We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looking for a hotel in Winnipeg, Canada?” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites Winnipeg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Fairfield Inn & Suites Winnipeg to your Saves list
Fairfield Inn & Suites Winnipeg
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1301 Ellice Avenue, Winnipeg, Manitoba R3G 0G1, Canada (Downtown Winnipeg)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #20 of 63 Hotels in Winnipeg
Las Vegas, Nevada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Looking for a hotel in Winnipeg, Canada?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

The Marriott Fairfield Inn is the place to stay in Winnipeg, Canada!
This hotel is less then 3 years old and it's location is easy accessible to shopping and the downtown area. Very clean and fresh!
Front office staff our most helpful and go out of their way to make you feel right at home! As a matter of fact, what stands out about Canadians in general and Manitobans especially, they are are friendly and most helpful . (The province lives up to their name as" FRIENDLY MANATOBA")!!
Very good FREE breakfast served daily for guests.
Even though this hotel is located some 15 minutes away from the airport, the hotel provides free shuttle service. ( City Bus service to any where in the city is excellent)
They also will drive you to most anywhere within the city if you ask.!!
Polo Park shopping mall is nearby with Olive Garden, Red Lobster and other good restaurants located just a short walk away from there. If your looking for a Great Greek restaurant, bare none - Try Homers on Ellice Avenue,( to far to walk ) Uta and husband George, serve nothing but the finest healthy food to be had! ( the late Greek movie & Kojack star and his brother were regular customers when they came to Winnipeg. Other prominent people continue to eat there). It is located near the downtown area with it's many shops.
If you like to fish, Manitoba has great fishing lakes within driving distance.
I found the best rental car rates to be PAYLESS Car rental on line for my 7 day stay.( book ahead for good rates). Look for an economical car such as a Kia Rio( new) to rent as gas ran at this writing at 1.20 CDN dollars per liter. About $ 4.60 per gallon ( their on the British liter system).
The US Dollar is worth $ 1.10 to the Canadian dollar at this time, so you gain 10% on your money.
Wishing you great travels!
Sydney Paul

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick M, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Winnipeg, responded to this review, August 16, 2014
Dear Sydney,

Thank you so much for your kind comments, which have been shared with the whole team. We look forward to welcoming you to the Fairfield Inn & Suites Winnipeg again soon.

Kind regards
Patrick Martis
Hotel Manager
pmartis@fairfieldinnwinnipeg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    63
    26
    7
    2
See reviews for
45
30
11
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

This was my first time staying at this property and it won't be my last. The front desk staff were amazing and so accommodating! Melissa and Patricia were working at the desk and they were so personable. I had forgotten my toothbrush and one was sent up within what felt like a minute. I had inquired about a shuttle to the downtown area and they were able to accommodate me no problem, which is rare for a hotel to offer a shuttle service within a 5km radius. Evelyn the shuttle driver was so friendly as well. The hotel looks like the perfect hotel for a family with the pool access and FREE hot breakfast which was great but also for ANY guest looking for a prime Winnipeg location. I haven't had the best luck with hotel beds and showers but here the bed was like sleeping on a cloud after a long day and a fun night out. The shower had great pressure as well which sometimes is hard to find.

The Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott in Winnipeg is 100% worth every penny!

Thank You!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick M, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Winnipeg, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Dear Steven,
Greetings from Fairfield Inn & Suites Winnipeg!!!

Thank you for you kind words; reviews are always a motivator for our staff and they have all been able to read your comments, and take a great sense of pride from them

We look forward to welcoming you again soon

Kind regards
Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moosomin, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

We were very pleased with our stay. Right from check-in to check-out all the staff we encountered were friendly and accommodating. The room was spacious and spotless. The bedding was comfortable and we had a great sleep. The large parking lot is well lit, and it is close to the airport and Polo Park shopping. We will be back!

Room Tip: I would avoid the side facing the train tracks. The east side was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick M, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Winnipeg, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to complete TripAdvisor Survey. We are delighted that your stay with the Fairfield Inn & Suites Winnipeg was enjoyable.

Everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience and your feedback is extremely valuable. We truly appreciate you sharing your thoughts with us so that we may continue to deliver exceptional service in the future.

Sincerely,
Patrick Martis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

I stayed at the hotel for one night just because I had a flight early the next morning. The hotel is only a few miles from the airport and it is situated close to plenty of dining and entertainment options.

I love the large lobby and dining area. It just makes it more of a welcoming hotel. That is a mixed blessing because they also have a nice indoor pool. The pool is a magnet for dripping wet, loud kids. This was only an issue on the ground floor and the elevators. The rooms were pretty quiet even with the proximity to the airport.

The rooms are setup like a small apartment with a small living quarters and a separate bedroom and the bathroom was away from both. It would be nice if you had to say longer than one night.

I would definitely stay here again.

