We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ruined our wedding night” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Winnipeg Airport - Polo Park

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Winnipeg Airport - Polo Park to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Winnipeg Airport - Polo Park
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1740 Ellice Avenue, Winnipeg, Manitoba R3H 0B3, Canada (St. James Industrial)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #16 of 64 Hotels in Winnipeg
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Ruined our wedding night”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We had made arrangments to stay here on our wedding night. Made reservations months prior and even called a few weeks ahead of time to make sure we had the room and let them know we would be arriving later in the evening. Not a problem they said. Upon arrival they informed us our room was givin away. We waited in there freezing cold lobby for about 40min till the staff member raced us to a hotel in the airport called the sheraton in a downgraded room. Was horrible. I fell asleep listening to my wife cry. The next day they picked us up and took us back to the holiday inn to get my truck. I ran in to talk to a manager and he told me there was nothin he can do. Now i stuck waiting for up to 48hrs to get a response... Nice service once again...

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DMBruzell, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Winnipeg Airport - Polo Park, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Joe from Winnipeg
First we would like to apologize for the less-than-satisfactory experiences you and your new wife encountered the evening of June 24th . As I had explained to you during our 2 conversations prior to this review, there was a number of unforeseen circumstances that ended in the double booking of our one Jacuzzi suite. As you know we made every effort to find you a Jacuzzi suite at another property , unfortunately none where available. As our hotel was sold out that evening. we where only able to find you a nice room at a very nice hotel.
Mr. Joe I can ensure that we have reviewed everything that lead to this unfortunate incident and we are working to ensure this experience is not repeated. I know we could not recreate your honeymoon evening, but I hope that you and your wife enjoyed your evening with us last weekend.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    44
    14
    6
    4
See reviews for
32
21
7
51
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

Spent the last 6 nights here. Rooms are modern and well appointed. Nice to have free wifi and HDTV, not the norm in most Canadian hotels. Walls are thin and you will hear your neighbors, but wasn't a major issue for me. Lobby area is nice, has two iMacs for use and free coffee and water. Ate one night at the bar and food was very good but the service was quite slow. Only real complaint is parking. The stalls are way too small, even compact cars were unable to park properly. We had to let everyone out of the car before parking. This should be fixed.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DMBruzell, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Winnipeg Airport - Polo Park, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Valued Guest;
Thank you. It was a great pleasure to read your kind review which you have posted on Trip Advisor following your stay with us this June. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, that our location was well suited to your needs and that you were able to enjoy our many great amenities including The Hub Restaurant. We do apologize for the less-than-satisfactory experiences you regarding the noise coming from the hall ways and our parking stalls. I can assure you that our parking stalls are up to code, but I will speak to our ground crew to see if we are able to enlarge a few stalls around the hotel for the larger cars and trucks. We do hope that you will choose to stay with us again should your travels bring to back to Winnipeg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

This is a newer hotel. As such everything is relatively fresh. The rooms were roomy and comfortable. Front desk staff attentive. The best thing was that the shuttle from the airport that starts at 5 am was made available to me at 3 am as I had a 5 am flight. Small attention to details like this will keep me coming back

Room Tip: Food at the bar was surprisingly good
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DMBruzell, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Winnipeg Airport - Polo Park, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Mr. Binky
Thank you for the very kind words and the vote of confidence. Although we are new our staff works very hard to meet and exceed all guest expectations. It is very reassuring to hear that we are doing just that. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time your travels bring you to Winnipeg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

Wasn't really sure when first booking but once we arrived we where made to feel right at home. Check-in went smooth and the room was great. Traveled with the kids and the room had 1 queen and a set of twin bunks so the girls where very impresses. Modern room and everything was as advertised. The pool was small but was very clean and enjoyable. Would defenetly recommend staying here!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DMBruzell, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Winnipeg Airport - Polo Park, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Flyntoque
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and thank you very much for your kind words, everyone here at the hotel appreciates knowing that they have done their job in providing a memorable stay for each and every guest, and it is especially gratify to have our guest take time out their busy day to let us know we have done our job. We look forward to welcoming you back to Winnipeg and our hotel. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meaford, Canada
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

