We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Downtown location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Humphry Inn & Suites Winnipeg

Save Saved
You added Humphry Inn & Suites Winnipeg to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Humphry Inn & Suites Winnipeg
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   260 Main Street, Winnipeg, Manitoba R3C 1A9, Canada (Downtown Winnipeg)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 64 Hotels in Winnipeg
Regina, Canada
1 review
“Great Downtown location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

Our team just finished staying at this location for a baseball tournament. Great location for our group, close to a number of restaurants and to our park location. Hot breakfast each morning was great for our team of teenagers. Rooms were very nice, hotel was very quiet even though it was full there were no issues with noise other than some street noise from traffic below but that is with any downtown hotel. Yes the parking is not ideal, too few spots in the lot forced some of our group to use the hotel overflow parking across the street but not a big issue. Staff was very helpful and accommodating. Overall, it was a great hotel for our teams need.

Room Tip: Rooms on te Eaast side face the street which could be a bit noisier than the west side rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vivian j, Director of Sales at Humphry Inn & Suites Winnipeg, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear KM1516,

Thank you for your review, it was a pleasure accommodating your sports team!

Its great to hear that you had a quiet stay at our hotel, and were able to make use of our free hot breakfast buffet. Parking at Humphry Inn is completely free and from time to time our lot does fill up, however located right across the street is our overflow parking which our parking lot attendant will direct you to.

We look forward to welcoming you along with your team back next year!

Have a safe summer!

Warm regards,

Chris Martin
Sales & Marketing Manager
204 942 4222
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    90
    18
    8
    6
See reviews for
57
59
22
64
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Brampton, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

Flew in to Winnipeg and stayed here one night before catching a train the next day. The location is excellent, with the Forks (the Winnipeg waterfront), the Human Rights museum and the train station all literally minutes away on foot. The room furnishings are somewhat bland, but the place is clean and comfortable. The breakfast area downstairs is bright and airy. It did fill up while I was eating: people were waiting to snag a table. Breakfast is a buffet with both cold (bread, bagels, yogurt, cereal) and hot (eggs, waffles, bacon, toast) items available. The staff were friendly and helpful. There is a pool. Given the excellent downtown location, I consider this hotel a good value for what I paid.

Room Tip: There is an active rail line across the street from the main entrance, so if you are a light sleeper...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vivian j, Director of Sales at Humphry Inn & Suites Winnipeg, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear gnb2504,

Thank you for staying at our hotel when in Winnipeg, we're are pleased to exceed your expectations!

We are proud to see that you mentioned " I consider this hotel a good value for the price I paid", with free extras like parking and hot breakfast we try to be the idea location in downtown Winnipeg.

We look forward to welcoming you back!

Warm regards,

Chris Martin
Sales & Marketing Manager
204 942 4222
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dauphin, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

With having lived in Winnipeg for a few years, I got to experience certain areas of the city. I never would have expected such a hidden gem in the downtown Winnipeg area! As soon as we arrived to the hotel, the staff were not only courteous and professional, but friendly and genuine. We were treated like human beings every minute we interacted with the staff. I'll go back just for this factor! And then breakfast: AMAZING. The spread was fantastic! I had the eggs, with sausage, a muffin, orange juice, and coffee. A wide spread for breakfast, and it was tasty -- important way to start your day, so I recommend the breakfast! The dining area is lovely, however if you'd feel more comfortable eating in your room, I saw people taking their breakfast up to their suites.

The carpet, walls, decor, everything appeared clean, and very well cared for. There was never a moment when I found myself thinking, "Gross! DO something about this!" As well, it's a fact that many hotels use crazy patterned carpets to help hide the stains, (restaurants do this as well), and their carpets actually had a really nice design! It made the atmosphere feel a little more classy, rather than (as an example), recently we stayed at the [expensive] Forks hotel...their carpet made me feel like shooting a terrible '80s porn flick. No joke. The Humphry takes a lot of care in their branding and presence, and it makes for a different feeling experience -- comfortable, at home, but with a touch of class!

