excellent choice!'. We are glad that you have recommended us to your family. We look forward to having you stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    35
    17
    0
    1
See reviews for
21
15
10
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Mississauga
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

My first positive comment about the Norwood Hotel is its great location, which is within walking distance of the Forks and downtown. A five minute walk from the hotel brings you to a large shopping mall and restaurants. I was very impressed with Customer Service. The reception staff was friendly, efficient and very accommodating. For example, I could not connect to the WI-FI with the assigned password. After repeated WI-FI failure and repeated contact with the reception, I was asked to bring my laptop to reception where the desk manager personally reconfigured my system to make it compatible. He was very apologetic about the inconvenience. The room was clean and tidy, the bathroom was spotless. The in-room A/C unit was a bit noisy at the beginning but we soon got used to it. The room card key system worked flawlessly,but closing the door required a little more effort than normal resulting in a loud noise upon closure There is a coffee maker in the room but no fridge. Our room was next to the elevator but there was no vibration or rumbling form the elevator..The ice and pop machines are located near the elevators. We only spent 2 days but was able to sample the breakfast special - 2 eggs, 2 slices of toast, hash browns,coffee or tea- unlimited for $4.00/ person. Parking is free. The beer store is on the far end of the parking lot and is open past midnight..Taxis can sometimes be scarce, so reserve ahead of time for specific pickup times.
In summery, very pleased.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan C, General Manager at Norwood Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Thank you taking the time to review the Norwood Hotel. I am very glad to hear that you were "very impressed with Customer Service". The "Convenient location" is also a real positive as you have noted. We look forward to being of service again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Unfortunately I have to review the WoodTavern in with the actual hotel but there is not a separate list for the Wood Tavern

I've done a few reviews and usually give the benefit of the doubt for the establishment. Not this time as the Wood Tavern has outdone any place we've been

4 of us decided to have supper at the Tavern 06/28/14. We found a table fairly easily as it was not busy there. It was a bit of a wait for service though. Before we ordered our meal, I mentioned that I would like to use the Stars ( WHRA ) discount for our meal. This discount is something the Norwood Hotel set up with the Stars program. That being said, the waitress said that she had never heard of it. She asked her manager and he said the same thing. I didn't pursue it as it was probably not worth the trouble.

Two of us ordered lemon pepper wings along with fries. What we received were Chili wings with fries. The other couple got what they ordered. So two enjoyed our fries while the rest of the order was done properley. we received the proper wings about 10 - 15 minutes later.

Most restaurants will give you a discount after screwing up like that but not the Wood Tavern. ot that I was after the discount.

One person in our party ordered the Bruschetta Chicken which shh said was good but for $17 she was expecting a bit more than a chicken breast, 4 sticks of asparagus and just over half a cup of rice

Over all we were not impressed.

There were 4 people at a table next to us and they waited forever for service. Finally one of the gentlemen had to go to the bar to get a waitress to come to their table.

In my opinion the Wood Tavern has gone downhill and is still sliding down fast. Service is bad at the best of times, discounts are not honoured and food orders are screwed up.

For a restaurant bar to stay in business and flourish, it's all about service and that just isn't there at the Wood Tavern.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan C, General Manager at Norwood Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Thank you for reviewing the Wood Tavern. I am disappointed to hear about the misunderstandings that occurred during your visit. I am pleased to hear that we have addressed your concerns sufficiently and that you will be returning to our property. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

We had a wonderful stay here and they were extremely helpful. We booked last minute due to a poor choice at another hotel we booked for a family reunion. They managed to book all our family members in an kept us all on the same floor. No request was to much and the service was great in the restaurant as well. We would return here again for sure.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan C, General Manager at Norwood Hotel, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the Norwood Hotel. We really appreciate the kind words that you said about the hotel! I was especially pleased to see that my team was "very helpful". We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

This was our first stay at the Norwood Hotel but we'll definitely be back. The most impressive feature was the customer service - staff are efficient and friendly and very accommodating. For instance, the air conditioning unit in our room wasn't working on our second day so before heading out in the morning, we notified the front desk and by the time we returned for dinner, it had been replaced with a completely new unit!