I found the staff extremely helpful on the several occasions I called in about my reservation. I called prior to arrival to see if the hotel could recommend a taxi service being that I have never visited Winnipeg. They told me to call when I arrived that evening. I called and within 5 mins a shuttle arrived. I found the staff equally pleasant in person. The morning I returned to the airport the night staff shuttled me to the airport before going off duty, remarkable.The hotel was clean and modern. The rooms and mattress were extremely comfortable. I would recommend this hotel to friends and will be staying again when I visit Winnipeg. Next visit I hope I have time to enjoy the pool and dining facility.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DMBruzell, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Winnipeg Airport - Polo Park, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Ms. Kym
Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a nice review of the Holiday Inn Winnipeg Airport Polo Park. The best compliment that we can possibly receive is that our guests can say that they would recommend us to other travelers. I will be sure to past your comments off to our guest service agents. Thank you again for this. I look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel for any of your future visits to our great city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Pas, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Nice hotel in a central location. Pool was fun for the kids, and nice and quiet for the little kids' naps. Would have been nice to have breakfast included in the stay for the price of the room. It was a bit expensive, but a large selection made the breakfast nice for one morning.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DMBruzell, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Winnipeg Airport - Polo Park, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Ms Daisy from The Pas
Thank you. It was a great pleasure to read your kind review which you have posted on Trip Advisor following your stay with us . It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that your kids enjoyed the pool and our Rain Forest Splash Pad. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel for any of your future visits to our great city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
152 hotel reviews
Reviews in 101 cities Reviews in 101 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Two night stay at this great property. Very modern decor throughout the property. The room was pretty big and very stylish. Very clean room as well. Comfortable beds for a good night sleep. Breakfast was great and staff was polite and friendly, totally what you can expect from Friendly Manitoba! I recommend this hotel to anyone going to Winnipeg. Go jets Go!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DMBruzell, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Winnipeg Airport - Polo Park, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Sens1992 Guest

Thank you for your comments.
We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us in May. Our team strives to create lasting memorable moments for our guests’ and we are glad that we were able to do this for you. We also thank you for sharing your nice comments with others. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Winnipeg Airport - Polo Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Winnipeg Airport - Polo Park

Address: 1740 Ellice Avenue, Winnipeg, Manitoba R3H 0B3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Manitoba > Winnipeg > St. James Industrial
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Winnipeg
#9 Family Hotel in Winnipeg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Winnipeg Airport - Polo Park 3*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Winnipeg’s New Holiday Inn, we are Winnipeg’s most technologically advanced hotel, offering all our guests up to 250MB of download speed & FREE HIGH SPEED INTERNET Access. True Hi-Definition channels and movies in every room; The Hub at Holiday Inn offers many tech-savvy fun attractions to keep your stay interactive. Holiday Inn Winnipeg Airport Polo Park is within walking distance of many favorite restaurants and bars and Winnipeg’s largest shopping complex, Polo Park Shopping Centre. For those guests that prefer to “Dine In”, our Hub provides breakfast, lunch, and dinner options, as well as Mixology Drinks that will tantalize your taste buds. Holiday Inn Winnipeg Airport Polo Park provides our guests a State of the Art Fitness Center and a beautiful steam room. The Rainforest Splash Park is a colorful interactive waterpark experience that will have children smiling their entire stay. With 15,000 square feet of meeting and conference space, all fully equipped with hi-tech peripherals to keep your attendees captivated. From our Guest Service to our Banquet and Catering Team , our members bring years of experience and will ensure all events are executed to your specifications and expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Winnipeg Airport - Polo Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Winnipeg Airport - Polo Park Manitoba

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Winnipeg Airport - Polo Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.