We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Hotel Winnipeg

Save Saved
You added Clarion Hotel Winnipeg to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Clarion Hotel Winnipeg
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1445 Portage Avenue | Winnipeg Airport / Polo Park, Winnipeg, Manitoba R3G 3P4, Canada (Downtown Winnipeg)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #17 of 63 hotels in Winnipeg
Brandon, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I have stayed in the Clarion numerous times there was never any issues at all. Very polite staff, very lovely rooms and a great location.The room selections vary on size however always suitable to your taste. Comfortable beds, warm blankets make it a great nights stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    85
    42
    26
    23
    24
See reviews for
58
28
10
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

I recently spent a week-end at The Clarion Hotel in Winnipeg with my husband and so enjoyed our stay. Everyone was very friendly. The room was larger than we expected, clean and quiet. The pool area with a waterslide is quite nice. Next time we will use the Spa. The Pancake House attached and the Mall so close was a bonus.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CMRomaniuk, Director of Sales at Clarion Hotel Winnipeg, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear Ray,
We sincerely appreciate the fact that you took time out of your busy day to post a review. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay. Our employees are a huge factor in the success of our hotel and we are so very proud of the exceptional service that they provide. We work hard everyday to ensure that our guests receive the best service possible and we are delighted to hear that it does not go unnoticed. We look forward to seeing you back at the Clarion one day soon....and YES...do take advantage of the spa next time...it is well worth it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

This hotel was recommended to us by a friend who had stayed here previously. He was impressed by his stay so we decided to give it a try. Upon check-in we were greeted by the friendly staff at the front desk. We were in town for a night and stayed in a business suite. The room was spacious, clean and very comfortable (and great wifi signal). The attached parkade was very convenient. We were able to park our vehicle overnight at no extra charge. I should mention there were several handicap accessible parking stalls which was very thoughtful. They have a very nice pool and spa facility with an attached mineral pool, jacuzzi and sauna. In the evening we headed down to the lobby lounge for a few drinks. We met Nahom the bartender, he was extremely polite and helpful in suggesting places to go on a Saturday night in Winnipeg. Everything is conveniently close to the hotel. Next to a major shopping centre and minutes from downtown and the airport. We would like to thank all the helpful staff at the Clarion who made our stay enjoyable. Looking forward to staying here again! Overall experience was fantastic!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CMRomaniuk, Director of Sales at Clarion Hotel Winnipeg, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear Ron,
Thank you so very much for taking the time to post a review. We appreciate your feedback and are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will be sure to share your comments with both management and staff as we work diligently to ensure that our guests receive the very best! We sincerely look forward to Welcoming you back to the Clarion on your next visit to Winnipeg!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flin Flon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

If you want a consistently nice stay and great location you can,t beat the Clarion. You will pay a few dollars more each night, but especially if you don,t have a vehicle it is so close to everything. Steps away from a great mall. Other shopping and dining areas all around. Easy to hop a bus to travel up and down Portage Ave. The shuttle can be arranged for medical trips.

Bedding is good. Rooms are comfortable and quiet. Staff are helpful. Nice pool and water slide. Pancake house restaurant attached.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, theme rooms are available
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CMRomaniuk, Director of Sales at Clarion Hotel Winnipeg, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear Barbara,
We appreciate the fact that you took the time to post a review and we are elated to hear your positive comments! Many of our guests are repeat customers and we know that it is due to the quality of our product, our exceptional service and our convenient location....Thank You for noticing! Yes, our prices may be a little higher than other hotel's in the area but please note that we do offer the following amenities complimentary: parking, airport shuttle, local telephone calls, WiFi, use of computer in the lobby, use of fitness centre and access to the family water park. These added features, coupled with our product, service and location make us the perfect hotel for any guest. Once again, Thank you for your feedback and we look forward to seeing you again one day soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