Our room was clean and comfortable but somewhat noisy, being situated at the back of the building where the hotel's air conditioning unit is. This didn't bother us but light sleepers may want to ask for a room at the front of the building.

The other thing that was sort of bothersome was the heavy door, which could only be closed by pulling it - this made a large echoing noise that I am sure annoyed our neighbours on the floor. There also wasn't a fridge in the room but apparently you can request one so we'll make sure to do that on our next visit if we plan to stay longer than a day or so.

The hotel is in a great location near shopping, restaurants and a Tim Horton's :) (though the coffee maker in the room was a Keurig machine so I only visited Timmy's once). It's easy to get to and from and within walking distance to the Forks and downtown. There is ample free parking and the neighbourhood felt very safe so there were no worries at all going to and from our vehicle.

The other thing that was a pleasant surprise was the restaurant. On our last night, a somewhat scary storm rolled in around suppertime so we decided to stay in and check it out and we were happy we did! Our meals were super tasty, generously portioned and the bill (which included a large glass of wine) was much lower than expected.

We travel to Winnipeg quite often to attend concerts and generally stay downtown. We have yet to stay in the same hotel twice due to issues with prices, the customer service or the locations but now that we know about the Norwood, we hope to become "regulars".

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan C, General Manager at Norwood Hotel, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the Norwood Hotel. I'm very glad to see that you thought we were a "Great find". I truly hope that you continue to stay at the Norwood Hotel and become "regulars"!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manitoba, Canada
Top Contributor
425 reviews 425 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 98 cities Reviews in 98 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

First stay there in about 3 years. Was very pleasantly surprised when after my making a mistake through Hotels.com and booking two rooms, the attendant at the desk cancelled on upon my arrival. No issues, no penalty even though I wasn't checking in until almost 7, when they really had every right to just keep my money.
Room was quiet, very clean. Some features a little older, but a comfortable bed and a good nights sleep. Very convenient to many amenities, and within walking distance of several Winnipeg attractions. Very good rate for the night.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan C, General Manager at Norwood Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I'm very happy to hear that you were "very pleased with staff and rooms". We look forward to being of assistance to you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Not really a standout hotel but rather a clean, reliable, well-managed establishment that suited our 5 day stay perfectly. Staff were pleasant and helpful. Rooms were very clean, and simply designed. Fridges could be requested. TV station variety was good and the wifi was excellent in the room. Hotel Restaurant was very good and provided a $4.99 breakfast special during the week that was much appreciated.
The Norwood is close to downtown with lots of parking and an easy walk to the bus stop. We walked back from downtown in about 40 minutes. The Forks is within easy walking distance. We enjoyed the modest but interesting train museum on the second floor of the Union Station as well.
The only negative was a strange one, as we had 4 leaker paper coffee cups over several days with our first morning coffee. Hopefully its just a batch problem.
Otherwise, a nice hotel at a reasonable price.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back side are a it quieter than on Marion Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan C, General Manager at Norwood Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am very pleased to hear that you found the Norwood Hotel to be "a nice hotel at a reasonable price". Our breakfast special is quite popular. I'm glad that you enjoyed it! We hope to be of assistance to you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Norwood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norwood Hotel

Address: 112 Marion St, Winnipeg, Manitoba R2H 0T1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Manitoba > Winnipeg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Winnipeg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Norwood Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully situated, The Norwood Hotel in Manitoba is immersed in Winnipeg’s oldest and most popular Francophone neighborhood, St. Boniface. Soak up French Canadian culture at charming bistros, lively summer garden markets and a trés cool winter festival. Visit locally owned shops, restaurants and jog expansive winding river trails. Shopping conveniences are footsteps away from our stylish Manitoba hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Norwood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norwood Hotel Winnipeg, Manitoba

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Norwood Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.