We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Hotel Winnipeg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Clarion Hotel Winnipeg to your Saves list
Clarion Hotel Winnipeg
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1445 Portage Avenue | Winnipeg Airport / Polo Park, Winnipeg, Manitoba R3G 3P4, Canada (Downtown Winnipeg)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 63 Hotels in Winnipeg
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a weekend get a way and loved this hotel. The staff at the front desk were helpful and friendly.Room service was quick and the beds were so comfortable. I like that it is near polo park mall and costco. The free parking in the parkade is also another plus. The kids loved the pool and waterslide which was also very clean. We have stayed here before and used the shuttle service to the airport. Just a great place to stay its our family favorite in Winnipeg.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CMRomaniuk, Director of Sales at Clarion Hotel Winnipeg, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you so much for your feedback! We are ecstatic to hear that we are your favorite hotel in Winnipeg! We so appreciate the fact that you appreciate our services and amenities! We work diligently everyday to ensure that our guests have a enjoyable and comfortable stay each and every time! We so look forward to welcoming you and your family back to the Clarion one day very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    52
    26
    28
    24
See reviews for
59
33
11
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

When I first booked the room the lady taking my reservation was in a rush. She didn't ask any particulars (smoking, pets, how many people, how many beds, etc.) I was given the rate for the wedding we were attending. Before we arrived, I called to book my dog as she wasn't part of our original booking. The first lady put me on hold and transferred me, then the next lady transferred me to someone else, who was once again in a rush to get me off the phone. It seemed as though I was passed around as it wasn't a new booking. They said they only had smoking rooms available for pets - thankfully it did not smell like a smoking room!

Throughout our stay the staff was mostly more pleasant, and very kind to our dog. I extended our stay twice for a total of six nights. The room was cleaned daily but at an inconsistent time. Sometimes they knocked on the door at 9am and other days we would come back at 4pm and it hadn't been cleaned yet. The room was large, clean, bright, and had A/C (thankfully!!) The restaurant on-site is the Original Pancake House, which also offers room-service.

The pool was clean and a comfortable temperature. There's an awesome water slide, a small warm kiddy pool, and a hot tub. I was able to book the spa last minute for a massage (which was fantastic! Well worth the money!), which gave me access to the mineral spa. The water felt great on my skin and it was very relaxing up there. The website describes the "water park" as having the mineral spa included, but it's a separate charge or free with a $35+ spa service.

The hotel is close to everything - a mall, many restaurants, a laundromat, etc. Overall I was pleased with the hotel, but the service was sub-par on service from time-to-time. The website does state that the dog charge is up to a maximum of 4 days but I was charged for all 6 nights we stayed.