The bed was the most comfortable thing EVER!! And I'm grateful for that, as I was in for three days for surgery. Something that I'd never expect to find in a hotel room: My hotel bed had three different types of pillows :) Many hotels that I've stayed in just have "two standard sized pillows," (and if you're lucky, there may or may not be an extra one in the closet!) Here, my bed had a couple of really high, fluffy pillows, some lower standard sized pillows, and my [new favourite]: one cylinder shaped pillow, that I actually found to be the most comfortable for my neck :) I'm now using one at home!

Oh, I haven't even gotten into the LOCATION! Just a short walk away from:
- The Forks **New addition to the Forks area includes the Museum of Human Rights
- MTS Centre
- Underground shopping mall
- Tim Horton's
- Boston Pizza
- The Millenium Library (which includes cafe, The Human Bean)
- Earl's Restaurant

We got a two double bed room, which included a nice desk (they gave us the wifi password, for free wifi use!), mini fridge, and microwave (HUGE bonus if you're planning on staying there for awhile, and don't want to eat out all the time).

I'm a smoker, and there is a bench out back for smokers, as well as outdoor ashtrays. The grounds were tidy, and even the hotel guest smokers I ran into were quite nice. Many people in business suits as well, so this isn't the type of hotel where you'll find creepy, dirty people. All seemed respectful, professional, and quite polite. I can't express enough just how friendly and helpful the staff were!! The rooms were also quiet; not once did we hear any neighbour noises. The bathroom was also clean, fully stocked with everything we needed, and the shower was actually simple to figure out how to use (*some hotels have shower fixtures that are so out-of-this-world just to seem higher class -- this shower was just perfect. And CLEAN!!) The air-conditioner was also in perfect shape.

We didn't check out the pool, but I imagine it's lovely! Maybe next time. I'm hoping to come back for the end of the month, and I'll be back!!

Ideal if you're coming in for a Winnipeg Jets hockey game, because once traffic lets out after the game, you could be spending the next +hour just sitting in the parking lot, waiting to get out.

**I will say that, while this hotel is awesome, it's not in a good location if you're next stop is the airport. The Winnipeg Airport is off of Portage Avenue, from St. James, this hotel is located at the opposite end of Portage Avenue. If you do wish to stay here and hit the airport, I recommend leaving at least 30 minutes earlier, to allow for potential rush hour traffic. (In quiet times, traffic isn't all that bad in the city, and you can go from Portage and Main Street all the way to the airport in -- I'll estimate -- 10-15 minutes or less).

Since it's so close to the Forks, and so many other points of interest, among many other factors, when I come into the city from now on, I want to stay only at this hotel. Thanks for the awesome stay, you guys! Will be back!!

Room Tip: Our room over looked The Forks, and the corner of St. Mary's and Main Street. With such beautifu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vivian j, Director of Sales at Humphry Inn & Suites Winnipeg, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Jen D,

Thank you very much for your kind words, and taking time to tell others about your experience!

We are really excited to know you got to take advantage of the great amenities that Humphry Inn has to offer, as well as the surrounding area.

We look forward to welcoming you back to your hotel of choice the next time you're in Winnipeg!

Enjoy the rest of your summer.

Warm regards,

Chris Martin
Sales & Marketing Manager
204 942 4222
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Pros- staff friendly and price down town.
Cons-parking lot small and had no place to park coming back at 830, carpets dirty and need updating, pool over chlorinated, hot tub luke warm, not enough seating for breakfast could use more chairs.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vivian j, Director of Sales at Humphry Inn & Suites Winnipeg, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear Shannon M:

Thank you for taking time to review our hotel on Tripadvisor, your feedback is valued.

I am pleased to hear that our staff provided a true Humphry experience while you here, taking care of our guests is what we do! it is however disappointing to understand that you had a hard time finding parking, when our main parking lot becomes full we still provide free parking in our overflow parking lot, which our lot attendants would have been more than happy to point out. Our pool chlorine levels are up to code with Manitoba Health Regulations and is tested on a regular basis throughout the day, I will however double check with my maintenance department to ensure the correct levels.

I would love the opportunity to speak with you personally, please contact me at the information listed below.

Have a fun and safe summer!

