We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good crepes in a casual atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kawaii Crepe

Kawaii Crepe
201-99 Osborne Street, Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
204.415.2833
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #59 of 1,360 Restaurants in Winnipeg
Cuisines: Dessert, Vegan, Vegetarian
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Good crepes in a casual atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

This is a standard treat for our kids when they have done something worth celebrating. They love the crepes with all the options (Nutella, ice cream, marshmallows etc). We like the variety of sweet and savory options with the vegan option being great for people with allergies.
The atmosphere is pretty much like any fast food restaurant, bland tables and chairs. The food more than makes up for it.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    16
    4
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
winnipeg
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Fun!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

This is a fun little restaurant, somewhere between fast food and casual dining. Located in Osborne village, it definitely fits in well with the surroundings. The Crepe's are made from scratch, no "pull them out of the freezer and heat them" crap. They have crepe's for every taste including vegan and vegatarian choices. Seating is a bit uncomfortable and the lighting is extremely bright but I think this is aimed at the younger crowd that most likely eats there. Personally, I think this is one of those places that any age group will enjoy! There is no table service so be prepared to stand in line and once you order, you must be on your toes listening for your number to be called. They have a wide selection of drinks and really amazing bubble tea, (this from someone who, until I tried the bubble tea here, was not a fan of it.)
The only negative I have is the fact that you have to ask for the key to the bathroom. Not a big deal, but when the restaurant is busy, it can be difficult to interrupt to ask!
Loved it though and will definitely be back!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Horrible experience”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013 via mobile

Food was inexpensive but even though it sounded like it would be good was not , atmosphere left much to be desired what struck me most was how unhappy the employees seemed and their conversation about the crazy things the store owner was doing

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“A very filling lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Kawaii Crepe is located at #201 99 Osborne Street Winnipeg. My BW and I decided to try luncheon there on a Saturday, having heard they offer an excellent Gluten-Free crepe. We arrived just after 1 pm and found the place very busy, but with a constant flow of people coming and going. Although it looked full I was able to secure a table for two immediately as someone was leaving - the staff came within a minute to wipe down the table top. Very efficient.

Kawaii Crepe styles itself as "An original Japanese creperie". They hand craft customized crepes (both sweet and savoury). A bright white decor, with a very colourful mural along one wall, is supplemented by bright red vinyl benches and white tables. The tables seat two people comfortably, but can be moved to form a larger configuration for bigger groups.

The system is very easy - the list of sweet and savoury crepes is wall mounted, one makes a selection and then moves to the cash desk to place the order. You pay, and receive your receipt with a unique number, which is then called out when your order is ready. Most orders seem to take about 10 minutes.
We choose the Gluten Free crepes (both crepes cost $7.50 each, plus $1 for the Gluten-Free option). My BW selected the 'Uptown', seasoned chicken, avocado and house made citrus chipotle mayo. I chose the 'Big Feast', slow-braised pulled pork with a mustard vinaigrette coleslaw and housemade BBQ sauce. I am delighted that Kawaii Crepe take the concept of Gluten-Free extremely seriously - they clean down the plate before cooking, to ensure no cross contamination. The downside of course is a longer wait for one's crepe. We waited 20 minutes.

However, it was worth the wait! The crepes come in a plastic mount, so the initial tricky part of the first bites can be managed more easily. I tore off the higher edges and ate them until I was able to take a mouthful of the contents. The nature of the rolled crepe meant that the real core of the crepe is where the intensity of the flavours were found. It was a little messy (the crepe was packed with food) but the mustard vinaigrette and BBQ sauce left an intensity in my mouth - I continued to enjoy the flavour for over an hour after the meal (in a pleasant way)!I should also mention the lemonade - one serving was sufficient for the two of us. The acidity and flavour proved a perfect accompanient to the intensity of the crepe fillings.

A wonderful experience, 40 minutes from start to finish, bright, colourful, happy, busy, $19.95 before tax, and very filling food (we could not face our dinner until 7:30 pm!). A real bright spot in the Osborne Village.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manitoba
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“cute!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Fun! Who would have thought the perfect kids place would be right in the Village. Great fun menu selections.

Terribly awkward line-up system. Cafeteria-style is fine but there is no way to direct traffic to/from washrooms and order your food.

Family of 4 all sampled different savoury & sweet varieties and bubble tea, and all was delicious. Left very full for a modest price and superfast order time.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kawaii Crepe also viewed

Winnipeg, Manitoba
 

Been to Kawaii Crepe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kawaii Crepe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.