I will definitely consider staying there again mostly due to the nice rooms and proximity to Polo Park Mall.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CMRomaniuk, Director of Sales at Clarion Hotel Winnipeg, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Kristin, Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review. We appreciate the feedback! We pride ourselves on courteous, friendly and efficient service and we apologize that this was not the case with your recent booking experience. I have brought your concerns up with our front desk manager. We have reviewed your booking as we have the ability to track every change made to a reservation from the time that it was made to the time of check out. It just so happened that the 2 individuals that handled your booking were fairly new employees and we sincerely apologize that their inexperience caused you some difficulties during the booking process. We have brought these issues to their attention and our front desk manager will be offering some added training in the weeks to come. We are also about to send another group of new employees to MTEC for some additional customer service training in order to avoid situations such as these. We want to assure you that this is not the level of service that we are known for and we are doing everything in our power to ensure that this situation does not occur again in the future.
That being said, the employee who took your call regarding the fact that you wanted a pet friendly room put you on hold and passed you on to a more experienced agent because all the hotel had left for pet friendly rooms at the time were smoking. She wanted to see if a few bookings could potentially be shuffled around in order to secure you a non smoking pet friendly room....which we understand would have been your preference. We apologize for the inconvenience that this caused!
We do appreciate the fact that you noticed the condition of our smoking rooms as we have installed a state of the art ventilation system to ensure that these rooms are as odour free as possible....and our housekeeping staff do spend additional time ensuring that these rooms are as clean as possible!
Unfortunately, your comments regarding the inconsistent times of cleaning the guestrooms cannot be avoided. Cleaning times are dependant on the hotel's occupancy and the state of the rooms that require cleaning. It is impossible to clean every room at the same time everyday, however, we do our very best to ensure that we do not disturb our guests during their stay. Our housekeeping staff are trained to never knock on a door that has a do not disturb sign on the handle. At times, many guests do not want to be disturbed prior to check out time and some of those whom are not checking out that day leave the sign on the door until well in the afternoon. This unfortunately does affect the housekeepers cleaning schedule.
We are delighted to hear that you noticed their attention to detail and the quality of their hard work when it came to the cleanliness of the guestroom. We are proud to say that we have some of the largest suites in Winnipeg and we have added additional lighting to many of the guestrooms..... so that fact that you commented on the size and brightness of the room is appreciated. We have installed in room controls so that guests can stay and enjoy what they find to be a comfortable temperature. We understand that not every guest enjoys the same room conditions and it is important that you have control over that aspect of your stay!
Our waterpark is cleaned and monitored twice a day to ensure that the chemical levels meet health standards and we also monitor the temperature of the space to ensure that it is comfortable for all of our guests. Please note that we are in the process of updating our website and we apologize for any confusion regarding the fact that you were under the impression that the waterpark included the mineral spa as they are 2 separate entities. Your stay includes complimentary access to the indoor pool, waterslide, kiddie pool and hot tub. However, access to the therapeutic mineral pool and aroma infused saunas are at an additional charge. Hotel guests can access the mineral pool and sauna for $29 per day and the public has access for $39 per day. However, if you have a treatment in the spa at a $35 value, you have access to them both for free. We will be addressing this with our website provider in the days to come and we will make any changes necessary to clarify this fact to our guests. Thank you for bringing this to our attention.
Please note that we have addressed the additional charges you incurred during your stay regarding our pet policy. You are correct....our policy is to charge for a maximum of 4 days. I again have brought this up with the front desk manager and a memo has been posted stating such. Perhaps there was some confusion considering that your stay was extended. Do notice that we have reimbursed your credit card and we sincerely apologize for any confusion.
Please feel free to contact me directly at the hotel as we would love the opportunity to make up for the experiences that you encountered. We so look forward to Welcoming you back to the Clarion one day soon! Once again, Thank You for the feedback and we are taking every aspect of your review to heart!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

The Clarion was a clean friendly hotel. Location in the city of Winnipeg is great the Polo park shopping centre is across the street and there are a very good selection of restaurants in walking distance. The airport is very close by and easy to get to. The hotel is in need of updating the mattress in the rooms unless you like very soft beds, it was too soft for me, we were just lucky to have two full size beds so we would not collide with each other in the bed because of no mattress support.. One other thing the windows because we were on the first floor there should have been sheers alongside with the blackout curtains. That would give you more privacy when changing with out needing lights on in the room.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CMRomaniuk, Director of Sales at Clarion Hotel Winnipeg, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for posting a review as it is feedback such as yours that gives us valuable insight as to how we can improve our amenities and service. We sincerely appreciate the fact that you noticed the cleanliness of the hotel...as well as the friendliness of our staff! Our location...close to Winnipeg's largest shopping centre as well as numerous restaurants can't be beat! We are minutes from the airport and downtown. We are about to begin major renovations of our guestrooms, meeting spaces and common areas. We do consistently and systematically replace the mattresses in the hotel...as we understand that the quality of the bed is one of the most important aspects of your stay. I was surprised to hear your comments regarding the bed being too soft as usually we receive nothing but positive comments regarding such! That being said, I understand that it is difficult to appease all! Thank you for bringing the lack of sheers to our attention. We have taken your comments to heart and the plan is to provide both black out shades and sheers in all guestrooms during the renovation process. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Clarion one day soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

My girlfriend and I were planning a little staycation in Winnipeg. This was the same weekend that UFC was in town. We had already booked a couples massage at the Spa in the hotel, and I had booked a room for us that night through Redtag. However when I called a few days before just to confirm everything, the Spa appointment was booked, but there was no information for our room reservation.