Warm regards,

Chris Martin
Sales & Marketing Manager
204 942 4222
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay Ontario Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

We just returned from a 2 night stay at this hotel. It was booked by phone at the rate of $110. Upon arrival we were warmly greeted by Bill at the front desk. He was very helpful, mapping out places to eat. We had connecting rooms. One with a king and the other with 2 queen. I am very picky and found the rooms to be spacious and clean. We made our way to "The Forks". Which is a neat little area of shops and eating. It was about a 10 minute walk. The continental breakfasts were good. Enough variety and food to start your day. We spent the day shopping at Polo Park which again with Bill's help we found easily and was a short drive away. We walked our kids to a concert at the MTS and it was very convenient, a short few blocks away. We would stay here again. Another thing.......we loved that there was a parking attendant during the evening. It can be a bit sketchy downtown and made us feel better that our vehicle was being watched. Oh and the free wifi was awesome when you are travelling with teenagers!

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vivian j, Director of Sales at Humphry Inn & Suites Winnipeg, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear Kerry M:

Thank you for your great review, your kind words are keep us wanting to do better!

Bill is an excellent addition to the Humphry Inn & Suites team, I will be sure to pass on your kind words, I know he will appreciate them.

Its great to know that you were able to visit some great tourist attractions and visit some restaurants in the area close to our hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our beautiful city and hotel.

Enjoy your summer!

Warm regards,

Chris Martin
Sales & Marketing Manager
204 942 4222
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

From the friendly front desk staff, location, FREE parking, great complimentary hot breakfast, comfy beds, to the overall comfortable safe feeling in the hotel. Pool, hot tub and steam room, well-equipped gym and handy laundry room. Loved our stay and would recommend to even my pickiest friends.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vivian j, Director of Sales at Humphry Inn & Suites Winnipeg, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear PixieGS:

Thank you for your kind words, its our pleasure to have you as our guest, and have you trust us as your hotel of choice when staying in Winnipeg.

We look forward to welcoming you back, along with your friends!

Warm regards,

Chris Martin
Sales & Marketing Manager
204 942 4222
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Fargo
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

My brother, a friend, and I came to Winnipeg to attend Fargo-Moorhead RedHawks vs. Winnipeg Goldeyes baseball games at nearby Shaw Park and to visit friends. We each wanted our own bed. No problem here with a double queen studio. The room was large, very nice and also quiet, even though the hotel is located on busy Main Street. They seemed to have thought of everything you might want in your room. We were next to an ice machine and never heard any noise there. There is also a pool and exercise room. The staff were all very nice, the elevators fast, and there was free parking, which is not always found in Winnipeg. They have wonderful breakfasts with hot things such as bacon, hash browns, French toast, sausage, etc. in addition to fresh fruit and mixed fruit bowls as well as yogurt and all the usual cereal and breakfast items. Coffee, tea and hot chocolate are available at all times. Since I have nothing negative to report, we all plan to be back again next year or any other time we are in Winnipeg. Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vivian j, Director of Sales at Humphry Inn & Suites Winnipeg, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear RedHawksFan:

Thank you for choosing Humphry Inn & Suites when staying in Winnipeg, we appreciate your business and kind review.

We are pleased to hear that you will be staying with us on future trips, and are exited to welcome you back soon!

Warm regards,

Chris Martin
Sales & Marketing Manager
204 942 4222
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Humphry Inn & Suites Winnipeg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Humphry Inn & Suites Winnipeg

Address: 260 Main Street, Winnipeg, Manitoba R3C 1A9, Canada
Location: Canada > Manitoba > Winnipeg > Downtown Winnipeg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Winnipeg
#13 Romantic Hotel in Winnipeg
#14 Business Hotel in Winnipeg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Humphry Inn & Suites Winnipeg 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Humphry Inn & Suites hotel in Winnipeg sits in the heart of the city. Within two blocks of our hotel in Winnipeg you'll find The Forks, a 56-acre site that is full of parks, outdoor activities, restaurants and many free activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, Reservation Counter, Booking.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Humphry Inn & Suites Winnipeg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Humphry Inn & Suites Winnipeg Hotel Winnipeg
Humphry Inn And Suites Winnipeg
Hampton Inn Winnipeg
Winnipeg Hampton Inn
Humphry Inn & Suites Winnipeg Manitoba

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Humphry Inn & Suites Winnipeg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.