Good luck and Happy Travels!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick M, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Winnipeg, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to complete TripAdvisor Survey. We are delighted that your stay with the Fairfield Inn & Suites Winnipeg was enjoyable.

Everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience and your feedback is extremely valuable. We truly appreciate you sharing your thoughts with us so that we may continue to deliver exceptional service in the future.

Sincerely,
Patrick Martis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flin Flon, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We got a great deal on this hotel through an external booking site, and had an excellent experience during our one-night's stay at the Fairfield Inn & Suites. The hotel's shuttle service was a highlight - they will pick you up & drop you off anywhere within 5 km of the hotel, which covers a pretty good area of the city. That feature saved us some serious hassle and coin during our brief visit to Winnipeg.
We really couldn't ask for anything more for a quick stay at a large hotel. The staff members were all polite, friendly and helpful; the complimentary breakfast was pretty good and filling; the room was comfortable and clean; we both slept like babies in the king-size bed.
We didn't use the pool or gym so I can't comment on those, but the pool looked like it was better suited to families than to lap swimmers.
The only downfall for tourists would be that the area around the hotel isn't particularly attractive - it is big box store & chain hotel land - but the more interesting, pedestrian-friendly neighbourhoods of Winnipeg are not far away, especially if you take advantage of that stellar shuttle service.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick M, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Winnipeg, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
I just wanted to say thanks for your recent stay here at our hotel and also for your kind comments! We all trust that you felt at home.

We can’t wait to welcome you home again soon!


Sincerely,
Patrick Martis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Probably one of my worst experiences in a hotel. Booked here 2 weeks earlier, (the hotel has a good water activity area in the pool area for kids), had a few issues with the room but the staff was able to remedy (no sheets on the hide-a-bed, one robe in the room, no pillows for hide-a-bed).
When we re-booked, the price quoted was $50 more, same night, same room, no explanation given. We chatted with the desk person about a few of the small issues we had experienced on our last visit & were assured that everything in the room would be checked before check-in.
Upon arrival at the room(8:30 pm) with our 2 children (5 & 8), we put the kids into PJ's & once again, upon opening the hide-a-bed, no linens or pillows. It's now 9:00 pm, & a with a call to the front desk, were told linens are on there way, 45 mins later, nothing. Put the kids to bed now in the other room, linens show up at 10:10pm. Get the kids settled AGAIN into bed, the front desk PHONES at 10:40 to make sure the linens are there & wake the kids again.
The bath taps didn't work at all when we got there, again, an hour wait and people tromping in and out of our room to get it fixed.
We had taken the kids to the pool area earlier, but because the area is completely unchecked, the hot tub was unbearably hot for even my use, (I'm a fit male in my 40's), and the unsupervised children/teens had the run of the pool area, tipping over the water cooler, throwing towels in the pool, etc. The shower in the pool area was also not working.
Topping off the visit, the hotel decides to close the pool for the day on our check-out day, as opposed to doing service in the evening/night like most other hotels. We stayed for one unforgettable night & moved the next day. Complete waste of money, many other great hotels in the area.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick M, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Winnipeg, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We are very sorry to hear that your stay with us was not satisfactory as our guests’ feedback and comfort is highly valued.


We are currently conducting a building wide project to fix any short comings as we always want our rooms to be immaculate and everything in the room to be in working condition.

Thank you again for taking the time to share your experience and we hope to get the opportunity to welcome you back again.

Sincerely,
Patrick Martis
Hotel Manager
pmartis@fairfieldinnwinnipeg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

One of the best hotels we stayed in during our drive across Canada. Staff were very friendly, helpful and nice. The room was very clean, came with free wifi. Tv /cable and mini fridge in room. Large glass shower. Washroom was very clean.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are very close to live train tracks that run through the night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick M, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Winnipeg, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Greetings from Fairfield Inn & Suites!!!

Thank you for you kind words; reviews are always a motivator for our staff and they have all been able to read your comments, and take a great sense of pride from them

We look forward to welcoming you again soon

Kind regards
Patrick Martis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Winnipeg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Winnipeg

Address: 1301 Ellice Avenue, Winnipeg, Manitoba R3G 0G1, Canada
Location: Canada > Manitoba > Winnipeg > Downtown Winnipeg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Winnipeg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Winnipeg 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Winnipeg is Manitoba’s first Marriott-branded hotel, featuring 126 generously sized guest rooms and suites.Conveniently located in the Polo Park area and a short distance to both Winnipeg International Airport and Winnipeg’s downtown business district area. On site amenities include complimentary breakfast, shuttle service, a 24/7 market, walk-in pool with waterslide and whirlpool, spacious fitness centre, and a business centre. All king and queen suites are equipped with fridge and microwave, as well as a living room area with sofa bed, additional flat screen TV and stereo system, making the Winnipeg hotel the perfect hotel for business and leisure travellers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Marriott, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Winnipeg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn & Suites Winnipeg Manitoba

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfield Inn & Suites Winnipeg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.