Due to the UFC event, there was nothing available, at the Clarion, or anywhere else! However the Clarion was the only location that took my information down and offered to call me back if anything became available. The night before our stay, one room opened up, they contacted me and put our names down. We were excited that our plans were able to continue on, and upon arriving the next morning, the lovely lady I had been dealing with the whole time informed me that a more affordable room became available, and gave us the option as to what we wanted.

I just have to say, what started as a frustrating situation turned into an absolutely incredible weekend. I'm a firm believer in work paying off with a little help from God above, and without the care and efforts exemplified by the staff at the Clarion in Winnipeg, our weekend wouldn't have been everything we hoped it would be, and everything it turned out to be.

Thanks very much to everyone at the Clarion hotel for an absolutely great weekend and experience!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CMRomaniuk, Director of Sales at Clarion Hotel Winnipeg, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Derek, Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We appreciate the fact you realize that at times there are glitches in every system! It is our policy to try and accommodate each and every one of our guests...it's the only way to ensure repeat business. We always offer guests to go on a waiting list if rooms are not available at the time of their request as we understand the importance of offering exceptional customer service. We are ecstatic that we were able to turn the situation around for you and yours. We so look forward to seeing you again one day soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

The Clarion staff provide excellent customer service! The suite was spacious and very clean. The king size bed was so comfortable! The kids had a blast in the pool with waterside and the adults absolutely loved the mineral spa and steam room. Top notch Clarion! Excellent job! Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CMRomaniuk, Director of Sales at Clarion Hotel Winnipeg, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Gabey, Thank you for posting your review! We pride ourselves on our customer service and appreciate the fact that you noticed such! Our housekeeping staff are some of the best in the city and we are ecstatic to hear that you noticed their attention to detail! Yes...we have something to offer for everyone...adults...children...we have it all. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed the bed...as we know that is so very important to anyone staying away from home. We systematically replace beds as necessary in order to ensure that our guests are as comfortable as possible. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to the Clarion one day very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spruce Grove, Canada
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Stayed for a week on business at the end of May/13. Second business trip to this location. Reservations and check in were perfect. Found the elevated parkade walkway over to the hotel with no problem. Only one elevator was working during the week, with one shut down for repairs. The room had a wet bar in the living room side and a king bed on the bedroom side. One tip would be to have floor lamps beside the couches and lounge chairs for reading. The room is large and the perimeter lighting is low, so you do need more light to effectively read a newspaper. I was overlooking Portage Ave., 3rd level in the corner and was not bothered by road noise. The bed was very comfortable, with the only complaint being the large round pillows. I'm more of a flatter pillow guy, and these do not punch down! Did not try the lounge for a drink in the main lobby, nor the pool/spa area, but both looked very nice. What I do like about this hotel, is how large the spaces are. There is ample room wherever you go, from the lobby, to the hallways to the room. The hotel is beside polo park on the east end, where the great restaurants are located. Earl's is across the street and well recommended. The food court for the mall is at the east end also on the second floor, so you don't have to walk far if you are tired of the Original Pancake House which is connected to the west side of the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CMRomaniuk, Director of Sales at Clarion Hotel Winnipeg, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Happy Campers, We sincerely appreciate the time you took to post a review! We apologize for the fact that only 1 elevator was in working order during your stay, however, we are in the process of undergoing major repairs and renovations to every aspect of the hotel. Thank you for your understanding during this process! We are happy to hear that even though your room faced Portage Avenue...one of the major avenues in Winnipeg,.... that you were not disturbed in anyway. We have done anything and everything in our power to ensure that you have a quiet and comfortable stay and we have spent thousands of dollars soundproofing the rooms so that your stay is as enjoyable as possible. We are about to begin further renovations and we have taken your comments regarding the lighting in the rooms to heart. We have advised our contractors of the situation and it will be addressed during the renovations! As for the pillows, please note that we have a few different options to choose from. As the majority enjoy the soft fluffy pillows, we understand that this is not the case with every guest. So...we have options...for any future stays with us please advise the front desk upon booking...or upon check in as to your preference regarding pillows and we will ensure that they are brought up to your room with a smile. We do have some of the largest guestrooms and suites offered in Winnipeg as we know how important it is for guests to have their own space. Thank you for stating such. Yes, we are very lucky to be so close to Winnipeg's largest shopping mall and numerous restaurants. We are truly Winnipeg's destination hotel. We sincerely look forward to seeing you again one day soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at the Clarion while visiting family and friends in Winnipeg. We had the Moroccan Theme Suite. The suite was very large and comfortable, though the only thing that made it "Moroccan" was the palm tree-and-camel wall paper. The King+ sized bed was very comfortable and a huge highlight! The front-desk staff were helpful and allowed us late check-out to accommodate our online Spanish classes we had to do from the room that morning. We didn't try room service but instead did take-out from The Pancake House downstairs which was fast and tasty. Since there were no kids in the pool, we had a lot of fun racing down the waterslide too!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CMRomaniuk, Director of Sales at Clarion Hotel Winnipeg, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Valued Guest, We sincerely appreciate your review! We are ecstatic to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We do understand that our themed rooms are in need of renovations and we are about to begin renovations of our guestrooms in January. We will be eliminating the themed rooms and converting them into luxury suites and we are sure that they will exceed every expectation! We are excited for the renovations and know that these rooms will be the best that the city has to offer! We are consistently inspecting and replacing our beds as we know that this is the key to a comfortable stay when away from home! We always offer a late check out if it can be accommodated as customer service is at the top of our priority list. Once again...Thank you for taking the time to post a review and we sincerely look forward to welcoming you back one day soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clarion Hotel Winnipeg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel Winnipeg