We try to have a nice spa day every so often as a couple without the kids. This time was the first time we included an overnight stay with no kids. It was also our first time at the Clarion for both the spa services and the hotel stay. We had a theme room, because we were unable to pull up the video showing the rooms on line prior to booking we had to wing it. The front desk staff were very courteous, our room was bigger than we expected, very clean and very quiet. We used the services of the spa which was very relaxing. I didn't notice anything different about the mineral pool that I had heard so much about. We were lucky that the hotel wasn't full of kids because the main pool is just on the other side of the spa area and I imagine it could get quite loud at times.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CMRomaniuk, Director of Sales at Clarion Hotel Winnipeg, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear Bonnie,
Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We are very lucky to have the spa on site as it does make for a relaxing get away for anyone who would like to partake.
I would like to take this opportunity to let you know what the difference is regarding the mineral pool. The mineral pool contains dead sea salt water that is beneficial for conditions such as rheumatological conditions, psoriasis, skin ageing, stress, insomnia, as well as muscle aches and pains. The temperature of the mineral pool is about 2 degrees warmer than the temperature of your body....thus allowing the body to absorb the minerals and release toxins.
As our complete renovations are right around the corner, we have also taken into account your comments regarding the main pools proximity to the spa area and we would like to ensure you that we have spoken to the design team to see what can be done to correct the situation.
We appreciate your comments regarding the courteous service that you received and that you enjoyed your services at the spa. We sincerely look forward to your next visit to the Clarion!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rankin Inlet, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Stayed at the Clarion twice in December. I can't speak for everyone but for someone who lives in the Arctic, this hotel meets all of my requirements for a stay "down South."

First off, the staff were very courteous. We carry extra bags with us when we come down from Nunavut so we can bring back extra stuff when we return. We had to overnight in Winnipeg on the first night of our vacation and again on the last night of our vacation to Mexico. The staff were super helpful and let us store our large tote at the hotel while we were in Mexico because we would be returning 12 days later and would fill it up the day before we went back to the North. This helped us a great deal as we didn't want to carry this extra piece of luggage to Mexico and wouldn't be needing it until the last day of our vacation.

Secondly, the location of the hotel can't be beat. Awesome Earl's restaurant across the street, a great shopping mall (Polo Park), and a Silver City movie theatre. Coming from a small town in the North, this is exactly what I'm looking for when I get a few days in Winnipeg. I have stayed in downtown Winnipeg and I really didn't find that there was much to do down there. I much prefer this location. What's great about this hotel is that you don't need a car at all. They offer a free shuttle to the airport every hour and everything else is pretty much within walking distance of the hotel.

I've stayed at some of the airport hotels and while some of them are very nice, you really need a car or taxi if you want to do anything.

I can't comment on the food or pool as I didn't get a chance to use either (Earl's and Joeys right out the door... and a Starbucks in the mall entrance (a 2 min walk away)). My wife really enjoyed the spa services. They were a bit pricey but this is to be expected in hotels. Wifi was great and the room was clean. At the end of the day, those are two very important things to me.

This isn't a 5 star hotel and you aren't going to get pampered (unless you go to the spa!) but it was absolutely perfect for what I wanted on my couple of days in the Peg.

This is now my go-to hotel for all of my trips to Winnipeg. There are some other hotels that are closer to the airport that may be slightly nicer and that's fine if you just want to go crash for the night and fly out the next day, but for me, I like to get out and enjoy some of the things I don't get in the North.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CMRomaniuk, Director of Sales at Clarion Hotel Winnipeg, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear Andrew,
Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review. We pride ourselves on going above and beyond to ensure that our guests enjoy the best stay possible...we are extatic to hear that you noticed! We have a number of loyal guests that stay with us from Northern Manitoba and we are certain that this is not only because of our exceptional service, but also our convenient location. We are right across the street from Polo Park shopping centre, cinemas, and numerous restaurants. IKEA, Assinniboine Park, downtown Winnipeg and the airport are just minutes away. There is no need to go anywhere else....we are your one stop shop!
Once again Andrew, Thank You so much for posting your review. I will be sure to share your comments with our management and staff. We sincerely look forward to your next visit to the Clarion....safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manitoba
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

