We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Opportunity for Improvement” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Canad Inns Destination Centre Windsor Park

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Canad Inns Destination Centre Windsor Park to your Saves list
Canad Inns Destination Centre Windsor Park
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1034 Elizabeth Road | at Lagimodière Boulevard, Winnipeg, Manitoba R2J 1B3, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #47 of 63 Hotels in Winnipeg
Brandon, Canada
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Opportunity for Improvement”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

The hotel has some work to do, the rooms are not all that great and have some funky smell to them. Check in was somewhat strange, I asked if they had a gym at their facility, I was told no and to use the water slide to get a work out........ Not sure where that comment was coming from. I do a significant of traveling internationally and I have never heard this one before! Overall a major facelift for the hotel would greatly improve the image of this facility.The breakfast was very quick and not too bad. If you are not familiar with the area, it is a bit of a challenge to get to the hotel if you are coming in from the south. It would not be my first choice in the Transcona area.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, Front Office Manager at Canad Inns Destination Centre Windsor Park, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Hello Prariephyre,

My name is Rosetta and I am the Guest Services Manager at the Canad Inns Destination Centre Windsor Park. First and foremost I want to apologize for the experience you had checking in at the front desk upon arrival . The Guest Service Agent who made the comment has been spoken to and she assured me her intention was to add humour and not be inappropriate however that comment was clearly unacceptable to us.

Canad Inns prides itself on great customer service. The last thing we want to do is make our guests feel uncomfortable. For this I am sorry.

We are always looking for ways to improve our property and as we speak many areas of the hotel are being upgraded. These comments are not taken lightly and we use them to guide us when making decisions on how to improve the quality of our rooms and guest services. I would love to speak with you further about this and invite you back to our property so that you can have a chance to see what is truly the Canad Inns Destination Centre Windsor Park experience.

Thank you for taking the time to write in and I look forward to hearing from you.


Rosetta Troia
Guest Services Manager
204-253-2641
Extension 6340
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    4
    4
    4
    4
See reviews for
12
2
2
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Thunder Bay, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Beds were so comfy! Seriously it was the best sleep ever! Staff were supper friendly. The restaurant was delicious - we did breakfast. All and all I will be staying here again! They've been upgrading parts of the hotel. We found it a convenient location for us.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

The hotel smelled like stale cigarettes and discount laundry detergent. When I arrived I interrupted a training session, which I then got to participate in (check in took at least 3 times longer than it ought to). I have never stayed anywhere where they actually charge your credit card for damage deposit then refund it the next day - I had to enter my pin and sign a credit card slip. That is also the only way to get vouchers to be able to charge anything to your room from the restaurant. After the long trek to my basement room, I found that the toilet had been used since the room was cleaned (toilet paper in the bowl). Tried to flush it down and move on - the toilet was broken. I repacked, and was moved to a room even further into the depths of the basement and enjoyed a rhythmic clunking noise that I believe had something to do with the water park utility room that I was now next to. I refused to shower in my new room - the tub was dirty and covered in touch up paint (grey paint on a white-ish tub), peeled caulking and stained tile floor. They were kind enough to offer a free breakfast for the room switch inconvenience, which was tasty and the waitress was very nice. I was in and out on business, but would have been devastated if I had been here with my family.

Room Tip: Don't do the first floor - it's actually the basement!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Canad Inns Destination Centre Windsor Park, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Hi Elle R,

I want to start off by apologizing for your less than perfect stay at our facility. We pride ourselves on great customer service and our commitment to high standards, and I was sorry to hear that your most recent stay was not up to our standards.
Our Hotel is a two storey bi-level hotel. our first floor is ground level (which you might have confused it as a lower level or basement), But I can assure you that we dont have any rooms in our lower level.
We are in the process of refreshing our guest rooms and i would really much like the opportunity to make it up to you on your next visit to Winnipeg as i'm sure you will be pleased with the outcome. I will include my contact info below.

I would also like to take this time to clarify that we don't take "damage Deposits", but we do take credit cards for Incidentals, as our hotel is a true destination centre with many ameniities, such as our AALTOS Garden Cafe, Playmakers Sports & gaming Lounge, Room Service, In Room Movies, Splashers Waterpark, and the Ambassador Banquet & Conferance facilities, it is very convenient for many of our guests to room charge meals and other incidentals.
Thank you for taking the time to let us know how we did and where we can improve, and I look forward to speaking further with you for your next stay in WInnipeg.