Address: 1445 Portage Avenue | Winnipeg Airport / Polo Park, Winnipeg, Manitoba R3G 3P4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Manitoba > Winnipeg > Downtown Winnipeg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Winnipeg
#9 Business Hotel in Winnipeg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clarion Hotel Winnipeg 3.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Get together….reconnect….relax and explore at the Clarion!The Clarion Hotel & Suites is nestled in the hub of Winnipeg’s business, shopping and entertainment district. The Clarion features 139 world class, spacious accommodations, ranging from business suites to family guestrooms, including accessible and pet friendly rooms. Our business suites are considered some of the largest in the city and range from 500 to 800 square feet and feature French glass double sliding doors, a family room, a King size bed, a pull out sofa bed, and a granite wet bar. We also offer family guestrooms which contain two queen size beds, as well as adjoining guestrooms to accommodate every need. Stay with us in any room type and enjoy complimentary parking, local calls, wireless high speed internet, airport shuttle, mini fridge and microwave, iron, ironing board, in room coffee and tea, hair dryer and full length mirror. We also offer complimentary access to our 24 hour state of the art fitness centre, 24 hour business centre and family water park, which is complete with a 2 story waterslide, hot tub, kiddie pool and rock wall with cascading waterfall, which is yours to enjoy from 9AM to 10PM daily. We are located minutes just away from the James Armstrong Richardson International Airport and the downtown centre, and steps away from Winnipeg’s largest shopping mall, Polo Park, SilverCity Cinema’s and numerous restaurants such as the Original Pancake House, Joey, Earls, Moxie’s Classic Grill, Red Lobster Seafood, Olive Garden Italian, Montana’s Cookhouse, Tony Roma’s Steakhouse, Ray and Jerry’s and many more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Choice Canada, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and EasyToBook so you can book your Clarion Hotel Winnipeg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel And Suites
Clarion Winnipeg
Winnipeg Clarion
Clarion Hotel Winnipeg Manitoba

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Hotel Winnipeg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.