We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Norwood Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Norwood Hotel to your Saves list
Norwood Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   112 Marion St, Winnipeg, Manitoba R2H 0T1, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 63 Hotels in Winnipeg
Quebec City, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Very comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

The rooms are very comfortable, great beds with crisp linens.The newspaper is delivered to your door as well as the breakfast. The breakfast is really good and they pay attention to special requests, however, I had to stay a week there and I regretted the lack of variety. The bathrooms are not very recent but they are spacious and clean and they provide you with natural hair and body products from a local shop nearby.

I appreciated a lot the quiet of the hotel and the warm welcome of two of the front desk attendants (both women from South America).

The only thing that I really disliked at this hotel were the two other front desk attendants that I "talked to". Both men were barely polite and made me feel like I was bothering them. The first one would hardly say a word to me, not even explaining how the breakfast worked (I was not aware it was room service only), nor how to get to my room. The second one was supposed to talk to his supervisor regarding the discount that they were offering on the website but that he said he could not apply (stay 2 nights, get the 3rd night free). Nobody ever got back to me regarding this. He made no efforts whatsoever to understand what I was explaining to him and kept repeating the same sentence over and over as if I was deficient.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    35
    17
    0
    1
See reviews for
21
15
10
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Moncton, New Brunswick, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

We spent 3 days at this hotel for a wedding in September, 2012.
The accomodations were very good, the service was great.
The proximity to several St Boniface attractions made it easy to do some sightseeing.
We enjoyed a great breakfast in the restaurant too.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

This is great family friendly hotel. Was in Winnipeg for a wedding with our 18 month old daughter. The room was clean and roomy enough for the baby cot provided by the hotel. Staff were friendly and helpful. The banquet rooms used for the wedding were excellent. The food for the wedding reception was catered by the hotel, and they did an outstanding job!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtenay, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

We are a large family spread from coast to coast. A wedding in Winnipeg brought us together for a weekend at The Norwood Hotel. Some family stayed longer to enjoy the sightseeing. I had a single room on the same floor as many others in our party. The rooms were spacious and excellent. The beds and pillows were the best I have ever found even in much more expensive hotels. The front desk staff were welcoming and maid service was prompt and efficient.
One of the great things about this little hotel is its size - not too big, so it feels homey and the staff are eager to please. It is very well located too, walking distance from the St Boniface Hospital and the Cathedral (well worth a visit) and the Forks is a short walk across the bridge.
I Loved it!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We had our wedding at the hotel in fall of 2012. Tons of family and friends were in town and several stayed at the Norwood, as did we. Guests are still emailing us raving about their stays and how great it was. From the restaurant and bar to the comfy rooms and elegant ballroom and spectacular customer service - the Norwood has it all. On a personal note my husband and I were thrilled with how everything last details was handled and it made our day truly memorable. We will definitely be hosting more events at the Norwood.

Room Tip: The executive suite is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bemidji
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel several times. Only twice have I had bad experiences. The first time was with partying guests. This last time however, there were many things that went wrong. I had to cancel and rebook the reservation due to travel conditions. This was accomplished with a phone call - upon investigation I was told it was with the Assistant General Manager. I inquired about the meal vouchers specifically asking if it was possible to have breakfast in the room. I was assured that it was and to inform front desk staff upon check-in and to call the restaurant to request it delivered to my room. When I checked in, I was told that this was not policy, to which I related my booking conversation. Front desk called the restaurant and it was OK'd.

I slept very little that night and was unable to work due to noise in the adjoining room - two very active toddlers who did not have an early bedtime.

The following morning I had breakfast in my room. I attempted to use the shower - it was an old supposedly adjustable shower head that was broken. The water came out like it would in a garden hose with no attachment. Just a narrow stream of water.

The second day, I called the restaurant only to be told that breakfast in the room with a pre-paid voucher was not possible - it was policy and they would not make an exception. They were not pleasant. I called the front desk and staff confirmed the policy regardless of having had different policy a day before - or having made an exception. I informed the front desk that I would not need the pre-paid voucher - I had no time to eat in the restaurant. I then looked around for a room service menu - nothing was to be found. So...time wasted, I had to check out with no breakfast and later than anticipated.

I advised the front desk staff that it is not appropriate to change policy midstay. I had counted on breakfast in the room - and had been assured upon booking and upon checking in that I would have it - with the prepaid voucher. The voucher itself is $9.50 which is reasonable for a breakfast. I supplied a genrous tip.

While the hotel is convenient to the buisness I have in Winnipeg, I will not be staying there again.

Room Tip: Adjoining rooms are not the best option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012 via mobile

I chose this hotel for its proximity to the downtown area of Winnipeg and for the parking lot that was able to accommodate my trailer. Overall a great stay, rooms were nice- probably one of the most comfortable mattresses I've ever slept on!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Norwood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norwood Hotel

Address: 112 Marion St, Winnipeg, Manitoba R2H 0T1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Manitoba > Winnipeg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Winnipeg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Norwood Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully situated, The Norwood Hotel in Manitoba is immersed in Winnipeg’s oldest and most popular Francophone neighborhood, St. Boniface. Soak up French Canadian culture at charming bistros, lively summer garden markets and a trés cool winter festival. Visit locally owned shops, restaurants and jog expansive winding river trails. Shopping conveniences are footsteps away from our stylish Manitoba hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Norwood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norwood Hotel Winnipeg, Manitoba

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Norwood Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.