Sincerely,

Allan Rapisarda
General Manager
Canad Inns Destination Centre Windsor Park
204-958-5010
allan@canadinns.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

When I arrived they gave me a room on the first floor ( in fact that is the basement ). The room had a window that, for my surprise, opens to the floor level of the kitchen of the hotel's restaurant. If you open the curtain, the people working at the restaurant can see inside of your room. There is no natural light in the room. The cell signal is zero in this basement room. When I went to the front desk to ask for another room, I was informed that the entire second floor was entirely reserved for CN (Canadian National ) employees. The only choice was going to a different hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Canad Inns Destination Centre Windsor Park, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Canad Inns Destination Centre Windsor Park.I do apologize for your less than perfect experience at our property, it is a very busy time of year and our hotel rooms sell out incredibly fast, and at the time of your stay we did have a large number of rooms dedicated to CN Railway.
I can assure you that we dont have a basement level at our hotel, it is actually Ground Level, I can also assure you that we have addressed the room view and it is being remedied.
As our guest, you deserved better. I would like to request that you contact me directly so I may "Make this Right" as outlined in our Service Guarantee and commitment to Guest Satisfaction.
I am confident that given another opportunity, our Team will demonstrate the true nature of our hospitality and our property as a true Destination Centre. I do look forward to speaking with you.

Allan Rapisarda
204-958-5010
allan@canadinns.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

I would like to express my experience at the Canad Inns Windsor Park as a wonderful time for myself and my family.
The staff is always smiling and very approachable. From Front desk to house keepers and servers in the restaurant.
They made our stay feel like we were all at home.
The rooms are comfortable and affordable and the dining area is so so clean and the food was great - love the soups!!
Thank you for a stress free stay we really appreciate the extra mile the staff has done for my family.
Keep it up!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Canad Inns Destination Centre Windsor Park, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Hi 615franca43,

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Canad Inns Destination Centre Windsor Park.
It brings great joy to our Canad Inns Family to know that your family had a great time and enjoyed their stay.
"Going the extra mile" is another way we demonstrate our commitment to service excellence; I am also pleased you were able to visit AALTOS Garden Cafe and enjoyed our SOUPS !
Once again, Thank you for choosing Canad Inns Destination Centre Windsor Park and we look forward to seeing you and the family back again soon.

Allan Rapisarda
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wabigoon, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We visit Winnipeg 2 to 3 times a year and stay here every time. We have been staying here for years. The Staff is so friendly and warm we feel so at home. We like the location and the rooms are comfy and the food is great. We wouldn't think of staying any where else. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We're a military family from Winnipeg and will *only* stay here. Affordable, fun and helpful. Lots for every age to do so we (and the kids!) are never bored. The restaurants, the club, the casino, the pool and especially the water park keep us all very busy and very entertained. Can't wait for our next visit!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Canad Inns Destination Centre Windsor Park, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Hi Military_M0m2009

Thank you for taking the time to let us know how we did and for your kind words.
Canad Inns Destination Centre Windsor Park is truly a Destination Centre with Multiple Meeting Rooms, Banquet and Conferance Centres, 54 hotel Rooms, Pool area equipped with Kiddie Pool, Hot Tub, and Waterslide, Playmakers Gaming Lounge, Cowboys Roadhouse the true home of Country music, and Stereo Nightclub & Event Centre Which can transform any event into a multifasceted interactive experience with our State of The Art Video, Lighting and Sound System, and last but not least our AALTOS Garden Cafe which is renownend for its Fantastic buffet creations and delicious foods.
We are minutes away from multiple family attractions and we are a favorite amongst families travelling with little ones' to large sporting teams looking for some relaxation.

Thank you for staying with us and hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Allan Rapisarda
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Canad Inns Destination Centre Windsor Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canad Inns Destination Centre Windsor Park

Address: 1034 Elizabeth Road | at Lagimodière Boulevard, Winnipeg, Manitoba R2J 1B3, Canada
Location: Canada > Manitoba > Winnipeg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 63 Hotels in Winnipeg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Canad Inns Destination Centre Windsor Park 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
54 deluxe guest rooms with King Leisure Suites, Deluxe Queen Double Rooms (2 beds), and King Rooms; All rooms have LCD TVs and microwaves. Located on the east side of the City of Winnipeg our hotel is a convenient and fun place to stay. We are within minutes of two major shopping centres including the province's largest St. Vital Shopping Centre as well as Kildonan Place Shopping Centre. We are close to attractions including the Royal Canadian Mint and Western Canada's largest Francophone community, St. Boniface. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Canad Inns Destination Centre Windsor Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canad Inns Destination Centre Windsor Park Winnipeg, Manitoba

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Canad Inns Destination Centre Windsor Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.