We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really fast internet!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Humphry Inn & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Humphry Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Humphry Inn & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   260 Main Street, Winnipeg, Manitoba R3C 1A9, Canada (Downtown Winnipeg)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 64 Hotels in Winnipeg
Sequim, Washington
Top Contributor
219 reviews 219 reviews
158 hotel reviews
Reviews in 145 cities Reviews in 145 cities
178 helpful votes 178 helpful votes
“Really fast internet!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

Humphry Inn and Suites in Winnipeg is a nice property. I reserved a king studio and was very impressed with the quality of the room. Nicely sized room with king bed, sofa, dresser, coffee table, lounge chair with ottoman, desk with adjustable chair, microwave, refrigerator, wet bar and a large bathroom The hotel was completely full because of the curling tournament and the staff still was able to serve the hot and cold breakfast that was included in the rate.

Wifi and/or an Ethernet jack and cord was high speed DSL at 120+ Mbgs. The hotel has a central downtown location and is within two blocks of the VIA Rail station. Made the reservation directly on the hotel's website and received a favorable rate. The only downside was a $500 hold, plus the room rate, on my credit card at check-in. Of course that hold went away when I checked out the next day.

Overall, the Humphry Inn is a good choice in downtown Winnipeg, especially if you are traveling on VIA Rail. The hotel is clean and well maintained. I enjoyed my stay and loved the very fast internet.

Room Tip: Stay on the city side of the hotel for a quieter room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    105
    19
    10
    6
See reviews for
67
72
27
77
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Thunder Bay, Canada
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

For a cheaper hotel, this was perfect. Room was quiet (despite being next to the elevators) and clean. Room was larger than expected and had hair dryer, iron, shampoo, conditioner, shower gel, and make-up remover pad. Parking was free (and there was a plug-in for the block heater); breakfast was free (pancakes and sausage one day and cheese omelette and bacon the other day plus good selection of fruit, cereal, coffees/tea/hot chocolate, and baking); free wifi; lots of TV channels. There was a pool but we didn't check that out. Front desk was very friendly and quick to help. Close to The Forks marketplace and Human Rights Museum. Area was perhaps a bit scummy - other than The Forks, not sure there was anything else to walk to, but we don't know the city really and found taxis a cheap and convenient way to get around - it was freezing cold so a walk of more than 10min was out of the question.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bent NM
Top Contributor
341 reviews 341 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 231 cities Reviews in 231 cities
239 helpful votes 239 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Humphry was formerly a Hampton Inn and retains much of the Hilton character but with a few small differences. It is clean and comfortable. The staff is friendly and helpful. It lies just a couple of blocks from the train depot and the Forks -- easy walking distance.
Parking is tight and Humphry is in an area of limited parking and aggressive towing. The front of the building is well lit and has heavy traffic, but they say don't walk through the back doors after dark. Breakfast is excellent, but the thin plastic cutlery has trouble cutting butter or omelets.
Curiously, the chambermaids will not accept a tip until the day you check out.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brunswick, Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night. Was participating in CIBC Run For The Cure that weekend which takes place at Shaw Park close by.

Check in was smooth, room was good, included breakfast was good, location was great (close to the forks, downtown, exchange district etc). Price was great too.

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

The room was lovely, great location (walked to the Forks during our stay). BUT - we asked to change our length of stay (took 30 min phone conversation bc the hotel was 'full'). Then when we asked for late check out we were told the hotel was full and it could not be accommodated. Surprisingly the next morning we were 'their only check out'.

We were traveling with 2 small children. This was a big problem for us.

Breakfast was ok. Nice spread.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide River, Australia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights for a friend's wedding in Winnipeg. The room and bed were comfortable and clean. The buffet breakfast was pretty good. Overall it was reasonable value for money. The staff were helpful- when my dress ripped 5 minutes before leaving for the wedding they has some emergency sowing kits which were super handy!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We stayed in this hotel while visiting relatives. We found the staff friendly and helpful. The room was clean and with a large flat screen TV, a microwave and a fridge. No complaints about anything except the pillows were too hard. Price was reasonable for a downtown hotel. The breakfast was good! Would stay here again

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Humphry Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Humphry Inn & Suites

Address: 260 Main Street, Winnipeg, Manitoba R3C 1A9, Canada
Location: Canada > Manitoba > Winnipeg > Downtown Winnipeg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Winnipeg
#5 Romantic Hotel in Winnipeg
#8 Business Hotel in Winnipeg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Humphry Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Humphry Inn & Suites is conveniently located in downtown Winnipeg near many corporate offices, entertainment venues, retail outlets, and Winnipeg tourist attractions including: the Winnipeg Convention Centre, MTS Sports Centre, Winnipeg's Union Station, the Forks Market, and now open is our neighbor the Canadian Museum for Human Rights. Our staff and management pride ourselves in providing a unique experience by offering a combination luxury, convenience, knowledgeable staff and above all else affordability. Humphry Inn & Suites is happy to provide each of our guests with the following Resort-Style Amenities: • FREE Hot Breakfast Buffet • FREE Parking • FREE 24 Hour Coffee & Tea Bar • FREE High Speed Wireless Internet • 24 Hour Business Centre • Onsite Fitness Centre • Onsite Salt Water Pool & Steam Room • FREE Daily News Paper • Onsite Guest Laundry Facilities • FREE Local Phone Calls ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Humphry Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Humphry Inn & Suites Winnipeg Hotel Winnipeg
Humphry Inn And Suites Winnipeg
Hampton Inn Winnipeg
Winnipeg Hampton Inn
Humphry Inn & Suites Winnipeg, Manitoba

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Humphry Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.