I just stayed at the Clarion for the first time. I was travelling with my busy two year old and a bit nervous about it as my husband wasn't with us. Everyone at the hotel was very helpful. The front desk staff were always so helpful and accommodating, the gentleman that drives the shuttle and does various other jobs was SO helpful and went out of his way to help me. We ordered room service for dinner, the food was not only great, reasonably priced but the lady who brought it up was sweet and accommodating also. The pool is the perfect temperature and using it was actually enjoyable, my little guy wasn't freezing and blue after 10 minutes like some pools. The hotel itself is clean, you don't feel the need to walk around the room in shoes and the bathrooms are clean and well looked after! Everything was perfect. The beds are very comfortable and so is the bedding. The housekeeping staff were very friendly and pleasant also. I LOVED our stay here and will always stay here when we are in town. We have to stay for a month in Winnipeg and have already booked our entire stay at the Clarion in Polo park! It's a walk to so many different restaurants, right across from a Starbucks, the mall, couldn't get a better location either!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CMRomaniuk, Director of Sales at Clarion Hotel Winnipeg, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear Jenn,
WOW...Thank you for the feedback! We are so very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We know how stressful it can be staying at a new hotel by yourself with an infant and we are elated to hear that you found our staff to be friendly, curteous and accommodating. We take great pride in our employees as, to us, this is the key to success in the hotel industry. I will be sure to share your comments with both managment and staff.
Our maintenance and housekeeping departments will be excited to review your comments regarding the cleanliness of the hotel and guestrooms. They work tirelessly everyday to ensure that the hotel meets and exceeds the expectations of the franchise as well as the guest.
Jenn, once again, Thank you so bery much for taking the time to write a review. We look forward to Welcoming you back on day soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clarion Hotel Winnipeg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel Winnipeg

Address: 1445 Portage Avenue | Winnipeg Airport / Polo Park, Winnipeg, Manitoba R3G 3P4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Manitoba > Winnipeg > Downtown Winnipeg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Winnipeg
#6 Romantic Hotel in Winnipeg
#9 Business Hotel in Winnipeg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clarion Hotel Winnipeg 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Get together….reconnect….relax and explore at the Clarion!The Clarion Hotel & Suites is nestled in the hub of Winnipeg’s business, shopping and entertainment district. The Clarion features 139 world class, spacious accommodations, ranging from business suites to family guestrooms, including accessible and pet friendly rooms. Our business suites are considered some of the largest in the city and range from 500 to 800 square feet and feature French glass double sliding doors, a family room, a King size bed, a pull out sofa bed, and a granite wet bar. We also offer family guestrooms which contain two queen size beds, as well as adjoining guestrooms to accommodate every need. Stay with us in any room type and enjoy complimentary parking, local calls, wireless high speed internet, airport shuttle, mini fridge and microwave, iron, ironing board, in room coffee and tea, hair dryer and full length mirror. We also offer complimentary access to our 24 hour state of the art fitness centre, 24 hour business centre and family water park, which is complete with a 2 story waterslide, hot tub, kiddie pool and rock wall with cascading waterfall, which is yours to enjoy from 9AM to 10PM daily. We are located minutes just away from the James Armstrong Richardson International Airport and the downtown centre, and steps away from Winnipeg’s largest shopping mall, Polo Park, SilverCity Cinema’s and numerous restaurants such as the Original Pancake House, Joey, Earls, Moxie’s Classic Grill, Red Lobster Seafood, Olive Garden Italian, Montana’s Cookhouse, Tony Roma’s Steakhouse, Ray and Jerry’s and many more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, HotelsClick, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Clarion Hotel Winnipeg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel And Suites
Clarion Winnipeg
Winnipeg Clarion
Clarion Hotel Winnipeg Manitoba

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Hotel Winnipeg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.